We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quaint”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Swan Hotel. It was a last minute decision and glad we detoured to Port Townsend. We were lucky to get the last room available. Our room was on the 1st floor facing the marina. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is right by the marina and within walking distance of everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hrgirl809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We're glad you had the opportunity to visit our lovely historic seaport. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    94
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
149
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed in a room on the second floor marina side, veiw was nice & location great for downtown and marina accessibility. Staff was very friendly & welcoming. Only reason not a five is the room had an odd small upon arrival, open windows & the fan helped but it never totally disapated, must have a pet friendly room....next time I will request an unfriendly pet room :)

Room Tip: If no pets get a non friendly pet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had an excellent time making the reservation...most helpful in guiding is to what we needed. The greeting at our arrival was excellent, and she was happy to answer our inquiries as if no one had asked these questions before:). The room was clean and comfortable. The parking was ample and convenient. We will recommend without any exceptions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_S154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

There's almost everything to love about The Swan: Simple but tasteful decor; brilliant location right by the marina and in the heart of town; welcoming personnel; good prices. We stayed in a "pet-friendly" room--the last room available--and the dog smell was pretty intense. Ceiling fan and open windows made it bearable for one night, but more than that would've been too much. We definitely will stay there again, just not in a pet room.

Room Tip: Avoid pet rooms unless you have a dog with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank constanttraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in Cottage #1 for 3 nights. We chose the hotel because of the positive reviews and the proximity to Hudson Harbor (Right next door).

First, the cottage was a bit small but we really didn't mind that we didn't plan to be in the room for lengthy periods. It does appear larger on the website photo then it actually is. The staff was super accommodating, the room was very clean and we had a designated parking spot! There were a couple little repairs that could be made, a loose moulding on the bathroom door but overall we were very happy with the room and enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Be aware there is not air conditioning in the room but the temperature cools down quite nicely in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We used to live in Port Townsend and are familiar with all the hotels. The Swan and its sister hotel, The Bishop Hotel, are consistently good places to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. Nothing fancy (but they are nice) at The Swan, unless you stay in the penthouse. When you travel with your dog, they give you a dog bed, toys, including a frisbee, dog towels, food and water bowls and poop bags. There's a park and beach right across the street. The Bishop is a beautiful old building with lovely victorian B & B type accommodations. Both hotels are downtown and within walking distance to everything you'll need.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islander417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We totally enjoyed our two night stay here. We were in Room 5 of the main building. I loved the outdoorsy feeling it had with no inside dark hallways like the hotel chains have. On a beautiful day we opened up the French doors and took an incredible mid-day nap. The room was filled with sunshine and I felt like I was on a veranda. This little town is awesome. My husband and I like to search out antique and (older collectible type books) shops. Too bad the shop he wanted to go to was closed on both days we were here (Tues-Wed) in the middle of summer! Everyone in the office was delightful. The room was clean and comfortable. TV worked great. No air- conditioning but it was not needed in August. Some rooms have a view of the water. They also have cute little detached cottages I may try next time. Port Townsend's old brick buildings were built around 1900. The Rose Theater in town is terrific. The local seagulls are way too noisy! LOL

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptaker131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
339 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing