We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need improvement in the customer service area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“They need improvement in the customer service area”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The hotel was attractive and the room was nice. We paid for a king suite in order to get a king bed, because there are few king beds in Port Townsend. We had two rooms which were spacious and attractive. The lighting however, was extremely dim and difficult to read by. There was some other minor problems with the room that were no big deal, but for the price should not have been there.
The front desk staff, including the woman who checked us in was not very friendly. There is no excuse for that. Another area they need irmprovement in is their continental breakfast. We were on a two week trip in WA, OR and No, CA and most places included breakfast. This was the most expensive place we stayed and their breakfast was the cheapest by far.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegoeater749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    117
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
190
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed in room #25 (1st floor) for one night. Our whole family loves this hotel. it's beautifully decorated and the room is clean and super quiet. The hotel also has a very nice back yard that I like.

The owner is very friendly to talk with.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed here for one night, with three children, in Room 16. If you love "downtown" Port Townsend, with its antique shops, clothing and book stores, and great restaurants (a big thumbs up to Fountain Cafe), you can't do better than the Bishop Hotel. It is within walking distance of everything in old Port Townsend, and offers quiet, warm accommodations in an old Victorian setting. The owners have done a superb job giving the feeling that this has been a hotel for at least a hundred years (surprisingly not so). The staff was helpful - if anything, overly helpful - and provided us with a great continental breakfast in our rooms, to our specifications from the day before.

A word of warning, however, to anyone who cannot handle steep stairs -- this is an antique building with many (most? all?) rooms requiring you to carry your bags up one or two intimidating flights of stairs. If you can manage the trek, however, it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BainbridgeIslander11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

I called a few places in Port Townsend, and this is one of the few places that allowed my kids to stay. The price was also much more reasonable than other places. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was a 2 room suite with kitchenette. They provide free breakfast (delivered in elegant baskets to your room), and offer free parking. The room was clean and quiet, and we all slept well. They also have a ton of games such as Monopoly, checkers, etc, and my kids loved playing with these in the evening. We got free apples in the lobby. The location is excellent. Like I said, it had the feel of a B&B, so that was a nice touch. Only possible negative: I did not see an elevator, but the rooms all appear to be on the second floor and the staircase is very tall and very steep. However, since we were not in need a special or handicapped room, I cannot vouch for this. Anyone with special needs should call and find out in advance.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Very clean, quiet and charming; comfortable and very well decorated with antiques; very "Port Townsend"; first rate, friendly staff; free coffee and apples in the landing area; a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisebarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia, wa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This is a nice, older hotel. It has lots of character and charm. Our room had a separate sitting room with a refrigerator, chairs, and fireplace. It was cold outside, but we had a nice break between reading and having dinner out to sit by the fire, sip tea, warm up, and read. It was very cozy and relaxing. Oh, and the stay includes breakfast, which they leave on a tray by your door. Give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Style_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We booked two rooms at the Bishop for ourselves and our adult children. From the time I spoke with the person taking the phone reservation to the time we checked out we had excellent interaction with the staff. The hotel was a little quiet because we were there from December 23 to 25th but we still received the complimentary breakfast and their was always someone at the front desk to answer questions.

The Bishop is located a short block from the main street in Port Townsend so you can leave your car in the free parking lot unless you venture out of the city. Their are lots of brochures with information about local attractions and restaurants and the staff also gave us their recommendations. Wi-fi is available in the comfortable seating area in the lobby which also features a fireplace which is a nice way to warm up after a walk on a colder day.

The rooms are spacious with all of the amenities. Room 12 which we used is one flight of stairs up and includes a separate bedroom and a living room with TV, electric fireplace, fridge, sink, microwave and a table that can be expanded to seat 6 people.

Our kids shared room 25 on the main floor off the lobby which had a separate bedroom with two queen sized beds and a day bed in the living room. It also had a fridge, Their room had a bathtub and ours a very spacious shower.

It took a few minutes for the water to get hot but that was a minor inconvenience.

The furnishings are Victorian antique throughout. The rooms are clean and I didn't see any major signs of wear although the building is at least 100 years old. My wife took advantage of the free pass to the nearby athletic club to take a yoga class.

Port Townsend is an amazing town. We expected to use the hotel as a place just to sleep after a day of hiking in the Olympic Peninsula but found so much to see and do in Port Townsend that our plans changed. Hopefully we'll get back in the summer to more exploring of the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eetonaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing