We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stop mid journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Resort at Port Ludlow
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our room overlooked the Marina and it was terrific watching the boats come in to dock. Everythingwas quiet and peaceful. I enjoyed sleeping with the windows open. The room was well laid out especially getting to soak in the tub while enjoying the view via the "tub windows ".

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks so much for stopping in during your journey. We are always happy when a guest finds us - and can enjoy the views (whether from the veranda, the rooms, the decks or THE TUB! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a delightful overnight stay in the 'King Balcony with Marina View Room' and can't wait to return. Upon arrival we were struck by the serenity, quietness, and quaintness of the bay. The staff were exceptionally friendly during check-in and were particularly helpful in arranging our farm package plans to visit local farms, including Finnriver Farm and Cidery. Before beginning our afternoon of touring and shopping local farms, the front desk suggested that we eat lunch at Farm's Reach Cafe in nearby Chimicum. This was a wonderful introduction to the high quality and farm fresh food that we would enjoy during our entire stay. We highly recommend this restaurant to others - we sampled a maple bar with bacon that was fiendishly delicious. Our afternoon on the farms was an ideal way to spend a few hours. Spending the Inn's "Farm Bucks" was very fun, as was selecting ingredients for our dinner that night. It was very easy to navigate the area and learning the farms was a great way to get to know the area for new comers. Red Dog Farm had the very best selection and quality of produce on that day. Our late afternoon and evening at the Inn was unusually relaxing. We walked along the beach, visited the totem pole, read on the porch, while watching a Great blue heron fish in the bay, napped in our sun-lit, charming room, and chatted fireside in the lobby. Dinner was among the best we've ever had, anywhere. It was an memorable evening -- we literally couldn't believe the quality of the meal and couldn't stop smiling all the way through dinner. After an extraordinary dining experience, we took a walk along the system of docks in the bay and watched a harbor seal, who had found a resting place on a quiet dock-corner. After our one-night stay, we were sorry we had to leave so soon and were already excited about the idea of returning for a longer stay. Other highlights of our trip included the luxurious jacuzzi tub with very soft bath salts, being warmed by the electric fireplace as the sun rose, and sampling some of the regular dining menu (our dinner was part of the farm package). The French onion soup and granola were exceptional. We particularly recommend this spot for couples or friends looking for a relaxing, quiet weekend, filled with great food and scenic views.

Room Tip: Balcony and marina view are the way to go at the Inn. The King Room was a bit smaller than the pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeaAndCookies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

WOW! Thank you for this remarkable review. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy not only our Inn and The Fireside - but learned a bit about the work being done on our local farms and in our community. We have found the Farm Package to be just what guests are looking for - travel with an experience that celebrates the location. We always appreciate it when our guests really have an opportunity to "wind down" and relax...and it sounds like you did just that. Thanks for the high marks on our food, guest service and the sense of place....and we really look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The staff was friendly and happy to assist us with our needs. The setting serene and the views picturesque. The restaurant menu choices were far above average and every bite was heaven. The outdoor and indoor seating take advantage of the marina view. We sat on the covered outdoor deck and enjoyed live guitar softly playing in the background. A patio heater was placed next to the table in case the temperature cooled. The suite was clean, not large but plenty of space for two people. The bathroom was very nice and the highlight was a jetted soaking tub very with big windows overlooking views of the water and mountains. Every detail taken care of- complimentary scoop of bath salts, gas fireplace, two decks off the living room, a small bar area with Keurig coffee and tea ready to go. The noon check out time was appreciated. Indulge in breakfast -Every bite was spectacular!

Room Tip: We had the third floor suite- great views and the two decks were private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for this terrific review! We are delighted that you enjoyed "everything" - that pretty much sums it up with your complete descriptions of the experience. It is always fulfilling when our guests walk away with this kind of impression...and validates our approach to hospitality. We especially appreciate your attention to details and that what we are doing resonated with you. We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate that you made the time to share these comments with our guests. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We got married here five years ago and recently returned to celebrate our anniversary. The resort was just as perfect as I remembered it: beautiful grounds; luxurious room and fantastic service. We stayed in the second floor suite with a wraparound deck and partook in both kayak and boat rentals. Can't wait to return in 5 years!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Happy Anniversary! We are delighted to learn that you celebrated your BIG day with us - and that you chose us for your five year celebration too! We are especially thrilled that you found our resort and service to be on par with your memories...and that you were able enjoy some time on the water while here, too. Though we look forward to your return in another five years, we do hope you'll find some time/reason to be here before then! In the meantime, thanks so much for sharing your impressions. Cheers to many more years of wedded bliss!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

First trip to this resort, and we were not disappointed. Room was large and very comfortable.
Our dinner in the " fireside restaurant" was amazing! Tasty broth accompanied the local clams which my husband and I both really enjoyed! The copper valley salmon was done to perfection, and served with risotto which was also perfectly prepared.
I had the roasted chicken with Israeli couscous (which I had never tasted before,) and it was also all very delicious!
We sampled several of the local wines and ciders and were also really impressed.
The staff were very accommodating to us while we sat on the outside patio. Setting up the heater for us, and offering blankets if we required.
All in all, a very pleasant evening overlooking the quiet marina.
Oh, and they are dog friendly, which is also a big plus for us! ( although, sadly we just lost our sweet four legged friend two weeks ago!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharona3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for this very kind review. We are delighted that you "discovered" us and had such a pleasant experience. We are so fortunate to have quality products sourced locally and a team that knows how to bring the best out of what they have to work with. Thank you for the kind remarks regarding the way our team cared for you as well. The sunny days can lead to chilly evenings - so blankets and heaters extend the experience on the veranda....one of the most spectacular places to enjoy the sunset and calm waters over the bay. We appreciate that you made the time to share your impressions and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I won a package for two nights and a round of golf and hadn't ever been to Port Ludlow. What a pleasant surprise to what I received. The best service ever! Greeted upon arrival and told about what I was receiving. The Inn is very clean and well kept. It is dog friendly and the dogs are treated with the highest respect as well. The Fireside Restaurant had excellent food as well as excellent service. And the golf, well it was like heaven on earth. The course is challenging, well maintained and so beautiful! Got to see momma/pappa geese with their goslings and a momma duck with her duckling. The weather was just right. I highly recommend The Resort at Port Ludlow. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for this enthusiastic review! We are delighted when a "new guest" has this kind of experience - it validates the support we offer through our donations to local charities - a win/win/win (the Charity wins/the guest wins and we win!) The "best service ever" is a grand statement - and we are appreciative. And "heaven on earth" is a lovely image - we are happy you were able to make the time to enjoy that.....no extra charge for the spring time sights of Mother Nature doing her thing. You may know this course is Audubon certified - so our bird friends are especially happy on the 18. Our favorite comment is the final one - "I will be back!" We await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I had a pleasant stay at The Resort at Port Ludlow this past weekend. We were on the golf package, which included 18 holes at the Port Ludlow golf course, lunch or breakfast at the golf course cafe, and one night's accommodations. We thought the rate was quite reasonable and really enjoyed the golf course.

Our stay at The Resort was also quite pleasant, but there were some areas that we noticed needed improvement. The rooms are very basic and some elements (e.g. bathroom fixtures, shower) are in need of a makeover. We felt the rate we paid was reasonable given the golf, but if we paid that rate for the room alone I would not have been as satisfied.

We also dined in the Fireside restaurant. I made a reservation on Open Table ahead of time and it was a good thing I did -- they had a private event and a larger party that evening, so they were turning away people who did not have reservations. And there aren't very many other dining options in the area. We found the food to be very good and they had a comprehensive wine list. The meal took about two hours and I'm not sure if that's because the staff was overwhelmed with the number of guests in the restaurant, or because our server wanted to pace our meal. Either way, we weren't in a rush and had a nice dinner.

We ended up checking out early and were quite surprised to receive a voicemail from The Resort's front desk on our way home. Cell service is spotty at the resort and we assume the front desk staff tried calling us before we left, but in the voicemail the front desk rep rather brusquely told us that late checkout could not be accommodated and we better vacate our room by 1pm at the latest unless we wanted to pay for another night. We did not request late checkout and were a little turned off by the message. It was an odd note to end a nice stay on.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay given the golf package, but I'm not sure if we'd return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVerwholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for this very thorough review. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the golf package and experience the dining room. We very much appreciate your candid remarks about the guest room issues and the final impression that was left . This helps us improve our product and our service/approach and we are very sorry that there were flaws in the execution of both. We do hope that you will recall the positive impressions and give us another chance when you are considering travel to our area. In the meantime, safe journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Ludlow
13.5 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
323 reviews
18.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Silverdale
Oxford Suites Silverdale
#1 of 6 in Silverdale
706 reviews
20.9 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Silverdale Beach Hotel
7.8 mi away
Old Alcohol Plant Hotel
Old Alcohol Plant Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Hadlock
25 reviews
15.1 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Port Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Port Ludlow

Address: One Heron Rd, On the waterfront, off of Oak Bay Road, Port Ludlow, WA 98365-9300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Ludlow
Price Range: £174 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Resort at Port Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Ludlow Resort is located on the Olympic Peninsula, the gateway to the Olympic National Park and only 90 minutes from Seattle. It consists of a 37 room boutique Inn (each room has a jetted tub, fireplace and comfortable bedding to ensure excellent slumber), an Audubon golf course noted for its views and challenge, in room spa treatments, Farm-to-Table Dining, kayak rentals, a full service 300 slip marina, 26 miles of maintained trails and distinctive farm tours, Victorian communities and shopping nearby. A perfect setting for a retreat - whether personal or for business equally charming in season or off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Resort at Port Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resort At Port Ludlow Hotel Port Ludlow
Hotel Port Ludlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing