We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, convenient, good value.”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Welcoming, convenient, good value.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had an excellent time making the reservation...most helpful in guiding is to what we needed. The greeting at our arrival was excellent, and she was happy to answer our inquiries as if no one had asked these questions before:). The room was clean and comfortable. The parking was ample and convenient. We will recommend without any exceptions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_S154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    95
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
149
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There's almost everything to love about The Swan: Simple but tasteful decor; brilliant location right by the marina and in the heart of town; welcoming personnel; good prices. We stayed in a "pet-friendly" room--the last room available--and the dog smell was pretty intense. Ceiling fan and open windows made it bearable for one night, but more than that would've been too much. We definitely will stay there again, just not in a pet room.

Room Tip: Avoid pet rooms unless you have a dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constanttraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in Cottage #1 for 3 nights. We chose the hotel because of the positive reviews and the proximity to Hudson Harbor (Right next door).

First, the cottage was a bit small but we really didn't mind that we didn't plan to be in the room for lengthy periods. It does appear larger on the website photo then it actually is. The staff was super accommodating, the room was very clean and we had a designated parking spot! There were a couple little repairs that could be made, a loose moulding on the bathroom door but overall we were very happy with the room and enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Be aware there is not air conditioning in the room but the temperature cools down quite nicely in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We used to live in Port Townsend and are familiar with all the hotels. The Swan and its sister hotel, The Bishop Hotel, are consistently good places to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. Nothing fancy (but they are nice) at The Swan, unless you stay in the penthouse. When you travel with your dog, they give you a dog bed, toys, including a frisbee, dog towels, food and water bowls and poop bags. There's a park and beach right across the street. The Bishop is a beautiful old building with lovely victorian B & B type accommodations. Both hotels are downtown and within walking distance to everything you'll need.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islander417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We totally enjoyed our two night stay here. We were in Room 5 of the main building. I loved the outdoorsy feeling it had with no inside dark hallways like the hotel chains have. On a beautiful day we opened up the French doors and took an incredible mid-day nap. The room was filled with sunshine and I felt like I was on a veranda. This little town is awesome. My husband and I like to search out antique and (older collectible type books) shops. Too bad the shop he wanted to go to was closed on both days we were here (Tues-Wed) in the middle of summer! Everyone in the office was delightful. The room was clean and comfortable. TV worked great. No air- conditioning but it was not needed in August. Some rooms have a view of the water. They also have cute little detached cottages I may try next time. Port Townsend's old brick buildings were built around 1900. The Rose Theater in town is terrific. The local seagulls are way too noisy! LOL

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptaker131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Swan - the people were very friendly and accommodating. When we checked in, the room had a bad smell (like a cat?) and they brought a candle and Fabreeze. It was still bad the next day and they needed to deep clean the carpet, so they upgraded us to the Penthouse suite! The suite was beautiful, and we especially liked the "Widow's Walk" on the roof - what a view! We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumner, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed at the Swan Hotel while on a weekend motorcycle to trip to Port Townsend. The location of the hotel is ideal and is in easy walking distance to the shops/bars/cafe's in the old downtown area. Note: There a great coffee shop right across the street. The beach on the north side of the marina is nice to explore as well. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I stayed in a 2nd floor room with a view the marina. I enjoyed the fact that this is a small hotel - just 4 rooms and the penthouse I believe and 2-3 little cottage/cabins (which looked like a fun place to stay). My only complaint about the hotel is that when people are walking on the floor above you it sounds like an elephant herd (I believe there was a family with young children staying in the penthouse). Not a big deal as long as the herd is not moving late at night or super early in the morning. All in all a great place to stay and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#6 of 11 in Port Townsend
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing