We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with great views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tides Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We missed a ferry to Coupeville and had to spend a night in Port Townsend. I read reviews on various affordable hotels and this one seemed promising. We got a double room with a small balcony on the water. The furniture was a bit tacky, but it was very clean and comfortable. The morning sunrise over the water was beautiful. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in the area! We must have been in the new section because the room was nice. The staff were very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was simple but decent.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trip678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    92
    46
    35
    32
See reviews for
40
148
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I booked a "standard queen room" for 3 adults. When we arrived I was told that there was only one Queen bed! I called there attention to the fact that my reservation called for 3 adults and asked why that had never been brought to my attention and was told that it was a glitch in their system. They brought a few blankets and an extra pillow to the room and my son had to sleep on the floor! You should also know there are two buildings: one nice, the other not so nice. We were in the old, not so nice building. The room was very clean but very small and the bathroom was old and dated. The shower was absolutely tiny. We had a great view of the ocean and saw lots of wildlife while we were there. Breakfast was average at best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Though technically a motel, the Tides Inn is really more like a very comfy (but BIG) B&B. It is family run and the owners and staff are most cordial and helpful, really nice people. The rooms we had were in the new section and were spacious, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The fact that the decor is not my style was what gave it more a personal "guest room" feeling as opposed to a generic hotel feel and it really was spotless. Our jacuzzi was IN the bedroom (which surprised me-ive never seen that before-maybe i need to get around a little more lol) but it was actually very cozy soaking in the tub with the fireplace going and the sounds of the waves just outside our room's balcony. AC worked fine. Water views were exceptional. The breakfast was ample cold fare and hot coffee, and lasted for 3 hours, which was nice. Location and parking, great. Prices arent cheap but seem to be in keeping with the area and the high season. We would most definitely stay there again, and happily so.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viajeros9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our experiences, both negative and positive, tally with those of others who have stayed here. The water views are beautiful, the continental breakfast good (cold cereal, h-b eggs, yogurt, bagels, pastries), and the staff was exceptionally pleasant to deal with. On the downside, our south-facing room really heated up during the day and the fan the motel lent us didn't entirely compensate (there was no AC in the room). The mattress was soft and rolled us to the middle. The furnishings were dated (especially the bathroom). Overall, though, we liked the location (adequate parking, short walk in one direction into town, 2 blocks in the other direction to a really good food coop) and would probably stay again, although we'd ask more questions about the location of the room next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudbury9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bend oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Tides Inn has 2 different buildings. The newer one is quite nice with more modern amenities. The older one where we stayed is more rustic and a bit worn but costs less. Our room was very nice looking directly onto the water with a nice private patio. The walk into town is about 4 blocks which made it convenient. The staff is very nice and helpful and even let us look at 3 rooms in the newer building to compare accommodations to our older room. I would stay here again and would be fine with the older building. Views are fantastic and room was clean. Also enjoyed the hot tub on our patio with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank treeman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We took the $200 room because it had a/c (many rooms don't and it is needed). However, it didn't work, and it took forever to get it fixed, so they gave us a different room. But the a/c filter was completely blocked, and it had to be fixed also. Then the key and the lock didn't work. Also bugs in the bathroom. Wonderful view of Puget Sound & mountains, although there is a trail right beside the windows on the first floor, giving you no privacy. TV picture very low quality for an expensive room.
I mentioned all these problems to the manager when leaving , and his response was a blase "We'll get all these things worked out. Goodbye." Any other hotel I have ever stayed in would have offered some kind of adjustment. So, we won't be returning. Unfortunately, Port Townsend has almost nothing else to offer, unless you like B&B.
If you do go, highly recommend visiting Fort Worden...spectacular beaches and views!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor (no privacy). Unfortunately, most of the rooms are on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregHSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just checked out of the Tides Inn after a 3 night stay. We could not have been happier with the hotel. Of prime importance to us was the view. Next in importance was the hot tub. We stayed in room 10 where we had two queen size beds in separate rooms and a hot tub out on the deck overlooking the sea- perfect. Watched a seal swim by one night and deer walk by the beach the next morning. Skeeter (front desk) was extremely helpful and went out of his way to make sure we had all that we needed. We stayed in the "old" section, which was fine. We were more interested in the view than decor. It was clean, breakfast was great, and the location is perfect. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.6 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Property: Tides Inn
Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tides Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many rooms boast private decks overlooking sparkling Port Townsend Bay. Protective windbreaks make year–round enjoyment eventful as the parade of ferries, fishing vessels and sailboats pass by. Take a deep breath of clean, fresh air as you revel in the sights and sounds of nature's seascape. Listen to the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing