We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Not sure where we were going to land this night, we are finally back in Washington State from our tour of Sea to Sky. We were originally going to stay in Anacortes, but it was a beautiful day, so decided to get on the ferry and head to Port Townsend. We got off the ferry and headed into town, now I had been on the internet checking places out in Port Townsend and all sounded good, others better. We got to the end of the main street and found the Swab, stopped in there, Ken was a hoot, did not have any rooms but check the sister property The Bishop and told us there were rooms there, even came out and showed us how to get there. Arrived at the Bishop, it is about a block off the main street. Parked right out front again nice for us, since traveling on a Harley. Walked in and waited a few minutes. Loralee is a hoot, she is funny, and informative. She gave us 3 keys to check out which room we wanted. 1 was on the 2nd floor, and 2 were on the 3rd floor, we opted for the 2nd floor. King bed, very comfortable, seperate living room with pull out, mini kitchen with a small frig, apartment size stove and oven and microwave. You get a continental breakfast set outside your room and 7am or 9am. It can include either cereal, scone (which I recommend), yogurt, milk or juice, coffee is already in the room. Flat screen TV and you can check out DVD's in the lobby. Rooms are furnished with antiques and the halls have antiques too. This is place is great is all I can say,

Room Tip: I would probably say all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeharleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    109
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
181
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is a beautiful little hotel with all the character and charm of a bed & breakfast, without actually being a B&B. Each room is a suite, with a kitchenette and table, and a private bath. (The water pressure in the shower was not great - that would be our only criticism.) Our room had a fireplace also. A small complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning, if requested. The staff is very friendly, and the decor is gorgeous. The rooms are clean, and the bed was comfortable. We'll definitely stay here if we're ever in Port Townsend again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura and Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

When staying at a genuine Victorian hotel the criteria are different than for the Sheraton or local motel. It is no longer about how new the fixtures are or when the last remodel was done, but how well the classic features of the room have been preserved and the decor. I am not an expert on Victorian architecture or style, but the decor seemed good to me... Furniture and Wall hangings seemed appropriate and tasteful. Decorative embellishments like crown molding seemed to fit the decor (I have no idea if they were original). The room even used a regular key (not a key card). The bathroom was a mixed bag with what appeared to be a period-style pedestal sink and wall paper, but a modern bath and bath-surround. I don't mind as I would rather have a well functioning shower than a claw-foot tub.
As for how well preserved/maintained, here is where I might have some nits to pick. On first glance the room seems fine, but after some time chipped paint and stained wallpaper become apparent. The room was clean and comfortable, but the challenge of maintaining such an old facility was obvious.
The hotel overall has many positives that would bring me and my family back. As I said it was clean. The location cannot be beat, right in downtown, and also near the stairs/path to uptown. The staff were friendly and efficient. We had one issue where the room obviously needed to be vacuumed (after a toddler repasted on the fine breakfast they provide of croissants and scones), but housekeeping did not see fit to vacuum until we requested it. But I think this was an anomaly and generally housekeeping did a good job and the front desk staff was excellent.
The room layout worked out well for our family - parents and two kids. We had our own bedroom, while the kids slept respectively on the sleeper-sofa and pack-n-play in the main room. Space was a little tight, but fine. Next time we might opt for a 2 bedroom suite.

Room Tip: Room 24 was a good pick for a 1BR. Quiet and overlooking the garden. Up 2 flights of stairs though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SethE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESQUIMALT
Level Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Bishop..beautiful old hotel and a roomy suite and very clean. Robes in the room, and a basic continental breakfast on request delivered to your room. Parking and location is excellent. Stairs are very steep if accessibility is an issue for you.

We brought our small dog and portable kennel had to sign a rather strict contract and pay the pet fee which we found in total to be a bit excessive, but we appreciate their efforts to accomodate pet owners and at the same time make everyones stay an enjoyable one.

Rooms are very warm even in the cool spring, but as we were in a corner suite, we were able to open all the windows and turn on the floor fan provided to create some air flow...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b4i4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Like the previous reviewer, we stayed at the Bishop as a weekend get-away. We chose the Bishop for its character and the fact that is has suites. We spent a fair bit of time in the room and enjoyed it.

As far as wear and tear is concerned, for a building over 120 years old it is well maintained. Yes there are a few dents and scratches and the carpet in the hallway shows it has been walked on. But that may reasonably be expected in an historical building of this nature. The room was definitely clean.

While there are several beautiful items of period furniture, mostly in the public hallways, the room furniture is more from the 70's. (I guess that may partially be for practical reasons. I don't think there were many hide-a-beds in the 1890's).

The reason I do not rate this hotel higher is because, while it certainly has charm, the amenities are a bit skimpy. It would have been nice to have small touches like robes in the room, or a newspaper in the morning. While the breakfast was punctually delivered both mornings, it was not particularly plentiful. But coffee and tea is available in the upper hallway all day as well as a bowl of apples.
What concerned me a bit was that we did not see any safety instructions in the room in the event of fire or earthquake. There is an exterior fire exit at the back of the building but it was not clearly identified.

The location is excellent. Within a few minutes walking from the shops and restaurants. Yet quiet as it is one street back from the main street.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caneuropianada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our stay was a weekend respite from the rat race. Had we wanted fern bars and neon lights with a trio in the lounge covering the hair bands of the 80s, we'd have gone to Las Vegas; what we wanted was peace, quiet, and charming surroundings, and the Bishop and its staff did not disappoint. We will gladly stay again when the occasion arises.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18, which apparently is in a competition with room 20 as the nicest in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank codemunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

As a rule I'm not big fan of old hotels or BnBs but ended up with business group at the Bishop for two nights. My second floor room (I saw no elevators) was large and included sitting room and seperate bedroom with kitchenette. Decor very Victorian to match nature of this historic hotel. One block from the main street with lots of shops and restaurants and walking distance to ferry dock. Historic Port Townsend and nearby Fort Wardon Park are great and the Bishop Hotel takes you back in time. I paid less that $100 per night although I'm sure it's more in summer. Staff was great and complimentary continental breakfast was sufficient. Other than pillows being too soft all else was more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#7 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing