We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere and class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
286 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and class”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Want to know what it feels to live in the Victorian era by the port in Old Port Townsend? This is the place--great view from Miss Lily's Suite. Felt like we had gone back in time. Desk people were friendly and helpful. But was it hot in the room . . . and it had nothing to do with Miss Lily's profession. Thankfully the desk gave us an extra fan to help. Wish there had been better ventilation though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskansinOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    114
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
155
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I did a long weekend around the coast so we only had one night here at the Palace but we were wishing it was several at least! The old architecture is fantastic and we were very comfy in the bed. The modern and clean bathroom was very nice as well. TJ was at the desk and he was very nice to make a recommendation to us for coffee and dessert at the Silverwater restaurant around the corner. We had a short but lovely time and can't wait to come back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 7b and the ghost visited our room in the middle of the night and jiggled the door knob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenS_69_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Ever since my first trip with my daughters, this has become a favorite spot for a weekend getaway. Each room is uniquely decorated and cozy and reasonably priced compared with other historic gems in the area. The larger rooms with kitchens have everything you could possibly need including flatware and pots and pans; these are by far my favorite.

The staff are welcoming and accommodating. The first night, the girls peppered them with questions about the history of the hotel and chatted up a storm (my youngest is particularly prone to long bouts of story-telling to any adult with ears). Now they know some staff by name and hugs are traded round when we arrive.

The best part is It is located in the heart of everything. Our favorite shops and restaurants are a short walk away.

I've been to other hotels in Port Townsend, but because of it's uniqueness and super staff, we've become quite loyal to the Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ainoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here for my first night ever in Port Townsend. I didn't know what to expect from the town, but once I arrived, I realized that staying downtown in an historic building would add a lot to the memory of my first visit.

The building is kind of amazing as it opens up. The innkeeper was really nice and let me wander around to choose a room, which I loved. Part of the experience is seeing the whole building. I chose a room on the third floor, though some of the second floor rooms were enticingly comfortable, especially Miss Laney. I felt that the value for the price was very good. The rooms are all tasteful and comfortable, and many have interesting bathrooms.

My room was enormous and had a great view of the ferry docks through wavy, original panes of glass. Love! I was very comfortable, aside from the tiny bit of heebie-jeebies I get sometimes staying in creaky old places by myself.

If you are looking for Best Western-type sterility and convenience, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for century-old charm, originality, location, and a quirky memory from a unique town, you won't be sorry here. I stayed on a Monday night, so I can't speak to the quietness of the place. However, the seagulls kept waking me up...but that's probably one night out of my life that it's happened that way, so I'm not complaining.

What an amazing spot!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a great view of the ferry docks and the harbor. Loud seagull noise, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The Palace Hotel is a wonderful place to just get away. The management is very friendly, the hotel itself is just beautiful and everything is so clean! I loved staying here and will go back on a regular basis. Can't say enough good things about this place! Even the spirits are friendly!

Ghost Lady

Room Tip: Restaurants are within walking distance also! Very nice location.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Visits to The Palace Hotel have become annual affairs for us. Loving restored turn of the century house of ill repute (we stayed in Miss Abegail's room). Bobby greeted us again a made us feel at home. Hotel is located in old Port Townsend's center. Our favorite wine shop is next door and all shopping and restaurants are within walking distance so park your car in the hotel's lot and leave it there. One caveat - this is an old buiding with twelve foot ceilings and the lobby has a mezzenine so there are about thirty feet of stairs to get to the first floor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjacroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saanich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at this quaint Hotel in the "Miss Rose " room. The furniture and décor is Victorian and very well put together. The service was phenomenal, Rob was very helpful in acquainting us with the town and making sure we had all that we needed. The hotel is very clean and the staff assisted us with all of our requests in rapid fashion.
For all you two wheelers out there like us there is 24 hour motorcycle parking in many spots on the main street (Water Street). There are many wonderful places to eat and/or have a cocktail or two. We weren't able to try them all so we will just have to go back....darn more of the local beer to drink.
Thanks Palace Hotel and staff for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdrift3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#7 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Property: Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Address: 1004 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing