We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Mountain View Lodge has a main building with several annex buildings beside and behind, which have 2 or 3 units each. We had the unit next to the pool (which was no longer operating). The room was modern with wood flooring. There was a small table with two chairs, frig, microwave and coffeemaker in the room. The bathroom sink/counter was separated from the shower/toilet which made it easier when two of us were trying to get ready at the same time. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our unit was right next to the highway, so we could occasionally hear large semis coming over the mountain during the night. Since we left early to hike in the park, we didn't sample the breakfast fare, but instead brought our own breakfast foods. At check-in the owner told us that wi-fi was down in all of Packwood, but called our room a few hours later to tell us when it was back up and running. Yes, it only works in the lobby, but not a big deal unless you're addicted to wifi.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a unit away from the highway since large semi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lahord59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    81
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
92
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

While passing thru from Mt. St. Helen, s to Mt. Rainier we stopped at this Lodge in Packwood Wa . We were pleasantly surprised. It was and older lodge used all year around (even for skiers) in winter. It had been remodeled and was clean and comfortable. The beds were good and the bathroom had been upgraded too. It had a micro-wave ,fridge, and TV with a rustic couch made from trees. I would stay there again. It was reasonable too. The continental breakfast was adequate and served great coffee.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in Packwood, Washington, look no further than the Mountain View lodge. Folks, especially Steve who complained about the lack of wifi. DUDE YOURE in the mountains in a beautiful national park area such as Mount Rainier, you don't need Wifi for one day. They were pretty clear when we checked in and told us that the wifi does not work in the rooms and is shotty. What do you expect you're out in the boon docks in the beautiful mountains. If you want free wifi stay in Seattle, and drive an hour and half to the mountain then another hour and a half up the mountain and back. - or stay within 20-30 min of the peak of the park entrance in packwood and enjoy the evening with no interruptions from work or people. There is wifi in the lodge, but again why do you need wifi so bad? You're in the beautiful mountains! Its the boon docks don't expect great wifi in the boon docks.. Stay in Tacoma if you want that and enjoy a view of a garbage bin or run down homes. The lodge was fantastic, rustic cabins, nestled in the woods , yes it is on a busy highway but its the location that matters most here. You are 20-30 min from the entrance to Mt Rainier paradise park road. Which helps in trying to see the mountain or hike it. The staff is friendly and a family own property and its a great place to stay. I would recommend the Mountain View Lodge to anyone it was well worth it. There is a good sports bar/pub down the road we ate at and watched the football game.

Room Tip: Get one of the cabins. The cabins do not have reliable wifi you can get big roaming charges. Just sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdearman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opwijk, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We discoverd this very charming Lodge and we asked for a basic room. The room was nice and clean. Fast wifi connection.
The owner was very friendly and really helpful. What a difference with other hotels!
Much value for your money.. If we visit Mount Reanier again we will definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Freshly remodeled with kitchen and a welcome retreat after a days motorcycle ride. Close to Mt. Rainer National Park entrance and we could walk about 10 minutes to dinner and market. Simple but adequate continental breakfast. We would stay again.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Okay, I am being picky. The room was clean, in fact almost 'sterile!' And maybe it is a bit late in the season, but it just felt worn out or run down. The breakfast was minimal and the coffee weak. BUT, what pulled my chain was that they advertise, BOTH on line and on their sign out front, that they offer Wi-Fi. They do NOT have wireless in the rooms, they have it in the lobby. And ONLY in the lobby according to the desk clerk, which she told me was 'normal' for MOST hotels. And when I complained about this I got this really condescending "you must not stay in motels very much" comment! Well, we use the web for a lot when we travel - reviewing motels being just one - and it is disingenuous to advertise that you have Wi-Fi and then have the clerk tell you that "we don't mean you have it in your ROOM!" We took her advice and cut our four night stay short and went down the road to another hotel that does not renege on it's promises!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in Unit 4 which included a full fridge, oven, stove, microwave and three beds AND a futon. It more than accommodated our family of 4. We used the hot tub two of the three nights we were there and it was well maintained. There were elk walking freely everywhere we turned! The owners were very hospitable and even helped me out when I mistakenly left my hairdryer and flat iron there. Lili was very kind to help me out and go the extra mile to send my belongings back. We had a wonderful time and would recommend a stay with the Mountain View Lodge! We were well situated to enjoy beautiful Mt Rainier and Mt St Helens. I'd strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 45MariaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Packwood
3.2 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
15.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
2.2 mi away
Crest Trail Lodge
Crest Trail Lodge
#3 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
19.3 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge

Property: Mountain View Lodge
Address: 13163 US Highway 12, Packwood, WA 98361-9786
Region: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing