We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great swan!”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great swan!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Spent a night here in one of their cabins. Very nice, outside sitting area with two Adirondack chairs. Bathroom has a wall that ends about two feet from the ceiling so a bit noisy. Full size bed was a bit small if you and your S.O. are used to Queen or King size bed! Very friendly front desk manager, lots of good info on local restaurants, sights, etc. Great location, near main street (Water Street), marina, RV parking, etc.

Room Tip: Cabin was great, did not visit main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to drop us a line. We appreciate your comments. Glad you liked our little historic seaport town. We love sharing our local restaurant tips with our guests as they truly value our insight. Many guests come into the office after dinner and tell the Innkeepers how much they enjoyed our restaurant suggestion. A great guest experience is what hospitality is all about.

In regard to your bed guests do sometimes think that the beds in the cottages are a Full/Standard size bed but in fact all of our beds in the Hotel are Queen. Hope it wasn't too "cozy" for you.

We welcome your return.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    94
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
147
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent a night there recently and will certainly stay there again. Very close to the water and downtown. Motorcycle friendly. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable. We had breakfast at the Hudson Point Café, lunch at Nifty Fifties and dinner at The Belmont. All great places with great food and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We do get a fair amount of tourist that come to visit via their motorcycles. Port Townsend is a great destination. Seems like you hit all the hot spots around town for your dining experiences.

Please come and visit us again sometime as we are "motorcycle friendly."

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were late in asking for reservation, and was informed no rooms at the ... Inn.. However 5 minutes later the receptionist called back with a room, as a result of cancellation. Very nice.. Figured this is busy season, so took the cottage. It was comfortable, well located. But... hotel and cottages are quite old, so not too classy. The rate for the room was probably what you get when you book late in the middle of the busy season.. However, the rate was excessive, even by those standards... After traveling in Europe, staying in similar aged hotels, the rate was high. However, can't complain about the interior of the room, or the staff... Port Townsend is such a nice place, low key, and not touristy, so that made up for the high room cost.. Dinner in the room with Prosecco and pears and cheese was the compensation.

Room Tip: Cottages look a little rough on the outside, but the interior is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cllees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were lucky enough to get the last cottage available the evening we arrived in Port Townsend, and the good advice of the manager, Paula. She settled us into the cozy, well appointed room, then gave us copious suggestions for restaurants, etc. in the area. We chose Alchemy Wine Bar for dinner, where we enjoyed a truly delicious meal with great service. We will return again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your "cozy" cottage. Our Innkeepers feel that letting our guests know about the great restaurants in town is just part of giving them the total hospitality experience.

We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We just returned from a 3 day stay in Port Townsend at the Swan Hotel. We were there for a wedding which took place across the street at the Maritime Center outside at the pier. Our party rented the HUGE suite which takes up the entire top floor and five other rooms in the main building and two of the absolutely adorable "cottages". Let me start by saying that the rooms on the marina side have the most stunning views! A good sized deck has comfortable chairs that beg you to sit and have coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon. The rooms are clean, updated and have fridge, microwave and coffee makers. Although there is no air-conditioning, the ceiling fan kept us very comfortable even on the 85 degree day. The huge suite on the top floor was really something with it's 4+ beds, kitchen, dining room and lots of space.

If the view of the marina isn't a MUST for you then opt for one of the cottages. Absolutely adorable with their window boxes filled with flowers and cozy outdoor sitting area (specific to each cottage), they also have a reserved parking space which is a big plus in this bustling port!

The property's proximity to the marina, maritime center and super quaint shops is truly the BEST! We loved our time at this special place and truly can't wait to go back!

The staff was very welcoming and accommodating.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms don't have much of a view. Ask to be on the marina side of the second floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review. It sounds like you had a swell time at the wedding celebration.
Thank you for choosing us to part of your celebration.

The Penthouse will be waiting for your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We enjoyed our brief visit to the Swan Hotel. The rooms are clean and cozy. The location can't be beat! Staff is friendly and helpful--they called to let us know we forgot my 4 year old's favorite shoes before she even noticed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We do pride ourselves on our attentive staff.

Please visit us again someday.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Port Townsend is a charming, touristy town, and the Swan Hotel is a great base from which to walk the village streets and along the waterfront. As has been mentioned, the rooms are simple and a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. The staff is delightful and helpful. We had two rooms on the second floor with a nice shared balcony. The Swan is a sister property to the Bishop Hotel, which is classic old Victorian. We were happy with our choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebe1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy F, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Dear Guest,

We're always delighted when our guests take the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here.

If you are ever in our area in the future we would look forward to assisting you with your visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#7 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5709
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing