We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical place”
other traveller has booked this property
A relaxing evening next to the stars.  We build the fire, you light.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A relaxing evening next to the stars.  We build the fire, you light.
Like having your own marina, water is so close - Pose is low tide. sorry you can't drive the car. Boatbuilders sun bathed West Side, Victorian town, bell tower, dining, Maritime Cen, Spa/health club
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
A relaxing evening next to the stars.  We build the fire, you light.
Like having your own marina, water is so close - Pose is low tide. sorry you can't drive the car.
Boatbuilders sun bathed West Side, Victorian town, bell tower, dining, Maritime Cen, Spa/health club
Crisp, refreshing water side entrance, wooden chairs, sep entrance to kitchen, 2 ways into yard
Porch Facing view is constantly changing with new arrivals to the pocket harbor every day
Full, light infused, sparkling bath.  What is that hand painted on the wall?  Come see...
An inviting kitchen furnished with full size appliances.  Set your own speed limit for breakfast.
Dazzling, sandy beach,  sandbar islands and tide pools luring you...
So well hidden, a blurr in surrounding trees optimum privacy, yet just blocks to downtown ammenities
Your nearest and most cheery neighbor!  cottage is not in a resort or cluster of other guest cabins
Low tide creates spellbinding sandbars
Your Own Coastal Life Christmas Cottage Covered in snowflakes.  Anyway you like to decorate inside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Port Townsend, Washington

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alyssa H
Puyallup, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location but primitive for the cost”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family rented this cabin for the 4th of July. The location is great but we found the house to be lacking in a lot of things we might expect for a rental. The rooms were okay but weren't very clean...we ran into lots of cob webs and broken windows/screens. We couldn't find garbage bags and there was no hand soap in the bathroom and only a few towels for our family of 4. Also, we weren't left with any instructions as to where to put our garbage, or when check out time was. It does have a nice view and a nice deck and a convenient place out front to park.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
We adore most of our guests!~ This took some imagination to write. Our expectations are gentle. I personally showed them the firecracker red recycle bin, found it empty when they left with a bag of mixed diapers & McDonalds recyclables. Our cute Disney soaps for the kids were unwrapped and few of the ten towels supplied for number in party, whom we expected, still folded in view. We left the 24/7 # to call. Radio silence! No Broken windows or screens. Yes, we do sans shoes on our shiny wood floors. Saw no sign of cooking..the low rating on utensils was perhaps a mistake. Also no score on new mattresses..Curious Fun to see kids dug into our big supply of toys and books!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwannabee
Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in Pilot's Cottage for a week in June 2015 while we attended a sailing class offered by the Northwest Maritime Center. The cottage was a super home away from home and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is terrific—can't be beat—and we were able to walk back and forth to our classroom and our boat in 2 minutes or less. The deck out front is a perfect spot for a peaceful morning cuppa, with great views of the harbor, the bay, and the surrounding mountains. The front porch is a nice shady spot to sit and relax in the evenings and provides excellent people watching opportunities. The yard is full of fragrant bushes and flowers, like honeysuckle, morning glories, roses, and fennel, and sitting on the deck in the midst of all of that is an olfactory pleasure. The cottage has a full kitchen and is supplied with just about everything you could conceivably need to cook and eat all your meals in-house, which is what we did. The two bedrooms are nice and are well-supplied with comfortable beds and bedding. The bathroom also is well-supplied and is a lovely sunlit room. The shower is excellent. The living room has two big couches and another large overstuffed chair. We didn't use the fireplace or the Jotul stove because Port Townsend was experiencing a heat wave while we were there, but they would be nice to have in cooler weather. If you have a lot of electronics with you, it might make sense to bring a power strip and a few two-to-three-prong adapter plugs for the outlets, since three-prong outlets, while they do exist in the cottage in several places, are not necessarily where you want them to be. The cottage is old and shows its age in some ways but it has obviously been well-loved and well cared for. The owner was very responsive to our needs and has obviously given a lot of thought to what guests might need during their stay. We would very gladly stay at Pilot's Cottage again and, in fact, look forward to doing so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and ambiance of the cottage
Liked least: Something loose on the cottage clunked and banged during the night when the wind was blowing hard, possibly the double hung windows are a little loose. We had some high winds while we were there so this might have been an unusual situation.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea R
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rustic cabin in great location”
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Pilot's Cottage during September, 2014. This rustic cabin has a terrific location next to the marina in downtown Port Townsend. It is within a short walk (a couple of blocks) of restaurants, interesting shops, theaters, beaches, boating, and all of the character of old Port Townsend. Additionally, many of the PT festivals are centered in this neighborhood. The area immediately surrounding the cabin is comprised of boat building activities, all interesting to watch.

The cabin itself appears to date from the 1930s when it was actually used as an office for the boat pilots. The owner has decorated the cabin with nautical items and antiques, some of which came from her own family and which she personally restored. It was enjoyable to hear her sailing stories, and having grown up here she is very knowledgeable about the area.

The cabin has two bedrooms, one bathroom, a kitchen and living room, and the spaces are comfortably sized. The front porch has chairs and overlooks the marina. The kitchen has a good full-sized refrigerator and the electric stove works well. In the bathroom, the shower had plenty of hot water, the fan was better than most, and the toilet flushed well (wasn't expecting that!). The living room would seat five people comfortably. The wood burning fireplace works well, and we were able to buy wood at the hardware store. The bedrooms each have one double bed and a small closet; no real space for luggage. There is wi-fi and it worked decently well. There were a couple of space heaters that were definitely needed in the bathroom and living room. We moved them between rooms as needed. One plus is a convenient parking spot right in front of the cabin. We also really enjoyed and appreciated the fresh flowers!

The cabin is fairly rustic and lacking in some amenities you might expect. Though there is a small, ancient TV, you probably won't bother with it, as your laptop screen will be larger and more functional. There were no side tables in either the living room or the bedrooms, so we were continually moving the three kitchen chairs around the house to serve this purpose. There is only one reading lamp in the living room and none in the second bedroom. Half of the toaster worked. There is no dishwasher or garbage disposal. The shower, though unappealing, works; the bathroom sink has separate hot and cold, but the hot barely works so you'll be washing with cold water. There are limited electrical outlets and some of them don't work. If you have a variety of devices to plug in and charge up, you'll want to bring a couple of power strips, extension cords and a couple of three-to-two-prong converters. All of the windows are broken and difficult to get open and shut; we gave up trying after a couple of attempts. Housekeeping is pretty casual. There is no washer and dryer, but the owner gave us a code for the laundry at the marina; it was clean and worked fine (bring a lot of quarters and some detergent).

To sum up, if you are adaptable and don't mind roughing it a bit, you'll enjoy this charming cabin – especially the fantastic location. If you are a bit picky, prefer more modern amenities and like things super clean and convenient, then you might be more comfortable somewhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owner, great location.
Liked least: Lacking some basic amenities, owner coming in without notice.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian337...
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I have been staying there for my whole life with my family,I love how it is so close to the water front,and all the historical value it has. It's always so crisp and clean whenever we visited Jana the owner was always so nice and open with is having our dog Luna.7 stars

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripMembe...
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The Pilots Cottage could be so much more”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is arguably the best location in Port Townsend. The building is very tired and dated. The furnishings are adequate but not user friendly. In fairness it did meet my basic requirements of lots of hot water, a reasonably comfortable bed and clean linens. When we visited the weather was unseasonably cold and Jana had the unit nice and warm using the gas central heater and an electric oil space heater in the bathroom. There is a large fully equipped kitchen with pretty much everything you need. The pipes are obviously not insulated as it took ages for the water to warm up when you wanted to do the dishes. Minor. The living room had some dated seating and no coffee or end tables so it was difficult to relax with drink or snacks. Unfortunately I am a bit of a TV baby so was disappointed that there was no TV except a tiny tabletop unit with a DVD player attached. There is very good wifi! On the positive side, you can walk everywhere that count in Port Townsend from here. Also due to the time of year and cold weather we couldn't really take advantage of the front porch and outlook.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the roominess
Liked least: It was very dated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
So appreciative of your headline.
I make careful efforts to make it less cluttered and not impacted by future. Pilots Cottage is a vintage experience, my advertising line "weathered by a simpler time" is truth in menu...
The soft Italian leather sofa was purchased new at Macy's in Summer 2013. We provide quilts for snuggle gear and extra padding.
The pipes are insulated and when we clocked the hot water, it took about and minute and 20 seconds the longest...time. Yes, I imagine that is a wait for those who have on demand hot water at home.
If we supplied more than the three casual tables...safety or comfort may be out of reach when four guests are enjoying the room. We have a real wood burning fireplace and do not have advance notice when it is lit.
Smokey says furniture placement should be well buffered from the lovely brick.
We were definitely overlooked when the pavement was completely removed in the name of fiber optic improvements. We do have a flatscreen now. The cute little model occupied a table.
Hope you can return in peak season when you can take advantage of the full length porch and incredible water view!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spuds_7
Camano Island, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for your graciousness. Letting us stay for one night with no notice. We were so fortunate to find a truly wonderful home. We had a fire in the evening and woke up to coffee and boats coming and going from the harbor. Wild dill and fennel growing everywhere. The smell amazing. Perfect cottage made me think of my family and all my summers spent on the water. I hope I will be lucky enough to come back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in February 2006
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2013
I am stunned to hear of this nearly eight years later.
I wish something was expressed at the time by the couple who actually stayed, as we did not hear a peep from them.
As far back as 2006 we had high end Hudson Bay wool blankets and have years since switched to down. The cottage is supplied with two sources of heat and a real fireplace, all settings are determined by the guest. We do not serve food so I can only imagine the source.
Our rates are printed online and again prior to securing via deposit.
Not complaints I have ever heard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing