We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious, pet-friendly, lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gracious, pet-friendly, lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We made a last-minute decision to stay overnight on what was supposed to be a day trip. With two dogs in tow, I thought we might find ~something~, but wasn't sure what it would be. What an enormously pleasant surprise to end up in Suite 14 of the lovely Bishop Victorian Hotel.

We were checked in and lounging a mere 15 minutes after making an online reservation from the comfort of our table at Waterfront Pizza (don't miss it. Eat upstairs, it's worth the wait if you have time. If you don't have time to linger, get a slice to go, just don't skip it).

The evening front-desk person, Laura (? i think that's right) was friendly and helpful and very welcoming.

Some rooms are set aside as pet-friendly, and we were in Suite 14 at the top of the stairs. The room had everything you could want packed into a comfortable, cozy space. Sofa, flat-screen tv, gas fireplace, dining table and chairs, kitchenette, brass bed, new bathroom, ... the list goes on and on.

But first things first. The bathroom had a shower only, no bath, but this was more than compensated for by the fabulous showerhead, excellent water pressure and endless hot water. Everything was squeaky clean and worked perfectly (not always the case in hotels that sell charm).

The bedroom was tiny, but it was a bonus to have a separate space from the main suite, and tons of pillows and extra blankets if needed. The furniture is all vintage/antique, but again, we don't lose any utility with the addition of charm, everything worked perfectly.

We didn't use the kitchenette for more than making coffee and warming up the continental breakfast (super-fresh scones and croissants, perfect way to start the day), but everything was perfectly clean and worked as it was meant to.

Our location at the top of the stairs was great for dog-walking egress, and the area around the hotel has plenty of grassy areas if you just need to take Fluffy for a quick outing. I took the hounds on a longer stroll in the morning and the area is perfect for it - marina a block away (in either direction), Water Street a block away for window-shopping, beach/boat launch/pier for sniffing and digging. Plenty of grassy patches and trash cans here and there for the necessities.

A few side notes - there is free hotel guest parking in a lot next to the hotel, which while not crucial during winter would certainly be valuable in summer season. There was a looong flight of stairs up to our suite, and not an issue for us, but might be something to be aware of. Lastly, this is an historic building, and lovingly restored, but the walls are still thin. If you're a light sleeper you may want earplugs.

We were here in the winter, so obviously a totally different feel than the height of summer, but had a relaxed, quiet time. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved Suite 14 - plenty of windows and a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islaygirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    108
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
91
179
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Again we relied on Trip Advisor reviews before staying for the time at this hotel. Great experience in a grand old (renewed) hotel in a great location. Walking distance to all the downtown shops and many choices of restaurants, all within two or three easy blocks. The staff was great and the morning breakfast choices were good to get you going in the morning. Will return again on our next visit to Port Townsend.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at ther Bishop! The hotel was clean and comfortable, and it felt like we were stepping back in time. The staff was incredibly helpful - recommending dining options, hikes and relaying the (many) events that were going on in town that weekend. They were so nice to our little dog, too. You can't go wrong with this hotel! I noticed one reviewer had mentioned the smell. It's not the hotel, it's the pulp mill just south of town. The odour wafts in in the evening (I grew up in a pulp mill town and know it well). Other than that, we loved Port Townsend and the Bishop!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Bishop Victorian Hotel in beautiful downtown Port Townsend. The main room was large. The soaking tub really was exceptionally deep. The bed was comfortable. It was a tight fit in the room with the luggage and the king size bed, but okay because the next room was a combination living room, dining room and kitchenette. The kitchen had everything we needed--although we had difficulty getting the ice to freeze in the trays. (No ice machine)The breakfast in a basket was more convenient than exciting. We were suspicious when the person checking us in kept telling us places to go for breakfast! Coffee, tea, and apples were available on a couple of floors around the clock. That was very convenient. The clerk was helpful pointing out places to go to tour and to eat. We enjoyed everything we did.
Best thing about the place: tie between location and quiet! Love the old buildings!
Worst thing about the place: no ice

Room Tip: No elevator so the higher rooms (with the better views) are a challenge when you are checking in! Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lis137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Bishop Victorian Hotel in Port Townshend Washington and had a great experience. First of all, I have to mentioned that we needed some advice and help on planning the rest of our vacation and the staff was most helpful and accommodating. I could not have asked for more patient understanding and assistance. We found our suite delightful and the breakfast quite nice. The location is terrific with easy access to restaurants, pubs, the ferry, and the port. Parking is very easy and there is a wonderful garden area in the rear for picnics, a glass of wine, reading, etc. We will undoubtedly return on our next trip to Washington.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogikaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Bishop. Great location, wonderful staff. A bit of a climb on some steep steps up to our room on the third floor - but definitely worth it.

We were in Room #20 which was a corner room with lots of windows which allowed fresh air flow. Very clean, nice room with comfortable bed!!!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed one night here recently. Our room was on the 3rd floor which was a steep climb up 2 flights of narrow stairs. But there were handrails. The place is unique. Victorian style furniture etc. It had a musty old smell. But the rooms were clean and the staff most friendly and helpful. Our room consisted of 2 bedrooms with queen beds, a small living room with pull out couch for a bed, a small dining table and bathroom with shower stall. No lock on the bathroom door. It was adequate for a nights stay. The bed was somwhat lumpy but we got there so late, after 12:00 midnight, we just wanted to be able to get some rest and sleep. It was stuffy upstairs since there is no air conditioning but with a small window fan and windows open it soon cooled down. The sea gulls and garbage pick up men woke us up around 7:00 AM. Breakfast was delivered to our door at 9:00 AM in a basket. Cold cereals, bagals or cuoisants, juice and milk. Enough. The staff so kindly brought us a fan the night we arrived as the celing fan pull cord wasn't working, extra towels and washcloths the next morning. We were glad to find this place on a Labor Day weekend. And for the price it was OK.

Room Tip: Bring a small fan im warm weather. Everything else is supplied and it is right in down but off the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelady62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing