We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly unique!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfectly unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

When our first lower priced room wasn't house kept, they upgraded us to a suite in seconds. Super friendly, great views and location, BEAUTIFUL building, if you are into the 100+ year old experience - OUTSTANDING condition. A must stay! And the beach are full of rocks and sea glass. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skowtko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    86
    50
    34
    31
See reviews for
50
138
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at Manresa Castle in August 2012. We took advantage of the weekday special and got a free appetizer and coupons for drinks for two nights of our stay. The hotel was clean and quiet. The room and bathroom were both spacious.

Our only issue was that when we left on Saturday, the breakfast had not been put out even though it was 7:15 and breakfast was supposed to start before 7. We had to go and buy our own breakfast as there was no one at the front counter to speak to, there was just a basket for keys for guests who were checking out.

Things to note...
There is no elevator and the flights of stairs are long.
This is not a disabled friendly hotel. It was built before such things were taken into account.
There is no air conditioning but the temperatures were cool enough that an open window was fine.
The court side rooms face over a road. It's not a major road with lots of traffic but if you have the window open you will hear the occasional car come down the street.
It is next to a hospital but we didn't hear any noise from that at all.
The restaurant is excellent!

This hotel is away from the downtown core. We parked at the visitor centre and then walked the 15 minutes to downtown.

We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank China_Kimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed one weeknight here August 7-8 2012. The staff all very nice! Friendly and Welcoming!
The room was old, with time period furniture and wallpaper. Spacious, with a spacious bathroom. No hair dryer provided, as this is not a typical hotel. Also, no A/C (we are from PA where summers are often hot and humid). The high ceilings and decor are very nice. Beds very comfortable. The restaurant on site is very expensive ($161 for a meal for five with three drinking water only)...the meal was, however, excellent...we had steak that was done perfectly and tender. Two in our party had seafood, and found it to be very good. The twice baked potatoes are so wonderful.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center; this is not a typical hotel! Our room was two queen beds, because we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srmvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed one night at the castle. It is a bit of a drive to downtown. We got a water view room. The castle is an old, worn building. Our room was small. It did not have air conditioning, and the ceiling fan did not provide much relief from the heat. The bathroom was even hotter and we could not open the window, so once you stepped out of the shower, you were sweaty again. The bathroom did not have a hair dryer. We did enjoy the lounge. The bartender was friendly and made good drinks. I would not stay here again. There are better options in port Townsend with just as much "charm"

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank urbantraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in a room with a view of the water and our friends had a view of the "garden". Our view was amazing, truly beautiful. Our friend's really had a view of a bit of grass and a covered area and into a street and neighborhood. It was okay.

The castle really is beautiful, however, it was really not on a very big property, really just enough for the building and parking. It features pictures on their wall of Mr and Mrs Eisenbeiss who built the castle as well as many photos around Port Townsend in earlier years that were fun to look at.
The inside of the castle is very beautiful inside as well, each room made to be as period as possible. There is no air conditioning, as it would be in those days, however, there is a TV in the room.
The food for dinner was good, we ate off the Pub menu because I think the prices for most of the other meals were rather expensive.
Breakfast came with the price of the room and was in the breakfast room. Mainly toast, cookie (which was really good) cold cereal, boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, milk, coffee, tea and juices.
The architecture was very nice and the sitting area had several books to peruse through. We got a beer from the bar and went to the sitting room to chat with our friends, which was nice.
When we got up the first morning and left the castle for the day, our friends put a door hanger on their room asking that their room be made up. We didn't have a door hangar in our room, so our room was just as we left it. Not that big of a deal but kind of strange.

Room Tip: Get a room that is overlooking the water. It is a beautiful view, but keep the shades down when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassYDawG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My daughter and I stayed in the infamous Room 306 and much to our delight, we had a very restful sleep. The room was spacious and clean. We even found an extra fan in the closet. The castle is quite beautiful and the staff was very accomodating. They willing shared the history of the castle and the hauntings which added to the mystique of our room.
Unfortunately, we did not eat in the restaurant castle but the continental breakfast served the best cookies. They were an oversized whole grain/cranberry type of cookie.
The grounds were neatly tended to and on our departure we saw a hummingbird hovering about some flowers. A very nice stay, indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We didn't have a reservation when we pulled in to Manresa Castle and, not surprisingly since it was a Saturday night in July, they were booked....but there was one room - the cottage - they might be able to free. We felt serendipity was on our side and while it was a pricier than we'd planned, we had a great stay at Manresa. Drinks in the bar, dinner in the near empty restaurant (which was lovely and away from the town centre crowds) and attentive staff and service.
The owners do need to pay attention to the grounds. On arrival, it looks rundown and like an old nursing home. Some weeding and landscaping wouldn't be amiss.
The morning staff on the desk was less helpful than the staff when we arrived. Didn't know where the visitor centre was which should have been lesson 1 in the hotel's how-to-serve-guests book.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LemonandHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
8.6 mi away
The Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Property: Manresa Castle
Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing