We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Food Co-op

The Food Co-op
Ranked #26 of 98 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Cuisines: American
Description: The Co-op has tables and carry out. The food is fresh, reasonably priced, healthy and quite tasty. It's an excellent alternative to over-priced local restaurants.
Restaurant details
Description: The Co-op has tables and carry out. The food is fresh, reasonably priced, healthy and quite tasty. It's an excellent alternative to over-priced local restaurants.
Sisters, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Spent two months in Port Townsend in our Motor Coach and the Co Op was our go to place. Fabulous produce specially the greens like Kale, Chard etc. Biggest carrots I've ever seen and they were sweet to boot. Brought a couple bags home to show our granddaughter. Even veggies I've never seen here at home. Tried them all. Think of it as a grocery store not a restaurant but a deli. Great soups, grab a picnic, they will let you sample everything before you buy. Try the desserts specially the Carrot Cake & Tirimisu. Very friendly & helpful staff. Learned not to mention "Whole Foods" or "Trader Joe" those are "Big Corporate Stores".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NM
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Selections”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

More of an organic, local grocery store than a restaurant, in my opinion, but great selection. We stopped here to stock up on camping food before out Olympic Peninsula camping/hiking trip, and they had everything we were looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Ludlow, Washington, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The rational, healthy, economical place to eat in PT”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nutritious,inexpensive soups, while sandwiches and freshly prepared salads,quiches are high quality, but more expensive. The recently expanded dining area is a great place to meet progressive,active, locals. Too bad one can't have easy access to the outdoor patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atwoodjohn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Big selection but these choices were just OK”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you're looking for a restaurant with table service, this is not the place. It's a deli counter where staff serve you prepared foods. They'll heat them for you or you can use the microwave. Plenty of tables to sit down to enjoy your meal. Pretty typical food service system and selection for a Northwest coop ... which makes it great for a vegetarian (there's plenty of non-veggie food too). There's also grab-n-go food too.
Mini pizza ($5): OK.
Pecan loaf round: OK
Fettuccini w blue cheese: very good
Kale salad: not so good.
So this meal wasn't so good but there's so much to choose from that I'd be happy to go back and try something else next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuinnessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Expensive, but nice selection”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Not a restaurant! Very busy, and liked the many produce selections. Go at night when its not during the rush.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Food Co-op also viewed

 

Been to The Food Co-op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing