We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Clam Chowder Ever!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moose Cafe

Blue Moose Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Snohomish, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder Ever!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We drove past this place twice before deciding to try it. We are so glad we did! My husband and I shared the club sandwich, and he had the homemade Clam Chowder. He says it is the best he has ever had, and he LOVES chowder!!! We will be making a special trip back to Port Townsend just for the Clam Chowder!!

We had our meal to go, and ate it at the brewery just down the street, so I can't say much about the service or ambiance. Our food was ready quick and it was delicious!!

Just an FYI they don't accept debit or credit cards, so bring cash or check!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoHoHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    65
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Got a seat right away and menu was really big, so lots to choose from. Ordered the Mexican enchiladas, sooo good! Whoever said not to order Mexican food this far north was so wrong, I'm from California and this was awesome:) we also ordered the French toast really good as well!

Helpful?
Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
365 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“A dive with good food and authentic people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Another review noted that this is a dive but the food is good; don't lose sight of that. The staff are friendly local folk and the food is good, but it's not the sort of place that's ever going to win an award for ambiance. In fact, it's the sort of place we probably wouldn't eat at if we hadn't read its reviews. We both had huevos rancheros which was excellent, but I didn't think the portions were as enormous as did a previous reviewer. The next time I'd order a full portion, not a half. We caught the place just after the lunch crowd descended on it, but we got a table without too much delay and our food was served reasonably quickly. The staff invited us to stand around and drink coffee until we could get seated and I'm sure we wouldn't have been charged for it if that wasn't the drink we had chosen with our meals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank docj9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A group of us went here for a Sunday brunch and this place is goood. Great food, fun atmosphere, good prices and even with a wait, it was well worth it. Limited seating, but that just makes it cozy......haha. Come hungry, leave satisfied. The entire staff was in crazy costumes, with skates........some special event........ they should do it all the time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TeedUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had breakfast here and just loved it! I had the vegetable hash, and it was unbelievably good, my husband had the Hot spicy Eggs, also very good. The portions are large and reasonably priced, $20 including tip. A very busy small place among a boat marina area, very unsuspecting but worth the visit. The lunch menu had clam chowder as a special so on our way out of town we stopped and got 2 chowders to go and ate that for dinner. It was absolutely delicious! And was only $4 per 12 ounce to go cup.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Moose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing