We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but a bit remote”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seabrook Cottage Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We recently rented a darling cottage at Seabrook for a week. The Roosevelt Cabin was adorable. Small, but outfitted with everything we needed to cook, enjoy DVDs and music, read, and make good use of Seabrook. We liked walking to the beach via the forest path, and going to the pub in the afternoon to read and drink beer. The Blind Dog bookstore is very well-stocked, and the on-site grocery had a surprising selection of good-quality food. We had a great day trip hiking in the Olympic National Forest, which is about a 45 minute drive, and sitting on the lawn at the gorgeous Lake Quinault Lodge. Also, the new swimming pool and hot tub are great - we used the hot tub every night. I'd just say that this is a good place if you want to really relax, but it is a bit of a trek to get there (we drove from the Bay Area, via Portland, so it was a long trip) and there isn't much to do in the surrounding towns. So really you should be prepared to just chill during your time there.
P.S. For pet-owners: while we were there we had a little emergency with our dog. The vet at the Ocean Shores Animal Hospital and her staff could not have been better - we were very grateful to them, and so was our little guy!

Room Tip: Roosevelt Cabin was a very good value.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentTravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Seabrook Cottage Rentals
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

This place will be lovely....when it's finished. They have just started work on a major expansion and--quite remarkably given the "planned community" nature of this place--they didn't plan ahead and create a construction entrance. So all the huge trucks--many of which are two-part dump trucks--have to wind their way through the completed areas. I wondered if I was exaggerating the noise they create, so I timed how often trucks go past. There is a truck movement directly outside our cottage every 2 minutes from 8am to 5pm (our cottage by Compass Park is particularly badly impacted because the trucks use the area to hitch and un-hitch their double trucks, which results in 5 minutes of idling/clanking/banging each time.) Not only does this wreck any notion that this is a lovely place to sit out on lawn furniture and read a book, but it also makes it downright dangerous for kids to be out on bikes.

I realize development is inevitable, and I guess there is nothing they can do about a back entrance at this point. But while this construction work is underway they need to (a) warn guests ahead of time and (b) offer significant discounts to those on the construction route. We paid $1,100 for 3 nights in a small cottage, and that's ridiculous given the noise and upheaval.

I think the north-west corner (on the east side of the road) is probably less affected by the construction than the eastern half. I highly recommend calling the resort and asking specifically for a cottage away from the construction route.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the route construction vehicles take.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lizcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My family really enjoyed our three day trip to Seabrook. It's a great place to be able to spend some quality time with the family. We rented the "Beachy Keen" cottage in Beach Camp. I like trip planning so I didn't mind that I spent quite a while online comparing the different cottages in our price range. We spent plenty of time at the beach and at the play areas. The pool was too busy for our taste when we first went so we decided to go later that day and it was fine. My girls (12 & 8) also enjoyed the ceramic shop. It was a bit pricey but I figured I'd only let them go on the trip and not on future ones. I planned most of our meals ahead of time so we didn't need to get anything at the market or go to the restaurant. We did pick up some Teriyaki nearby in Pacific Beach.

So far we are planning to make it a yearly weekend getaway. We are also thinking of getting a bigger place sometime so the kids can bring some friends along or we can bring another family.

Room Tip: Look at the details online carefully to make sure you have the amenities you want.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JWWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Seabrook, and we were expecting the same level of fun, relaxation, and entertainment as our first visit last summer. The weather forecast was a little sketchy for our 3 day visit, but we did get some brief sunshine when we arrive late Friday afternoon and some cloudy skies for the rest of our stay. Not too bad, as it didn't rain hardly much during our entire visit.

During our first stay we rented the cottage named "The Nest", which my wife tried to rent again since it suited us perfectly. However, it was booked during our vacation weekend so she rented a similar cottage just down the street named "Wildflower Cottage" which turned out to be better appointed than The Nest. Very update-to-date furniture and appliances, utensils, etc. The big screen TV was especially enjoyable with cable TV and DVD player available. The only real disappointment, was that we were expecting wireless WiFi available (since we had that during our stay at The Nest cottage). The Wildflower did have Internet, but it was WIRED, meaning you would need to physically connect your laptop computer to the cable modem with a CAT5 cable. Since this cable modem was located in the back corner of the kitchen, it wasn't really convenient (especially since no CAT5 cable was included in the cottage). As such, we didn't have Internet access even though we were expecting it. So, if you are expecting to access the Internet via WiFi make sure the cottage you rent does include it, or bring your own WiFi Router to connect with their wired cable modem box.

Other than the WiFi snafu, our stay at the Wildflower cottage in Seabrook was wonderful. It is truly a family atmosphere, with kids riding their bikes, dogs being walked, and great access to very clean beaches. Even though the air temperature was 65 degs or so, all of my family waded into the ocean surf up to our waists and had a good time splashing around in the water (including our black lab)! The water was definitely cold, but not enough to deter us from having fun.

Just like during our first visit, we visited the Market Place for a few forgotten items, bought some dog treats and dog toys at The Salty Dog store, and ate lunch, dinner, and breakfast at The Mill 109 Restaurant (which had great food!). There was even a small mini-donut stand at then end of the main street where you could get a dozen freshly made mini-donuts for $4.

The newest attraction was the huge indoor pool and spa that opened earlier this year. We visited the pool twice during our visit just before dinner time. Very warm water, and big enough for everyone to have a good time. They also have showers in the bathrooms to rinse off and wash your hair if you wish.

So in all, my family had a great time here and will be coming back later this year for another visit. I've said this before, staying here is like staying at Disneyland-- it has a very family atmosphere and a great place for dogs and kids!

Room Tip: Check out all the amenities of the specific cottage you want to rent on the Seabrook website. Bring...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cohoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Seabrook and the more enjoyable of the two trips due to better weather and house choice. Make sure you really look at the details for each house listing even if the room layouts are the same; as the homes are owner furnished and outfitted, you will find varying levels of attentiveness and luxury.

On this trip, my husband and our dog stayed in one of the Beach Camp cabins (A Sea Change), it is a great comfy space though I wanted better lighting for reading in both the living room and bedroom. Netflix and Pandora were unexpected but greatly appreciated amenities!

You should definitely bring your own food or plan on stocking up in either Olympia or in Aberdeen/Hoquiam, because the coastal options for groceries are extremely limited and expensive. We've only had beers at the town's only restaurant so no first hand opinion about the food/service there.

The beach is a very short walk on the other side of the main road and there are two sets of stairs that descend down to the beach, or you can take Elk Creek Trail for a nice walk through the woods. Most people, including us, let their dogs off-leash on the beach but everyone is very respectful and responsible and there is plenty of space for all.

Make sure you remember to factor in the cleaning fee and the dog fee when you look at prices. We had a billing snafu with the cleaning fee (due to switching houses), but it was resolved immediately once we brought it to their attention. Take advantage of the last minute reservation specials (20% if it's less than 48 hours) and go in the low or mid season.

Room Tip: I would recommend any of the Beach Camp cabins for a couple though it would be tight for four adults...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank McYun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I've been out to Seabrook about 5 or 6 times. The check-in time is 3pm, check-out time 11am. If you arrive a little bit early they'll have make you wait. If you arrive at 3 they will have you wait until 4 or 5.

It'll be a long time before I come back. Don't plan on arriving until early evening.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was out 3rd visit to Seabrook. Our first two houses were clean and well equiped. This year we stayed in "A Whale of an Adventure" the perfect home for a large family, the house itself was great. Lots of space for kids and adults. We did enjoy our stay and we had great family time together. Our issues from bad to a little annoying, there were mice in the house. The pots and pans looked like they had been used at the beach. The wi-fi was locked and the office insisted it wasn't. The kitchen towels had been left in the washer too long before they were dried so they smelled musty. There was no broom or vaccum to clean up the mice turds. The bath towels, though clean, are getting stained and tattered. The lighter for the BBQ was dead, as was the flashlight. The office couldn't care less either. Oh and our son-in-law fell over one of their barriers and broke his arm.
I would still recommend Seabrook as a great place to stay. Quiet, safe, nice pool, playground for the littles and basketball for the boys.

Room Tip: My suggestions would be to rent one of the newer homes, bring a pot and pan with you just in case th...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Beach
3.3 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
13.5 mi away
Canterbury Inn
Canterbury Inn
#1 of 14 in Ocean Shores
443 reviews
3.1 mi away
Moonstone Beach Motel
Moonstone Beach Motel
#1 of 3 in Moclips
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Best Western Lighthouse Suites Inn
10.7 mi away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#10 of 14 in Ocean Shores
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabrook Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabrook Cottage Rentals

Address: 4275 State Route 109, Pacific Beach, WA 98571
Region: United States > Washington > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Beach
Price Range: £73 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabrook offers wonderful vacation rentals in a new coastal neighborhood just south of Pacific Beach on the Washington coast. If you're looking at lodging accommodations in Ocean Shores, Westport, or Long Beach, consider Seabrook. We offer quality vacation rental homes ideal for getaways, family vacations, reunions, business conferences, and retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seabrook Cottage Rentals Hotel Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing