We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We got into town close to 5pm with no reservations for the night. We drove around and found The Swan Hotel and inquired about a room. Linda was at the front desk and ridiculously helpful! She showed us our choices and we ended up staying there for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and clean. And quiet. And she gave us some great dinner suggestions as well. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 5. It didn't have a view from inside the room, but it did from the porch right outs...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We will pass on your comments about how "Ridiculously Helpful" Linda was. Our Innkeepers appreciate being recognized for their talents. Glad you enjoyed our charming restaurants around town.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had asked for a queen room in the main building, but for some reason that wasn't available and we got one of the really charming little cabins on the property. Our only downside to the stay was having to pretty big guys in a standard double bed in the cabin. The location of this place couldn't be better for exploring Port Townsend, and they have on-site parking. The Port Townsend Farmer's Market has been voted one of the best in Washington and I highly recommend it. Out cabin had a microwave, mini-fridge, and plates and stuff if you prefer to eat in. The location is great - right across the street from the PT Maritime Center. There's free access to a very well equipped gym about a block away too. I would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Just depends on your needs - I liked the cabin in that it was separate and quiet, but the standard d...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments as we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. In regard to your comment about the bed size, the beds in each of the cottages are indeed queen size beds. Guest's have commented in the past about this as they appear to look like a standard double bed because it's up against the wall on one side. Glad you found our cottages comfortable otherwise with many useful amenities. We do have a sister Hotel called the Bishop Victorian Hotel that does have King beds so next time maybe that would be an option. We hope you will think of us on your next stay.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Swan has many room option styles for you to choose from! Cottages, hotel rooms and Suites.
My review is based on staying in the WheelHouse Suite. Located up 3 flights of Stairs this suite has a masterbedroom with two person soaking tub, another bedroom and a loft with two additional Queen beds.

The Suite is great for staying as a couple (and having a kitchen and a ton of space, one where they are kind to not charge for the loft if you don't stay in it.) Or like in our case staying with friends or family while still having your privacy between rooms and a second bathroom!

The beds were comfortable, the livingroom was cozy and the kitchen had everything we needed as far as pans, serveware and dishware for meals. A nice large dining table and a way cool widows peak on the roof, man, what a view. Location is near many fine restaurants so you may not use the kitchen much.

The Swan is a old Hotel so items are a bit dated but clean and well taken care of. They have wrap around porches that all view the Marina and the quaint town. This place is as charming as can be and the staff that runs it is so very friendly and helpful. They offer up boardgames or dvds to borrow if you like. We had a lovely time in PT.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djcynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Yes the views from the decks of our Penthouse Suite are pretty spectacular. Many families and friends have enjoyed the comforts of this suite. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your thoughtful review.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What an amazing place! Port Townsend is overflowing will charm! This October, we had the opportunity to stay at the Swan Hotel for the weekend. The Swan is centrally located and is easy walking distance to some fantastic restaurants, bookstores and the marina.
The rooms are quaint, very clean and comfortable. While they aren't extravagant the rooms offer all the comfort needed after an active day. Make sure to check out the local Farmer's Market too!

When we come back for a visit we'll be staying at the Swan Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while in HISTORIC Port Townsend. Thanks for the shout out about our Farmer's Market it's been voted one of the best in Washington!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were welcomed by Ken, who could not have been more pleasant, offering to help with our luggage. Our room was a good size, but let down by cleaning. There was a cleaning fluid bottle left in our bathroom, the carpet around the bed was not properly vacuumed and there were tissues and other small bits of debris under the bed, the coffee maker was dirty, this I cleaned myself. One of our bed side lamps did not work, the Internet kept dropping off and the tv had only one channel. Ken tried to fix the tv and changed the channel box with no success explaining they had recently changed cable companies and had experienced many similar problems, we were offered a bottle of wine or the chance to move hotel, as this was after 9pm, we declined their offer. In the morning the receptionist, apologised and took a reduction off our bill. Perhaps we were unlucky, as it is easy to see how most of the time they get it right, with good service and a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The cottages were OK. Unfortunately, we had just arrived from Orcas Island where we stayed two nights at a five star, the Outlook Inn. It featured New King sized beds, feather comforters, big fluffy pillows, cotton linens, and an amazing nights rest. If owners could learn a thing or two about investments; buy a great bed and make an investment in linens, and pillows. It will will be the best investment a hotel or inn can make in order to have people return to your hotel.

These beds at the Swan were a bit overused; we walked into the cottage and the bed was sunk in the middle, a bit overused, we admit. But the number one reason we recommend the Swan?

KEN, the inn keeper! Amazing attitude and a story teller. He had enthusiasm, warmth and stories galore. If I were an inn keeper and wanted the best people working for me - I would go talk to Ken. He is fantastic. He is worth the 144.00 a night. Thanks Ken!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your remarks as we always benefit from our guest's recommendations. New mattresses had already been ordered and are on the way. We regret they did not arrive in time for your stay, but rest assured the situation will be corrected quickly.

It is heartwarming to hear that our front desk (Innkeeper) Ken left a great and lasting impression with you.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It took a bit of looking to find a downtown hotel in Port Townsend that didn't have a lot of steps and wasn't in the middle of town! This one was perfect. We used to bring our boat into Point Hudson Marina so it was like coming home to be so near to it. My mother and I stayed in two ground floor rooms. I think I was more comfortable than she was. The chair in her room was placed so she couldn't see the TV from it and she isn't one to perch on the bed to watch. I think she read a book. I could see the TV from my chair. Both beds were very comfortable. I could hear the folks upstairs walking around. It is an old building, remember. This is a great place to stay, especially if you prefer being near the water to browsing the shops (though it is close to them also.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for letting us be a part of your fond memories of your times at the Point Hudson Marina and Port Townsend.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
54 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: £93 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing