We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier
Nearby Hotels
Alexander's Lodge(Ashford)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Packwood Lodge(Packwood)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Lodge(Packwood)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cowlitz River Lodge(Packwood)
US$165
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nisqually Lodge(Ashford)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crest Trail Lodge(Packwood)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
225
356
166
83
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
356
166
83
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomnational parkmount rainierpiano playerparking lothistoric lodgevisitor centergift shopprivate bathrooms are smallsnack barsandwichesthe main lodgegreat roomskyline trailfront doorbring your own
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The historic lodges in all the western national parks were built nearly 100 years ago and have remained true to their original character. This one is set high on the side of Mt. Rainier with indescribable views in every direction. The open beam 3 story lobby is a history lesson all by itself with giant paper covered lamp shades hanging from the ceiling beams, a custom made grandfather clock made of logs and a piano built of local materials. We have stayed there on several occasions and the accommodations are spartan and tend to be expensive but you are not there for the room. This visit was a Sunday drive to have dinner in the restaurant. The food was very good. We had the two specials, prime rib and seafood pasta. Both had large portions and were very tasty. These were the most expensive entrees at $32. Dinner for 2 including a bottle of wine, one desert, 2 coffees, tax and tip were $126. It is not a cheap place to eat but the prices would be good value for the money in Seattle and you are in one of the most beautiful settings on earth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Imagine - this historic inn was supposed to be torn down - so glad the citizens made their voices heard, and now you have the opportunity to stay here, after extensive updating and even adding the annex. We had a room in the original lodge with a view of the mountain. It's easy to put up with thin walls and squeaky floors and doors! They provide mid afternoon tea - very thoughtful. The staff is from many different countries and states - they are very friendly and give great advice. The cafe has early morning coffee and offers sandwiches and drinks. The gift shop has everything you may have forgotten to bring from home, and has a wonderful selection of souvenirs. We got to meet the artists who crafted the amazing lampshades, Dale C. Thompson. There will be a book available for purchase soon. Also in the lobby, we enjoyed the piano music.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank simivalley1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We agree! Paradise Inn is a great place to disconnect from your modern day distractions and reconnect with family and friends. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.
All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were so excited to be able to stay in the Main historic Lodge. The lobby is fantastically huge, full of history and an amazing scale. Nature is the heart of the experience. To be able to stay as travelers did originally and experience nature in such comfort is a peaceful, comfortable treat. We loved the open, beautiful dining hall with waiters from all over the country and guests from all over the world. Great food at affordable prices and clean, comfortable rooms made us wish we could have planned to stay longer.

Room Tip: Our rooms were adjoining, with a separate room with two beds for our two teenagers. Quiet prevailed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraSpoonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at Paradise Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Paradise Inn is open for its 97th summer season this year and we certainly agree that it is a historic treasure. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Sitting in lobby in front of the huge stone fireplace was just the best. It took the disappointment away when the mountain was not visible. Regular rooms were adequate for a national park; but I would upgrade to one of the remodeled rooms next time. The food in main restaurant was a pleasant surprise... Very good and reasonably priced. This is a great place to enjoy nature and relax in a cozy environment!

Room Tip: Go for the upgraded rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdmiralRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Mount Rainier without a doubt is truly one of Americas Most Beautiful National Parks. What makes the Paradise Inn unique is its location. At 5,400 feet The Paradise Inn gives affords views directly of The Mountain (to the North) or Southern views of a range of peaks called , "The Tatoosh". The best time to stay in The Paradise Inn is from June through early September (The Inn is ONLY open seasonal from Mid-May to The first week of October) with July/August being the busiest times because of better weather, better opportunities to get views and see the spectacular wildflowers. Please take note that what you are really paying for here is the location! The rooms are very basic and the walls are often thin. This is a National Historic Inn so things are pretty basic. The food at the Paradise Inn is OK and varies in both quantity and quality from Season to Season. I think it is hard for them to keep the same chef year after year because of the seasonal nature of the work. The Coper Creek Inn or Wildberry might be a good bet to grab a bite before entering the park in the town of Ashford. The people at the front desk are helpful and the National Park Service gives talks about many things concerning the park. There are also information desks across the street from the Inn and in the Parking lot at The Jackson Visitors Center. The park rangers also give walks and talks as well as hiking and climbing information. This is a place not soon to be .Enjoy your stay at Mount Rainier a truly amazing place!

Room Tip: Ask for view of Mount Rainier or The Tatoosh! Rooms are basic but clean.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews