We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent a night in their king suite. I can't wait to come back for another stay. They had great linens and robes. A breakfast basket is deliver to your door at either 7ish or 9 am. This is perfectly located for walking downtown, going to a movie at the Rose or walking the shoreline. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    110
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
93
182
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent two nights at the Bishop this summer; it was our 6th stay in the hotel.

We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Port Townsend. The location is ideal - in a quiet part of town and within walking distance to all our favorite PT spots. [We stayed at the Swan last summer, just for a change. But this year we returned to the Bishop.]

The staff is friendly and truly enthusiastic about life in Port Townsend. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.

The breakfast service is ideal, a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We spent 2 Nights at the Bishop what a wonderful place to stay and with so much character. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with screen door out to beautiful private garden. On the first night on dusk we look out and there where two young deer in the garden which was a lovely surprise. There was even complimentary membership to the athletic and fitness club just a few yards down the street this was so better than any fitness room that is offered at any of the chain Hotels. We even enjoyed watching a DVD one night from the Hotels DVD Library along with complimentary popcorn.
Port Townsend is a beautiful and historical place to visit we wished we had more time to stay and explore. If we ever get back to this part of the World we will definitely be back to stay at the Bishop.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We just spent the night in room 18 on the top floor of the Bishop Victorian. This was a lovely stay. The room is a suite with a large living-dining area including a mini-kitchen. The separate bedroom was very large with lots of space around the very, very comfortable king sized bed. The adjoining bathroom was modern, clean & with plenty of toiletry items. We were here for a celebration of our 39th anniversary & when we mentioned that, the receptionist, Lauralee, immediately wanted to know if we would like a bottle of champagne, wine or cider! Lauralee was also very helpful with directions and other info.

Overall, this was a lovely, romantic suite, including the manly flat screen TV. Appropriate for a Victorian hotel, the wireless internet does not reach every room & 18 seemed to be one of those. We would definately stay here again for another special occasion!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvest12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The room was a suite (two rooms), the bed was very, very comfortable, and the bath was clean and modern. The location is great (walk to everything), and it was quiet at night. I suspect Port Townsend is always quiet at night... the sidewalks roll up by 10 p.m. The only complaints are the hike uphill to the third floor (no elevators in this charmer) and it is a steep long climb - the ceilings on all floors are quite high. Wireless access is provided, but the signal is quite weak and sporadic on the third floor. Reasonable value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We just returned from two nights at the Bishop Victorian. We had room 17, which is on the second floor, up one rather steep flight of stairs. (No, folks, they didn't have elevators in Victorian Port Townsend. Get used to it.) They do have a couple of rooms on the ground floor if you can't handle stairs, but call early if you plan to go in the summer.

Our room was quite nice - one bedroom, sleeper sofa in the (separate) living room, as well as a dining table and two chairs, small kitchenette with microwave, mini-fridge, dining service for 4, and scant utensils such as a sharp knife or two and corkscrew. Bath was nice, but not luxurious, but we didn't pay the luxurious price, either. We had no problem with wireless connections. All in all the suite was large and very clean, with a view of the private garden in back. There was essentially no noise at night except a slight floor creaking from the room above early on.

We saw a doe and fawn in or near the garden out our window twice during our stay and cedar waxwings in the sweet cherry tree as well as numerous other birds.

Personnel - they were all spectacular! I read a couple of negative reviews about rude service before we booked, but we saw absolutely nothing but friendly, helpful employees, from the front desk to the cleaning staff. Check-in and check-out were both efficient. We got there very early and were told we could leave our car in their off-street lot and check back about 2:00 pm. The room was ready when we did. This was in July, which is peak season for them.

I plan to be back sometime in the future, since it is an easy overnighter for me.

Room Tip: The top floor might be a little warm in the summer months. (No AC in the Pacific NW historic hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We just spent 4 nights here for our 30th wedding anniversary. It is a lovely old hotel, comfortable, and quiet. Friendly and helpful hosts. A basket with your breakfast choices appears outside your door every morning. It is very Victorian, so if you're after modern, and crisp this is not the place.

Room Tip: If you choose one of the top floor suites, you get robes, a jacuzzi tub and a kitchen sink!!!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing