We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty manager”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Eastsound, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nasty manager”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My 40 year old daughter and her 7 year old son were at the Swan Hotel from August 8-12, 2012. The total stay was close to $700 dollars. The room was cleaned only two of the four days. The guests in the room above their room were very noisey and neither of them were able to sleep. When my daughter called the front desk and spoke with the manager, he was rude and inappropriate. He blamed the her [the guest] and then actually pointed out that she was not paying for the room but her mother was, suggesting that she did not have the authority to complain. There was no compensation and NO APOLOGY. The customer service was BAD.
i would NOT recommend this hotel unless there were no other options in Port Townsend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doggieapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    94
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
149
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was our first visit to the Swan Hotel and I do hope to make it the first of many to come. The room was excellent-clean and well appointed. The staff was world class in its attention to detail, friendliness and helpfulness. They were all a part of our most excellent visit to Port Townsend. Thanks so much Paula!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We arrived late evening after a very long, delayed journey from England. The lady on the desk was extremely welcoming and friendly. We were only staying for one night and did not experience much time in the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. We just had time for breakfast and a brief look around Port Townsend before we had to leave the following morning. They had an excellent farmers' market.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We book a room on a whim for two days. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even had treats for the dog upon arrival. Our room was a pet friendly room on the main floor of the hotel facing the Port Hudson marina. Bed was super soft but clean and room was very small but clean and equiped with microwave and small fridge. Decent TV to watch movies on, they are available in the lobby along with popcorn for a fun movie night. Would stay again and would even consider returning with our boat and having family and friends stay at the Swan.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mypowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I love this place...we never stay in the hotel part as we love the cottages! We stayed in cottage #4. The location is great, not too much traffic and right across the street from a coffee shop. Everything is walking distance. the cottage is cute...nice flat screen tv, microwave and fireplaces and very clean. An added bonus was the cottage we stayed at was pet friendly. Would have given 5 stars but the parking is impossible if you do not have a sub compact car, especially the parking stalls for the cottages. Took me about a 32 point turn to get my Honda Element in and out of spot. Even the regular parking area is cramped, so park on the street in you have a bigger vehicle, especially on busy weekends.

Room Tip: Onlt two cottages are pet friendly, parking is tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WWWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed here twice; both times rooms clean, good beds, lovely location and views from the main building. Free DVD borrowing a bonus. Efficient and pleasant staff.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Two C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have been coming over for 4 years and always enjoy our stay. Most the time we don'teven turn TV on. The view is so nice.
Martha and Nancy

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maleka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing