We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot to enjoy celebrating New Years Eve!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Resort at Port Ludlow. We can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay. The front desk was welcoming and gracious and extremely accommodating when a mistake with our reservation was noted. The incident was handled exactly the way that made us both delighted and grateful. We dined at the Fireside Restaurant - which had an exceptional 7 course New Years Eve dinner and wine pairing. The food was amazing - but the highlight truly was the wine pairing! The Sommelier selected matches for each taste that were absolutely perfect! Our only regret of the trip was that we only stayed for one night! We cannot wait to go back again and share the experience with our friends and family!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eblack98110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

What a kind review! Thanks so much for making the time to share your impressions...and we are especially delighted to know we have new fans so close to us. Indeed, our Cellarmaster is quite talented with wine pairings - and she out-did herself on New Year's Eve. She just shared the plans for Valentine's - and that one is both yummy and quite romantic. As you know, our rooms are well suited to a romantic getaway and we are really happy that you enjoyed yours during the holiday. Cheers to 2014 and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Loved walking on the beach and dinner at the Fireside Restaurant. Staff is very accommodating. We arrived a bit to late for breakfast, but were served at our request. Salmon at dinner is delicious, from start to finish we had great service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kctrav_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your recent kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beach - it just makes you want to breathe deeply and take it all in. We are fortunate to get fresh salmon from local sources most of the year - and feature it on our daily dinner menu. So happy that you were able to enjoy it during your visit. We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for making the time to share your impressions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A quiet and tranquil waterside setting, well-thought-out accommodations, a destination restaurant downstairs (The Fireside) that impresses with its culinary aplomb -- surely, such a place has all the makings for an excellent getaway in the greater Puget Sound area.
Yet the Resort at Port Ludlow labors against being set down amidst a rather tired and dated planned retirement and golf community at Port Ludlow. What had formerly been called the Inn at Ludlow Bay, with its traditional New England-style coastal architecture, has undergone a nominal transformation into the Resort at Port Ludlow, a bit of travel hype that seems misleading at best -- it boasts no spa of its own, no room service, no workout room, no recreational facilities that could be expected at a "resort." Most instead are supplied by the surrounding Port Ludlow development, which is not the same thing.
We were pleased by our superior king room, especially the handsome gas fireplace and mantle with framed fine art, the comfortable furniture and the large soaking tub. We also liked our dining package and the restaurant itself (two stellar farm-to-table dishes we had included the pork belly and the steelhead).
But what was supposed to have been a surprise celebration for my wife's birthday was so badly handled that it provided a nagging counterpoint throughout our stay. Poor communication and execution abounded, a performance more amateurish than professional.
I had been pleased at the outset when the Resort's online reservation form included a place to note whether this was a "special occasion" (birthday, I filled in) and to note any other special requests (a 7:30 p.m. dinner reservation, as well as a late checkout). But the subsequent reservation form acknowledgement email to me included nothing about whether such requests would be accommodated, requiring me to respond to that email with questions in my own email. My email went unanswered for a week, so I finally had to call the resort to confirm that everything I requested was noted and in order. I was assured that all would certainly be taken care of.
But, upon arrival, the front desk seemed clueless about my requests ("A late checkout?" said the front desk clerk, " let me see if that might be available."). And there was nothing in our room (card, flower, wine, etc.) to acknowledge my wife's birthday. Far worse, we showed up for dinner at The Fireside on a busy Saturday night and there was no record of our reservation, setting off a 5-minute scramble to produce one of the least desirable tables in the restaurant (just opposite the kitchen entrance, where hurried servers rushed past us throughout the evening, hardly the setting for an intimate birthday dinner).
I mentioned these problems during checkout when asked how we had enjoyed our stay and that produced profuse apologies by the front desk person, plus, later, the regular form greeting card ("Welcome to the Resort at Port Ludlow. We hope you enjoy your stay, and the special amenities we have selected for you. Happy Birthday, The Inn Staff"), as well as the half bottle of Chardonnay that presumably should have been awaiting us in the room upon check-in but was instead presented during checkout at the front desk.
More importantly, there was no conciliatory deduction to our bill for the mistakes and inconveniences we endured, as certainly seemed warranted, at least to us. Excuses offered by the front desk for the problems we encountered were hollow at best, such as the fact that the front desk and restaurant are on separate and, apparently incompatible, computer systems, hence the mistake with our dinner reservation. Yet the two reservation desks are not more than 20' apart -- perhaps some staff person could have checked on our reservation by traversing that distance by foot!
Planning and executing a special occasion getaway, even for one night, requires attentive and effective service from any potential lodging in order to make it truly special. This is definitely not what we received, unfortunately, at the Resort at Port Ludlow. The repeated missteps we encountered definitely undermined our experience there.

Room Tip: Third-floor rooms do seem quite quiet, with better views, especially on the marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for your very thorough and helpful review. We are disappointed in your service encounter and sincerely appreciate the specifics so that we can improve our processes as you've outlined. Thanks also for articulating how our branding of the resort (which includes the Inn, The Fireside, the golf course, the marina, the 26 miles of trails in the community and in room massages through the local spa) was confusing. We are in the process of creating new signage to assist in making this clear throughout the community and have high hopes that this will resolve these concerns.

We are also delighted that you enjoyed the accommodations (a large focus of the past few years with the linens/robes, art, hand crafted amenities, Keurigs and new flat screens) and were able to take advantage of our current off season package. We are especially happy that you were able to enjoy our farm-to-table menu in The Fireside with the pork belly and steelhead offerings. We remain fully committed to our local farms, artisans and fisheries - a challenge in the winter with reduced variety and availability....our daily dinner menu allows us to modify and use what is freshest in our community each day.

We hear your concerns and will be addressing them as noted. Thank you for making the time to be so clear and sharing these with us...our largest fear is the silent complainer and so this is very helpful to our improvement.

A Happy Belated Birthday to your wife and all the best for safe and happy travel in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed two nights and found the location peaceful, just as we wanted it. The room was more than adequate with an enjoyable gas fireplace but could have used a bit of sprucing up.

As for the location a quiet getaway the short distance from Tacoma, Washington, made for an ideal a short trip.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the open water side of the establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkookumQuietwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortatportludlow, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review.....we are delighted that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of the property.....and that you have discovered how close we are to your home. We are in the process of soft goods renovation and enhanced guest room product - so thank you for that observation and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Port Ludlow for 2 nights to celebrate our 3rd Anniversary. The resort is very peaceful and extremely nice. We loved this resort and would recommend to anyone. It is clean, quiet, relaxing and extremely peaceful. The staff is very helpful and supply great customer services. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortatportludlow, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

What a kind review! Thank you for making the time to share your impressions about our property. We are delighted that you appreciated the environment - much of that is about our sense of place - right on the water with the mountain views...and we work hard to ensure the experience is as you described it. We are most appreciative that you acknowledged how clean you found it to be - kudos to our Housekeeping team in particular. We hope to see you soon - and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I have come here several times now. The rooms are really comfortable and we love the spa tubs in the room as well. The views are beautiful. We also enjoy kayaking when we're here. The real reason why return though is the Fireside restaurant. The food is delicious and yet still affordable. We love the coziness of the restaurant and the views of the sound. The staff is always friendly as well. We have celebrated many special occasions here and can't wait to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestWestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortatportludlow, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your loyalty! We are delighted that you have found our Inn to be so comfortable - yes, the tubs are quite the popular room amenity. And though we cannot take credit, the views are even better in person than in the photos - and the kayak experience in Ludlow Bay quite peaceful. We are most appreciative of your fondness for The Fireside....it's quite the challenge to provide a daily dinner menu and we are fully engaged in that with our local farms, fisheries and artisans...so thanks for having such an awareness of what that takes. We do look forward to seeing you again soon and are really grateful that you made the time to share your impressions. Until then, happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I spent a quiet two night, three day, stay at the Inn on a Living Social offering. We enjoyed the quiet, but friendly ambience of the property. We ate all our meals in the restaurant and found the selections of a good variety and of the highest quality. The staff went out of their way to please our palates and research drink requests. We had planned to go in to Port Townsend for dinner one evening, but were so comfortable at the Inn, we decided to stay put. The hiking trails in the area offer many different walks of varying difficulties. We enjoyed the way the trails wandered through forest and neighborhoods. Our room was comfortable while being a little spare in decorating. We thought perhaps there should have been a few more of the delightful old photographs found throughout the inn and perhaps another chair and small table at which to sit to watch the boats going in and out of the harbor, as we had no balcony. The amenities of the room were nice including a refrigerator and a coffeemaker, in addition to a gas fireplace, and lovely smelling bath amenities. The towels were luxurious as were the complimentary robes! Best of all, the Inn staff makes you feel as if you are at home very quickly, and seems as if they all truly enjoy their jobs,. This is definitely a place in which we will seek respite!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are a little cooler as they only have wall heaters. Ask for a room that lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Litiskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortatportludlow, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you were able to explore our property through the Living Social offering. We are most appreciative of your kind commentary about our amenities, food & beverage and guest rooms. And we are really pleased that you were able to take advantage of our trails - a very important part of our community - and all done by volunteers! Thanks also for the terrific suggestion about historical photos and an additional seating area...we will put that on the list of "need to improve." Mostly, we are really happy that you felt at home and that we can anticipate your return visit. Until then, deep appreciation for making the time to share your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ludlow
13.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
366 reviews
18.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Silverdale Beach Hotel
20.9 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
309 reviews
15.1 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Port Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Port Ludlow

Address: One Heron Rd, On the waterfront, off of Oak Bay Road, Port Ludlow, WA 98365-9300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Price Range: £147 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Port Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Ludlow Resort is located on the Olympic Peninsula, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and only 90 minutes from Seattle. It consists of a 37 room boutique Inn (each room has a jetted tub, fireplace and comfortable bedding to ensure excellent slumber), an Audubon golf course noted for its views and challenge, in room spa treatments, Farm-to-Table Dining, kayak rentals, a full service 300 slip marina, 26 miles of maintained trails and distinctive farm tours, Victorian communities and shopping nearby. A perfect setting for a retreat - whether personal or for business equally charming in season or off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Resort at Port Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Port Ludlow Hotel Port Ludlow
Hotel Port Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing