We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly in Packwood.”
Review of Crest Trail Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crest Trail Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly in Packwood.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Crest Trail Lodge is a bit expensive for the tiny town of Packwood, but I suppose not bad considering it's so close to Mount Rainier. The room decor is somewhat updated but the mattresses are probably old and could stand to be replaced. I always bring a memory foam pad, so my sleep was alright. The walls are a bit thin and the highway is close, but traffic dies down at night, so that wasn't a problem. I would have liked to see the door at the far end of the building be available for use (it's an emergency door only) instead of having to go through the little lobby all the time. There is a safe area to walk your pet and the yard area is nice with a couple picnic tables.
The staff was very friendly and the room very clean, with a mini fridge and microwave, coffee maker. Mine was a very quick stay, so I did not try the breakfast or wine offerings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTGypsysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    95
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
105
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent a couple of nights here on our way to San Fransisco. The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast is yummmmmmy with plenty to choose from and the staff are really nice! Defiantly recommend it :)
Plus there are plenty of deer and elk to see around!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegHobbs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We were pleased with our choice, the CTL is a very nice place to stay in Packwood. Clean, well equipped and spacious. All the rooms are double queens with nice bathrooms and showers and decent tv's. And the Internet service worked really well...a far cry from the other hotel we stayed in the first night. The breakfast is a bit above the 'waffle and weak coffee' that often serves as the free breakfast, though waffles are included! We will definitely rebook the CTL if we come back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The CTL is on the outskirts of Packwood. Thought it was closer to town, but local fire department steered us in the right direction. The owners running the place were friendly, and check in and check out were problem free. Didn't try the wine. The room was kind of small and dated, but clean and sufficient for sleep. The breakfast seems to draw raves, but it was typical of a Best Western or HI Express continental breakfast with Cook-your-own waffles, gravy & biscuits, egg product, link sausage, cereal, muffins, etc. Enough to fill you up and start the day. Restaurants in the area: there were three options: a lounge/restaurant, a pizza place with burgers and other options, and a hamburger place that closes at 7:00 PM. There is a small grocery store in town. Altogether, a good, clean place to overnight while in the area.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem to matter. The back is, of course quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OldDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We just returned from two nights at Crest Trail Lodge in Packwood, WA. The hotel was perfect! We had a 2nd floor room with 2 beds. It was quiet and the beds were comfortable. It was close to restaurants and to Mt Ranier NP. The breakfast was wonderful! And we appreciated having a hot breakfast before heading out hiking in the park. We were offered wine when we checked in, which was a nice touch although we didn't partake. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The room was clean, modern, and everything was functional in room 207. It was very quiet and I didn't hear any sounds from either traffic or other guests, and I have the hearing of a hawk! The best part was the owners who actually work there, and are quite friendly and professional! The free wine didn't hurt either. My wife, son, and I only stayed one night, but it was a very nice experience, and about as close to Mt. Rainier as you can get without staying at Paradise Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeutronStar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay in room 101, which is HC and also dog friendly. The room is large and spacious and will be great for a w/c user. We were given this room as it was the only pet friendly room available.

Upon arrival we were given coupons for 2 free glasses of wine (between 5:30 and 9 PM) We had our choice of 3...

Breafast is very good but the room is small. Food maybe taken to your room, outside, the lobby or hopefully you will get a table. Waffles, Biscuits, Muffins, fresh fruit, juice, coffee etc.

A plus is the Elk that may show up in the field

Great place and we will be back

Room Tip: 101 is by the stairs and ice machine. If road noise bothers you ask for room on opposite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredinidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
5.3 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
307 reviews
20.2 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
19.4 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Trail Lodge

Property: Crest Trail Lodge
Address: 12729 US Highway 12, Between Mile Marker 129 & 130, Packwood, WA 98361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Crest Trail Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crest Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Trail Hotel Packwood
Crest Trail Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing