We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Bliss”
Review of Fort Worden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Worden
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“True Bliss”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in the "Bliss House" at Fort Worden State Park. My two daughters (ages 7 &9) had an incredible time. The house was perfect for what we were looking for. There was a one bedroom and then a separate room with just a single bed where my 9 year old slept. The kitchen and living area were very spacious. Best of all was the AMAZING view. We were on the bluff over looking the most beautiful coast (the Admiralty inlet). Sunrise was a sight to see. The birds in the morning were aplenty.
Bring your flashlights if you have kids. My girls explored every battery in the park. One day we biked and the next we hiked. After stop at Waterfront Pizza downtown Port Townsend. Good Stuff!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlipFlop16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    47
    18
    3
    11
See reviews for
55
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Three of us stayed in the three bedroom unit 336 for two nights and it was very spacious and clean. The house is right next to the hiking trails which gave it a woodsy, faraway feel. The grounds of the state park are beautiful, with great views every where you look and deer coming through in the morning. The lighthouse is a fun walk, and the beach is perfect for sunset strolls. Port Townsend is a ten minute drive, with lots of places for eating (if you don't bring food) and shopping. Overall, we loved our time there and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripmama18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

They are old, but they are wonderful !!! If you stay in the officer row ( besides the brick house) you will have 2 bathrooms. Don't be afraid of dated furniture,,, The park has much more to offer then it's furniture. Fort Worden is such a nice place to go to !! Wonderful surroundings, just a great place. If you can not afford to stay at the park, then pitch a tent or stay in town.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weezerlily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2007

I love the Port Townsend area and the Fort Worden location is outstanding. However, do Not stay at the Castle unless you don't care about strangers peering directly into your windows, taking pictures of you through your windows and even opening your front door and walking directly into your dining area. There is no indication for the large numbers of tourists that walk by that the property is at all private - this is not what I'm willing to pay $200 per night for.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

Although the accomodations were a little old and musty feeling (we stayed in one side of a NCO duplex), they were spacious and clean. The reason you stay here is the history and the state park grounds. The landscape is incredible and the sights immense and add the history of the base to it and you get a one of a kind experience (by far the best state park I have ever stayed in). The fact that you are just a long walk to downtown Port Townsend makes this unbelievable. If you love history in an outdoors setting this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Amazing State Park
  • Disliked — Accomodations were a little outdated and older feeling, but that's what history is all about
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fbeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 December 2005

We have stayed at Fort Worden State Park on several occasions both camping and lodging in the old houses. We loved every time! My husband loved it so much he asked me to marry him at the Blissful Vista house. We continue to visit, as every visit we have another adventure. If you love biking, hiking and tide-pooling this is a fantastic place! It is rustic and if you are looking for plush accomodations this is not for you.

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 September 2005

Fort Worden is absolutely a great place to stay. I stayed in the Officer's Row houses which is such a great deal. Unlike some people who may not appreciate and understand that the period furniture has a theme and adds to the mystique of the whole park. It reminds you of a time that has long since been past. All the houses have full working kitchens and dishes for ease of use. This is a great place to bring your family or even just a have a getaway for your loved ones and close friends.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
2.4 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Worden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Worden

Property: Fort Worden
Address: 200 Battery Way, Port Townsend, WA 98368-3699 (Formerly Fort Worden State Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Worden 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the historic charm and natural beauty of Fort Worden. Located in Port Townsend, WA, on the scenic Olympic Peninsula, Fort Worden is open year-round for day use and overnight stays. Fort Worden welcomes individual travelers and groups of all sizes as a 434-acre state park with stunning views of the Salish Sea and Cascade and Olympic Mountains. Onsite accommodations include single rooms to vacation homes to dormitories, all situated on our historic campus. Fort Worden features 20 different meeting options-from small rooms for 25 attendees to large spaces that can accommodate up to 1,300 guests. Conferences, meetings, special event and weddings venues are available. Onsite catering services include our Servery, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner options for groups; the Commons Cafe, serving breakfast and lunch, 7 days a week from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.; the Beachhouse Canteen , open seasonally; and coming soon, the Guardhouse Pub. Fort Worden is also home to more than 12 arts and education organizations offering year-round programs and events to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort Worden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Worden State Park Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing