We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent lunch spot”
Review of The Courtyard Cafe

The Courtyard Cafe
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent lunch spot”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

this a great lunch spot in Pt.Townsend. we sat at the back table on the outside deck and enjoyed the birds and the peaceful setting in the sunshine. excellent sandwiches. highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank getoutontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    49
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the Cherry Crepes!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I used to come up to Port Townsend quite a bit for business and this was a must stop for breakfast. I would always order Cherry Crepes and a side of bacon! It is a family owned business and they work hard to serve the customers and always with a smile on their faces! All the bakery goodies are home made as well as everything on the menu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laceyhealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Just like home!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our breakfast at The Couryard Cafe was like being home without having to cook or do the dishes! The dining room is bright and cheerful with family pictures and sayings on the walls. Coffee is self-serve and we bussed our own table (don't know if that was expected or not but saw others do it). Tom had the Natalie Sandwich and loved it. I had the corned beef hash (something I occasionally order for some reason) and thought it was also very good - definitely homemade and fresh. Prices were probably the best for the value that we've seen in some time. We are already planning on going back for lunch the next time we are in Port Townsend since we see they have muffalettas on the menu!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomJoHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've visited the Courtyard Cafe on 3 occasions for lunch and the food is consistently good and generously portioned. The fact that almost the entire family works the restaurant adds to the casual charm. If you like Reubens, don't miss their 3-napkin variety. Their Cristo is also wonderful. Besides great sandwiches, they have satisfying salads. If you like sweets, there are plenty of homemade options to please everyone. The restaurant is one block up from the water and so it's a little out of the fray, which we like.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimandMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food; acerbic service”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I agree with azzure; the service running "hot and cold". I had to look up the word to see, and it is all those things; 1.
(especially of a comment or style of speaking) sharp and forthright.
"his acerbic wit"
synonyms: sharp, sarcastic, sardonic, mordant, trenchant, cutting, razor-edged, biting, piercing, stinging, searing, scathing, caustic, bitter, acrimonious, astringent, abrasive, harsh, wounding, hurtful, unkind, cruel, virulent, vitriolic, venomous, malicious, vicious;
Sadly, that isn't the staff...that is the husband, who is the one that waits on people. The wife obviously puts all kind of love into the decor, the food is top-notch, the place is bright and cheery. Here is the thing; when it was it's prior owner, I think called Bread and Ink, the place also had great baked goods, and it was super popular and busy, and one got waited on by a happy hippie kid. Why is it such a difference? I don't think they realize, but having someone wait on people, when they drip with disdain at any question, and act like the customer is a waste of their time, IS COSTING THEM MONEY! It would be cheaper to hire a kid, then the amount of business lost over how it used to be, period. To ask him any question, like about the open mic they host, or if breakfast is still being served, gets this sarcastic, somewhat paranoid answer; like the customer is FBI and he is worried about answering it, so may as well be acerbic. Some people may think that is funny, or dry humor, but I don't like being treated like an invader. Funnier still, they have all these warm fuzzy family photos, the wife's baking is top notch, the food couldn't be any better...but who wants to be treated like that? I notice they never win any of the local food awards, and surely would by the merit of the food, but me thinks the personality clashes go further than the customer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Courtyard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing