We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful piece of history, no ghosts here”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of history, no ghosts here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Getting the right room matters here. Ask for a big room and pay the difference. We were in rm 202. It was very large and had a great view. It is over the bar but no one was partying so it was quiet. I understand that some rooms are quite small.

There is much Internet chatter about ghosts at the hotel. It is interesting and fun to talk about but it is the stuff of stories. There is nothing dark or haunting about the place.

The staff is upbeat and relaxed, great service. The room was spotless.

On a rainy day it could feel a little claustrophobic . There is a small lounge area that feels like a funeral parlor. When we were there a couple of business men were having a meeting re marketing the hotel so I did not feel like I could be there.

The hotel is not within walking distance of the downtown. You do have to drive and then deal with parking.

We were part of a large group. We had a catered dinner that was okay, nothing special, but the room is a wonderful venue.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    87
    51
    34
    31
See reviews for
50
138
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oysterville, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

First time visitors looking for something fun and interesting for a birthday. The lounge was small and cozy. This was a Port Townsend landmark to enjoy as we found the wait staff to be very friendly. Let's call this an adventure in history as we learned about the background of how the castle came to be part of the Port Townsend landscape. The bartender was very enjoyable and she did an outstanding job of explaining why people love to visit this place...especially Ghost Busters!

Following a round of beverages, it was time to go across the hall and into the dining room. Our waitress was most enjoyable. We found her very entertaining and knowledgeable of the menu.
The service was excellent in all respects. We found this to truly be one of the fun things to do in Port Townsend one bite at a time. The dining room had lots of ambience and the period furnishings added to the whole experience. For the money, this was very casual fine dining.

Room Tip: N/A as we only came for drinks and dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahitionline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The castle makes you feel like you've stepped back in time, in a good way! It is mysterious and beautiful! I would recommend it to everyone I know!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I had and awesome time there, the location was conveniently next to a QFC grocery. I had rented the cottage with the mini kitchen so we were able to cook our own meals, it was wonderful. The beach was a 4 min drive away. It was a perfect trip. =)

Room Tip: Choosing the cottages are perfect for a great getaway for a bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I went to the Manresa for a couple days last month and loved the feeling of the old mansion! The courtyard was adorable and I thought the view from my room looking into the ocean was great! The Key restraunt had delicious fresh food & the bartender that served us in the lounge was friendly and made me the best cocktail ive had in a long time! My room came with a big luxurios bathtub that could fit 5 I swear lol! The girls at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful when I needed ideas of what to do in town. I definitley feel that I got my moneys worth! Good job and thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkmartinilovesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed here for the first time a couple weeks ago and was very impressed with my experience. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, and the restaurant was great!!
Originally I was only going to stay one night and ended up staying three. I would recommend this hotel :)
JP

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpjpjpjpjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I are looking for a wedding venue and the website looked so amazing we had to check it out. There is a hospital right next door. We heard 2 ambulances in 20 minutes. The views are disgusting, the hotel is disgusting. There are much nicer places to stay and or get married at on the olympic peninsula.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Property: Manresa Castle
Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing