We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent inn keepers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent inn keepers”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a historic inn next to the marina in downtown Port Townsend. Well decorated rooms, clean, good beds. I made a mistake in my reservation and they were very gracious about it and worked hard to accomodate me. All for the best price in town. We will return. I think in summer you have to book well in advance. The ferry from widbey island requires reservations at peak times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    91
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
143
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was a very nice hotel located near the whale watching company we were connecting with the following morning. The lady that greeted us in the office was very nice and informative regarding the places to eat in town. The room was on the first floor and was ADA compliant. The bed was comfortable and we weren't disturbed by any noise outside or from the upper levels. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. We would recommend this to anyone wanting a nice place to stay..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy-Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I love the Swan. The beds are large and cushy, the location is convenient to everything but still quiet, and the staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly. I like smaller hotels that feel personal and the Swan fits this to a tee. If you happen to find yourself in Port Townsend on a rainy winter night, as I did, the front office has a huge selection of movies to borrow when the shops/bars close down.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a nice place if you like the bed and breakfast feel. Very clean and handy to get to historic downtown. Bit of a small bathroom but overall nothing wrong with it. Could use a few benches outside because the evenings in Port Townsend are pretty. The desk staff was very helpful.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MellieNem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Port Townsend was beautiful in May. But The Swan Hotel was very difficult for my husband who is in a wheelchair. We got up the spacious ramp --- it was wonderful --- but from there on is was very cramped and difficult to move around in. From the open door way we had 1 inch to spare on the sides (that is 1/2 inch per side) so we had to go forward into the bathroom in order to close the door behind us. The bathroom was adequate but was not designed for wheelchairs. The bathroom door was in the way no matter which way he turned. Moving in the room was much more difficult although it could it cold be done. It was much to cramped to be comfortable. The manager was very nice and helpful and explained the hotel was not ADA compliant and she was right! Most people might find The Swan Hotel meets their needs, people with a wheelchair will definitely be challenged!

Room Tip: The only service, other than the manager at check in, was room cleaning. The noise from the room ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Swan Hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Port Townsend.

It is regretful that the room did not fully meet your needs. We have modified that room A-2 to help accommodate our guests who have mobility and access issues. Unfortunately the space restrictions present in our boutique studios make it impossible to fully implement an ADA certified room configuration. We are careful not to represent it in that manner and to try to make it clear to all guests making reservations with those needs. I apologize if we failed to properly communicate that to you when booking the reservation. We have addressed this with our staff and will strive to improve our communication of the amenities.

Thank you for your input towards improving our facility and customer service.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

When we got on the ferry in Seattle we did not know where we would be staying that evening. As I browsed through my AAA book and some maps of the Olympic peninsula I decided Port Townsend might be an option for a couple of days. What a great decision. I called The Swan from the ferry and after exploring options of rooms and their other property, The Bishop, with Dan we decided on a 2nd floor at The Swan. I asked for 2 cereal bowls and when we arrived there was a basket awaiting with wine glasses, plates, utensils - what a pleasant surprise. We are light eaters & do cereal and coffee in our room when possible. There is a frig and microwave in the room. Linda was on duty and was a wonderful resource to laundry facilites (Carol's heading out of town), sights and restaurants. Our room was on the 2nd floor (A5) and was initially a tad small (after a suite in Seattle), but soon became "cozy". We sat on the shared balcony and enjoyed hanging out on a late sunny afternoon. The office has a PC for guest use which is convenient to check emails, TripAdvisor reviews, and weather. Across the street towards the water is the Velocity coffee shop which opens at 6:30 a.m. for coffee. Great place to "wake up", read the paper and enjoy the local buzz. You can walk to most restaurants and bars and shops. Could have stayed longer in Port Townsend if there was not so much to see around the state. Good jumping off point for the National Park & Hurricane Ridge.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, A5 and A6 is less expensive than the rooms with "full water views" - totally fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FancyNancyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giscome
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

In Port Townsend, it is tricky to get good lodging at a decent price. This hotel fits the bill. We stayed in the main building on the first floor. The room was pleasant, with very nice bedding and finishing. The bathroom was spotless and included some quality lotions, shampoo, etc.
The only negatives: no laundry facilities on site, and no breakfast. Other than that, it was just fine.
The hotel staff was pleasant and efficient. I left my Mac charger and the hotel immediately wrote my email, and I was able to pick it up on the way back to Victoria! Thanks Swans Hotel!!!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, check that you aren't going to be on the second floor of the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giscome56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing