We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointing Return”
Review of The Belmont Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Belmont Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We had stayed at the Belmont about 6 years ago and loved it. We took a detour on our trip just to stay there again. Big disappointment. The restaurant was closed to give the employees a day off after the summer. Part of our fun was being above a restaurant and looking down on the patio as well as we were planning on eating there that night. Person who finally came out to greet us was less than pleasant and just handed us the key with no effort to accomodate. The room furniture is very worn and the room was not very clean. Looked as if the whole things was a second thought for the restaurant and was not being taking care of by anyone who cared. The toilet seat needed to have been replaced about a year ago. The view is good and watching the ferry come in is a pleasure but does not make up for the negative things. Sorry we took the time to revisit.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank bettyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2007

My husband and I planned a trip to Port Townsend during Spring Break for 3 days. We booked 2 nights at The Belmont. We were SO dissappointed that we stayed only 1 night and moved over to the Waterfront Hotel the next night.
Our first impression of the Belmont was the musty smell that greeted us as we walked up the stairs to our room, a waterside room with a loft. We walked into our room, at first liking the ambience. But quickly our enthusiam dwindled as we walked through a cloud of flies, circling around the bed. Yes, there was the bird poop streaking the windows but at least it was on the outside! We talked to the person at the front desk regarding the flies who said she would have someone spray some insect spray. WHAT!? There was no way I wanted Insecticides filling our airless room. (You couldn't open the windows and the fan couldn't be kept on at night....there was no way to turn the light off)
The room was clean though but did not provide shampoo for our morning shower. For $105.00 a night, you would think the small amenities should be provided. We were credited for the 2nd night but it would have been nice to hear "I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay".
Stay clear of The Belmont, we are!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2007

The Vienna Suites has some great potential!
Room 302 has newer flooring, except for the bathroom. The sheets were clean and the beds very comfy. And the view was great! But it could use a good cleaning! Where to start: a previous guests ice cream was still in the freezer, there were crumbs in the kitchen drawers, there was confetti under the cushions of the sofa, there was dust on the insides of the window seal, there was a year-old newspaper in the drawer of the coffee table, and the light above the dining room table never completely turned off.
All of those things could easily be fixed in a days worth of work. Now the grimy carpets in the hallways would need more time to replace those.
I also found it odd that hotel guests were sharing the same halls as permanent tenants. Although we only every saw one other person.
We were looking for quaint with a water view. The quaint didn't really meet our standards, however.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OregonTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

First of all, there are no longer buckets in the hallway. The roof/leak issues appear to have been resolved. The room was a bit chilly, but it's an old building with huge windows and a 12 foot ceiling, so not too surprising. Also, it was very cold and windy when we were there. There is a small heater vent in the wall that can be adjusted, which we kept cranked on high. The room was tidy, the bathroom was huge, and while maybe not "spotless", it was clean.
I was also pleasantly surprised with the restaurant, it was way better than I expected, and the best whiskey sours ever from the bar!
Someone mentioned to not expect a good night sleep because it's next to the saloon. The bar has a class H license, so it closes when the kitchen does. We hear absolutely no noise from the street or the bar. And that smell in the hallways? That's history, people! Really, it wasn't bad, it just smells like an old building. It may not be the Hilton, but it's a cool, old place with lots of history and character. We were perfectly happy for a place right in town for under $100!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mrsk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

What a gross experience. The toilet was covered with pubic hair and everything was dirty. When asked to get the bathroom cleaned again, it was as if i asked for their first born! One response was, "It's an old hotel. Sometimes it looks dirty, but really isn't." There was a paper on the coffee table from 4 months ago. There was a random paper towel with a glass print on the bedside table. It was dirty and gross. The only positive thing i can say is it had a nice view, through poop stained windowns (pictured...and i read another review saying the same thing!). Veer clear!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LissyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

Wow - what a beautiful, charming place this was. We had the Allen room with the king sleigh bed and both of us never had a better night's sleep! One of us has arthritis and slept pain free for both night's. Bruce and Sherry, our Innkeepers were awesome! They gave us much info on the surrounding area, restaurant menu's, boats to sail, etc. We followed their lead and had a great time for two days. The gourmet breakfasts were excellent; fresh fruit, spinach egg cups and the orange yogurt pancakes were to die for! We enjoyed our morning coffee on the wrap around porch overlooking Sherry's (a Master Gardener) gorgeous garden. Town is a short 5 minute walk away. Although we did not experience the afternoon tea, there was chocolate mousse cake awaiting us until 9:30 p.m. each night. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and would stay there again. It just doesn't get any better than this!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardengirl1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington
17
Reviewed 16 May 2006

I was in shock! This place is terrible. DO NOT STAY AT THE BELLMONT HOTEL!!! I have attached photos of the lobby, complete with a flurry of carpet stains, dirty buckets and a couple pictures of the rotting ceiling. Enjoy!

I have stayed at the Belmont a few times in the past. I used to use words like "charm" and "rustic" now words like dilapidated and disgusting are more appropriate. The service is even worse. Another note - don't expect regular housekeeping service, and if they do arrive, don't expect much. They don't vacuum, clean the bathroom or dust.

Do yourself a favor - stay at the Palace hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Inn

Address: 925 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: £52 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel Port Townsend
Belmont Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing