We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful ambiance with attentive staff, and remarkable view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Port Ludlow, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A peaceful ambiance with attentive staff, and remarkable view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

A competent and friendly staff made us feel welcome even though we only ordered hors d'oeuvres' and drinks. We watched a schooner land at the dock. To the South west, Mt. Constance and The Brothers highlighted the Olympic Mountains.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank atwoodjohn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted when the first impression is so positive and the second impression even deeper. You may know that we are in a micro-climate that makes our weather both interesting and moderate. Some call it the "blue-hole" or rain-shadow...and it allows for pretty amazing days and nights. Thank you, Mother Nature. We are happy that you enjoyed our in-room amenities and learned a bit about our area as well through the book that we have for our guests. True hospitality is our mantra - and repeat guests are our goal. So, thanks so much for both - and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    119
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
67
323
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

From first sighting, the Resort at Port Ludlow, was a delight, which got better as I met the staff. I mentioned that I was celebrating a special occasion, and my prepaid room was upgraded to one, with a balcony. I was thrilled. A second special touch, came with a complimentary bottle of Washington State wine. The balcony, fireplace, jetted tub, were all enjoyed with the dramatic weather, changing from hot and sunny, a cool evening, a lifting morning fog bank, uncovering the bay and mountain views.
Enjoyed a long walk, along the beach, trails, and marina, including a totem pole, marking the blending of two cultures. Also enjoyed a book in the room(available for sale),on the local history of the single stack steam ships.
Arrived in time for "Happy Hour" - 4:30-6:30 p.m., so was able to enjoy a well-prepared meal for half-price - bonus! Service was excellent, after being rediscovered. Detailed directions were cordially given, to my next destination. True hospitality that will keep me coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortatportludlow, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Wow - thank you for your very enthusiastic review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the visit and "felt the love" of our team. It's clear you took advantage of the amenities - and that, too, makes us very happy. Though we cannot take credit for the work of Mother Nature, we sure do appreciate that you embraced the sense of place. We especially like that you felt so welcomed and we very much look forward to your return visit(s).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We found this resort on line and reserved a room for a 5 day trip when we took one of our grandsons (age 12) to Washington to see his father and meet his other grandparents. We were treated royally and the friendliness of the staff was unexcelled. The food and service in the Fireside Restaurant were excellent. We felt so fortunate to have found this resort and been able to stay there. One of the very best we have found in our travels. Bill Scrantom

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you "found us" and that the experience was so positive for you and your family. What a lucky 12 year old! To have the opportunity to be with family AND enjoy a beautiful place on the planet - Eureka! We are especially happy to have been a part of creating memories....and do look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level Contributor
329 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Gorgeous spot. Fabulous for the furry friends, which they like, with wonderful walking trails right on the spot. Decent restaurant, although the attempt at pork saltimbocca they put out would never in a snowball's chance in hades be identified as saltimbocca by anyone who has eaten the real mcoy. Great for breakfast. Corner king room was large, well decorated, and wonderful, except there is no heat nor heat controls - only heat was a gas fireplace which was not able to really heat, and one of those 4' tall circulating air blowers which would only blow cold air. It was chilly and we were unable to heat the room. The choker was we arrived during a festival in which an admittedly good, but very loud, band started playing around 7 and went on and on non stop. As it echoed the 300-400 feet across the water directly to us, going to sleep was impossible. It finally stopped. Had I known of the noise it might have made the plans different,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy it and appreciate your commentary. The Festival by the Bay happens each year during the last weekend of July (the one, they say, guaranteed to have perfect weather.) We will remind all guests, going forward that this is a "lively" time around Port Ludlow and thanks for helping us be mindful of that. Unusually, the evening was cool - and we apologize for not informing you, upon arrival, of the heat controls in the rooms. We do have heat - though we do not have a/c...Though our weather is not extreme any time of the year, we do need to warm up the space beyond the fireplaces - most commonly during the winter months. We hope to see you our way again soon - and, again, thank you for your very constructive/helpful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladner, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We gad a very nice stay here. It was very picturesque and quiet.

Although it might be considered expensive we found the resort to be well worth the money.

The golf course at Port Ludlow is okay but not great. With some short holes they have tricked up the layout and added trees where there should not be any to make it more difficult. This is definitely not needed for a resort golf course!

A great stay at this resort. We would likely not travel here for golf again but the resort itself is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quiet and beauty of the setting. Thanks also for your note about the value....our guests do appreciate that we have the hand made guest room amenities and support our neighboring farms and fisheries through our farm to table dining experience.

Thanks also for the commentary about the golf course. Robert Muir Graves designed the course, and as is true in this region, we have an abundance of trees. Our goal is to maintain the integrity of that design, and in fact, have removed trees to bring the course back to the way it was meant to be played. We have not added any trees to the design and work to keep the trees true to this original design. They sure can create a challenge though...so we appreciate your comments for sure!

We do hope to see you at the resort again and sincerely appreciate that you made the time to share your impressions. Safe journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Resort at Port Ludlow this past weekend. We really enjoyed our room, the golf course and the restaurant. Everything was top notch with very friendly and helpful staff. If you would like a good night's sleep this is the place to go (so quiet at night). Lots of trails to walk and close to Port Townsend for touring. The restaurant was excellent too. The prices may be a bit high for out of town but we feel the food quality, flavour and service deserved the premium pricing. You do get what you pay for there and we really enjoyed the excellent meal we had at the Resort at Port Ludlow.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betterway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit. We sincerely appreciate that you made the time to share your impressions - and that those impressions were so positive. It is so important that our guests feel welcomed - through the friendly team and the engaged experience. We are delighted that you had the time to enjoy the guest room, the golf and our dining room. Our efforts with the local farms, fisheries and artisans allows us to create and provide the freshest possible meal - and we love that you recognize the effort involved in this process. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I had a great stay here. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the Fireside restaurant was very, very good, and the location on the bay is beautiful (and we got to take in a little of the local scenery with otters, seals and blue herons hanging around). A very nice golf course only a couple of minutes drive away as well. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan_A_Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the time here. Though we cannot take credit for Mother Nature and the "where" we are, we especially appreciate that you were able to take it all in....many of our guests comment on the wildlife - most especially the playful otters, the soaring, majestic eagles and the graceful Blue Heron that often put on a show for our dining guests on the Veranda (or those observing from their in room decks.) We also say "thanks" for the kind words about our team - our desire is to ensure you feel welcomed and cared for. Yea that you had a chance to enjoy the golf course! As we say, you can enjoy a birdie whether you make one or not....and be challenged in the process with your game. We look forward to seeing you again soon - and again, thanks so much for sharing your impressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ludlow
13.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
13.7 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
20.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
17.7 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Mukilteo – Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Port Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Port Ludlow

Property: The Resort at Port Ludlow
Address: One Heron Rd, Port Ludlow, WA 98365-9300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Port Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Ludlow Resort is located on the Olympic Peninsula, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and only 90 minutes from Seattle. It consists of a 37 room boutique Inn (each room has a jetted tub, fireplace and comfortable bedding to ensure excellent slumber), an Audubon golf course noted for its views and challenge, in room spa treatments, Farm-to-Table Dining, kayak rentals, a full service 300 slip marina, 26 miles of maintained trails and distinctive farm tours, Victorian communities and shopping nearby. A perfect setting for a retreat - whether personal or for business equally charming in season or off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Resort at Port Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Port Ludlow Hotel Port Ludlow
Hotel Port Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing