We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only scary thing is the service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only scary thing is the service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Ok, so there were initially a few hiccups. When we checked in our room was freezing. The heat was not on and the windows were opened. The front desk staff was frosty at best despite the fact she was chain-smoking in front of the entrance. When we had dinner at the Castle Key the food was so-so and the service sooo-slooow. We ended up standing beside our table just to get the attention of the staff to request our bill!

But it was the "paranormal investigators" that really stole the show. We booked two nights at the castle; the first being uneventful. However, the second night we had ghost hunters check into the room next to us. Our room, 304, was between 302 (where the monk is alleged to have hung himself in the turret) and 306 (where the young lady is alleged to have thrown herself out of the window upon learning of the death of her fiance at sea). When we returned to our room after dinner at about 9 p.m. we found a man duck taping wires to the carpet floor outside of our room running up the staircase beside our wall to the turret. They had the door to 302 open and you could see all sorts of equipment and a couple of really loud women. One came to the door, introduced herself as a "paranormal investigator" and began asking me questions about the ghosts. Did I know about them? Yes. Did they bother me? No. But I was concerned about being disturbed by their nocturnal activities. Would they be disruptive in the night?They said they wouldn't be a problem. Yeah, right.

By 11pm they had still not finished their "set up" and I called down to the front desk to ask them to give our neighbors a call and request that they quiet down. Which thankfully they did. But that was the only sleep we were going to get. At 2:20 a.m. one of their monitors began beeping and for the next hour and half we were forced to listen to them open and shut their very loud, squeaky door; engage in conversations in the doorway and trapes up and down the staircase to the turret to tromp around on the ceiling. By 4 a.m., we were discussing checking out to drive home to get some sleep. But didn't want to end what was to be our romantic weekend away together on such an unhappy note; so we decided to stick it out. Wrong decision.

The ultimate irony was that we ran into our ghost hunter neighbors at the breakfast buffet (such as it was) where we were forced to listen to them complain about the loudness of a room down the hall! I couldn't look at her, as I was sleep deprived, without making a scene so we went back to our room to pack and check out at 9:30 a.m.

Upon check out we asked to speak with the manager who was not available, so we left our name and number and asked him to please call us. When we arrived home at 1:30 we had thought to have had a message but we didn't so we called the castle but he was not available and we left another message; and then again at 4:30 we called to find that he had left for the day. In effect, the manager, Preston Massey, simply blew us off and we have yet to hear from him! When I tried to explain my frustration to the front desk staff they were completely unsympathetic and rude.

Why would they authorize that kind of activity on a weekend and WHY would they put people in rooms right next door when you have to know that there is going to be activity in the night. I mean that's when ghosts do their haunting isn't it?

No wonder they charge you for the room upon your arrival. They grab your cash while they can and then duck and dodge when you have a concern as a guest.

We will NEVER stay there again and of course NEVER recommend it to anyone. And IF the manager ever decides to return our call I'll tell him the same thing!

  • Disliked — Poor customer service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smrtdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    86
    50
    34
    31
See reviews for
50
138
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed for an anniversary treat. It was so disappointing!
The website shows this gorgeous Castle, when in reality, the rooms are terrible, uncomfortable because you have to walk up a step to go into the tiny bathroom, and there is a constant light on in the hallway that shines through the creepy office like door- windows of the room all night long!
It is hardly a comfortable room (we had a courtyard "view")-- especially if you visit in the summer. It is hot, stuffy, and the windows are too high to even get a view of the courtyard from the sitting. The courtyard looks dreary and hardly the bright colorful spectacle they advertise on their website. Don't believe the hype... If you want a romantic getaway, stay at the James House B&B instead!!!!

  • Liked — The lounge area is nice. It's interesting to be in a haunted castle I guess.
  • Disliked — The room was uncomfortable and the staff were not friendly... front desk couldn't be bothered to help us with bags up 3 flights of stairs.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Seattle, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

An important thing to remember about this hotel is that it is old and was not originally designed to be a hotel. It was actually an old monestary and they like to try to keep some of that alive in the hotel's decor. (So don't go expecting new amenities and charming, plush gingerbread decorations!) The idea is for it to be a little dark, sparse and creepy - which it is! :-)
The fun of Manresa is wandering around the castle imagining old priests and rumored ghosts! We didn't see either, but still had fun. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite. BEAUTIFUL view and nice sized room. The tub is old and takes about 45 minutes to fill, so turn on the water early if you are going to use it! Once it is going, it is nice, especially after a rainy day hiking.
If you get the chance, stop by Manresa, even if it is just for dinner and checking out the building and grounds.

  • Liked — The history and the ambiance
  • Disliked — The stairs are a little too creaky and don't feel completely safe.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hiattville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

We had the fortunate opportunity to stay at the Manresa Castle for one night in July. We had a lovely stay! We were able to book last minute, so not much available. We took a room on the third floor with a slight view. The room was small (which was expected) with a decent sized private bathroom. At check in the clerk was friendly though not overly helpful. We decided to check out the lounge which was nice and the bartender was awesome. We went into town for the evening and then returned to the lounge because the bartender was so nice. We did try the cheese and fruit plate while there and it was very nicely done. This is not a 5 star hotel, but a lovely historic property. Although we were only there one night, it was enough to want to stay again.

  • Liked — Historic value and lovely property
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obrienjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We were really looking forward to staying here but encountered some unfortunate problems. Our room was on the 3rd floor and there were no elevators. Be ready for a lot of climbing. Because it is an old castle, the room noise is a little loud. We were booked for three nights and our toilet was never cleaned. We informed the front desk each day, but nothing was done about it. The breakfast is sparse and repetitious. Basically serve canned peaches, bread you can toast, oatmeal that you can microwave. Breakfast area is down another flight of stairs that are dimmly lit. I wound up falling down the breakfast stairs our last morning there and we had to go home to seek medical care rather than continue on to Seattle on our vacation. I'm not really sure who would enjoy staying here but they do seem to be sold out every night.

  • Liked — Big high bed in the jacuzzi suite
  • Disliked — Dimly lit - depressing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cadillaclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

The town information guy saw me looking at a brochure for the castle and said that we could actually stay there. The prices were reasonable and we drove up there. It is such a nice change from a chain hotel. Beautiful gardens, and the castle is beautiful. The desk was friendly. We had an awesome view from our room, we stayed in the newer side. The rooms are smaller, but just what we needed for an overnight stay. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor and at the end, so its very quiet there. I can see that when alot of people are moving around the halls, that it can get really noisy. Didn't eat at the restaurant, but there is a pizza place in town that serves the best pizza I have ever had. They serve 100 year old starter sour dough crusts.

  • Liked — Unique and views
  • Disliked — No elevator for "our" use
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We arrived at the hotel at 3:00 and checked in immediately. The woman at the desk was very pleasant. Our room was on the 3rd floor. There were no elevators, so be prepared for that. The room faced the water and although small (you could tell that this was not built to be a hotel), was very clean and filled with antique furniture. There is a restaurant at the hotel which was nice although we went to downtown Port Townsend for dinner. There was continental breakfast which was fine. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Room was a little small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margee53089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Property: Manresa Castle
Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing