We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the castle was amazing! We had our wedding ceremony in the library, dinner in the restaurant, and reception in the banquet room.
All of the staff at the castle were very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to help with every little thing. They were also knowledgeable about the history of the castle and it's inhabitants (corporeal and non)
Jody was awesome! She was friendly and over all amazing with helping me get our 35 guests settled in the right rooms including last minutes switches and adjustments to accommodations.
Mackenzie was patient and helpful over the phone and through email while setting up all the plans ahead of time.
Bob made sure every detail was just right for the wedding set up and pulled off our dinner and drinks for the whole group- flawlessly.
We couldn't be happier with our experience at the castle. Particularly the great people working there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    87
    51
    34
    31
See reviews for
50
138
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had been excited to stay in this "castle" and was pleasantly surprised upon check~in. We booked a bayview room, with a queen bed. The room was cute and the bed was nice, but that is where the Nice ended. We were located on the 2nd floor, not knowing that meant we were right above the karaoke bar...BAD! As we are enjoying our view of the water and some much needed down time, music and screaming start! (it even wakes the baby in the next room...poor thing). We wait for an hour, but its still going on and the LOUD music and screaming have ruined our stay. We go to the lobby, and another shocker, the front desk is closed. theres a note that says dial 1 and someone will help, NOPE.... was just told to leave your keys on the desk, no offer of a changed room, a discount or refund, so we left... NEEDLESS to say we will NEVER go back and would not recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbuggin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32Manager, Manager at Manresa Castle, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
The Manresa Castle does not have karaoke bar, we did have a wedding, and the sign at the front desk says dial 0 - not 1 - as the front desk clerks carry a phone when not at the front desk, which is why there was a delay in responding as she called the wrong extension.
The front desk clerk did try to explain to that the wedding would be over about 9 pm.
The Manresa Castle does host a lot of weddings, family events and Corporate events as we are the only Port Townsend hotel with a a restaurant and lounge and an elevator. We also have 2 acres of grounds around the building, all others are "pavement locked - right on the streets or surrounded by parking lot, which is another reason we are often chosen.
We do agree weddings are festive occasions, but we can not shut down a wedding as wedding memories last a life time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I had an outstanding stay in a tower suite. We enjoy historic B&B's and this one hit the spot. The owners have retained all the old antiques which is highly appreciated. The service in the lounge and the dinning room were superb. It is quiet and well appointed. The bed was softer than what we usually like. The facility and the history was fascinating.

We plan on a return trip.

Room Tip: Room 302 is highly recommended. It really takes you back in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verleen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

On the 12th of October, 2013 Our family united at the Castle for my wedding. We have stayed many times here and we wanted to share this location with our loved ones because it has been so beloved by my wife and I for some time. Not your typical rooms if your used to major hotel chains, these rooms are elegant and reminiscent of a more romantic time in our history. The furnishings of each room are beautiful antiques unlike anything your Mor, United, ashley, or Tracys have to offer these day. REAL wood that crafted, not assembled in a warehouse. The library quickly captured our hearts for these reasons and we knew there was no better place for us to wed.
Price was very reasonable. The hotel will work with you on blocking rooms together with a discount if you would like family to stay with you. Bob, the restaurant manager, acts as a sort of planner or helper at no additional cost in the rental fee. He helped us with seating arrangements, timing of events, chair decorating, dinner planning, dining room chair decorating, and drink planning. We purchased our own table runners, colored napkins, napkin rings, flower arrangements, candle holders, and accents while Bob provided chair covers, table linens, silverware, plates, and glassware. We decided to go with Bobs cooking staff for the catering and went with the deluxe option buffet dining. Prime rib perfectly cooked, salmon, chicken with mushroom picata, the best risotto I have ever had, arugula salad, rolls, vegetable medley and more.
Everything went so smooth it was unbelievable. Plenty of room in the bridal suite for the bride to get ready. In between the wedding and dinner reception the bar was open so family could grab a drink while pictures were being taken. When dinner was ready everything smoothly transitioned to the dining hall where we had an incredible meal. I can't say enough how amazing the Chef Jason is at preparing his prime rib and risotto. He is truly an artist. Many drinks were had and everyone had the time of their life on the dance floor. With all the reception, decorations, dress, my kilt, and all we stayed within a 10K budget were more than satisfied with everything. I included some photos my photographer took with permission for trip advisor to use. I'm the one in the Scott family kilt. There is much I can say more but I feel I would go on forever so I will post a few pictures of the dining hall after my best man and Bob decorated and a couple wedding photos so you can see the beauty of it all your self. I had a friend get married here 11/13/2013 because he liked it so much and a few more friends planning weddings here now too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnScott0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblemount, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is an fun, off-beat place. If you're looking for the predictability of a major chain, go stay at a major chain. I've stayed here twice and both times the room was clean and well furnished. The decorations are appropriate to the period and interesting. Compared to other options in Port Townsend it's reasonably priced. Breakfast at the restaurant was nice. I won't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marblemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We've been here many times...this visit a different room, nice view, but...
No hot water! Mentioned this to the desk worker and she told me it takes
20-25 min. for the water to get hot. Hmm...haven't had that problem before.
Running the water for that long is wasteful, let alone waiting that amount of
time is ridiculous. Noted that the free continental breakfast was non-existent!
Just coffee and hot water. Breakfast in the on-site restaurant was delicious and
the waiters were excellent! We'll be back of course, but...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teachwheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This place is overpriced and dirty! $209 for a king bed with a Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. We checked in, went to our room and promptly checked out! The hallways are dark, steps are creaky and in need of repair, the room was small, dirty and the furnishings looked like they were purchased at a bad garage sale. There are much nicer hotels that charge a lot less in town. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bcw58838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Property: Manresa Castle
Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing