We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negative Chi At the Manresa Hotel”
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Manresa Castle, Sunday, 6/1/2014. The Castle (Inn), is approximately .75 miles from downtown, but it is all uphill. The gardens are not kept. Exterior of the hotel looks worn.We walked-in, and I can smell stale air. The hotel has a negative chi, and the feeling is strange. We walked upstairs to the room. The bathroom reminded of a old hospital bathrooms. The bathroom was a strange dimension long and narrow. The TV did not work and the Wi-Fi did not work. The bed was uncomfortable. The cottage cheese ceiling was dirty. The carpet worn.

In the reception area, sat a young (under 20) to greet us. No uniform, jeans, T-shirt. He informed us that the Wi-Fi works downstairs, but it is inconsistent upstairs.

On the bright side, downtown was charming. Many inns for half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CML32766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Manresa Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife picked this place out as she was going to tag along while I was there for business. Unfortunately, the boss wouldn't let her tag along, so I wound up staying there myself.
The staff was very helpful and polite.
getting to the third floor was like going through a maze the first time, but it was all part of the fun.
I like the room furnishings, but the wife wasn't as happy with them from the pictures that I sent home. The bathroom was way out of character with the more period decorations of the room.
I fell into the Book Enticement Trap that was set for guests: There was a book in the room about the sailing history of two families that wound up coming to the area, and hours later, I finally had to put it down and get some sleep so I would actually be able to function and stay awake the next day!
The bathroom had its issues, with a slow draining tub and a shower nozzle with a massive leak. I brought this to the attention of the staff as I checked out.
I actually enjoyed the breakfast the next day: I haven't had boiled eggs in ages, and gladly took the time to have a couple, and work my way through some toast and coffee.
No, the place isn't perfect, but it does have its charm and ambience.
The price was very reasonable, and was only about $20 more than a corporate owned chain.
I look forward to going back and staying there again, hopefully next time with the wife!
If there truly are any ghosts, she'll draw them out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom-H98532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Nice place, love the Victorian furnishings. Staff very helpful and friendly. nice view of the town if you get on the water side.
Brunch sunday in the restaurant was pretty horrible. Way over-seasoned potatoes, uncooked bacon, stale/moldy toast, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nord1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

While the staff (Javier and Bob) in the bar and restaurant are MORE THAN AWESOME and deserve a rated of 10+, I have to say that the front desk staff on a Sunday were less than helpful..... While Javier and Bob and had worked from 10am ~ close on Saturday due to a wedding AND THEN greeted us for brunch bright and early Easter morning (with smiles), the front desk staff we outside the front doors of the lobby smoking while their phone was ringing off the hook and 2 older woman were stranded on the 2nd floor because no one was answering the phone to bring up the elevator! GRRRRRRRR ..........

Thank you again Bob and Javier!!!! You ROCK!

Room Tip: Upgrading the room worth it, but still too expensive for its worth.... Save your money and just come...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the castle was amazing! We had our wedding ceremony in the library, dinner in the restaurant, and reception in the banquet room.
All of the staff at the castle were very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to help with every little thing. They were also knowledgeable about the history of the castle and it's inhabitants (corporeal and non)
Jody was awesome! She was friendly and over all amazing with helping me get our 35 guests settled in the right rooms including last minutes switches and adjustments to accommodations.
Mackenzie was patient and helpful over the phone and through email while setting up all the plans ahead of time.
Bob made sure every detail was just right for the wedding set up and pulled off our dinner and drinks for the whole group- flawlessly.
We couldn't be happier with our experience at the castle. Particularly the great people working there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 10Becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had been excited to stay in this "castle" and was pleasantly surprised upon check~in. We booked a bayview room, with a queen bed. The room was cute and the bed was nice, but that is where the Nice ended. We were located on the 2nd floor, not knowing that meant we were right above the karaoke bar...BAD! As we are enjoying our view of the water and some much needed down time, music and screaming start! (it even wakes the baby in the next room...poor thing). We wait for an hour, but its still going on and the LOUD music and screaming have ruined our stay. We go to the lobby, and another shocker, the front desk is closed. theres a note that says dial 1 and someone will help, NOPE.... was just told to leave your keys on the desk, no offer of a changed room, a discount or refund, so we left... NEEDLESS to say we will NEVER go back and would not recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelbuggin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32Manager, Manager at Manresa Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

The Manresa Castle does not have karaoke bar, we did have a wedding, and the sign at the front desk says dial 0 - not 1 - as the front desk clerks carry a phone when not at the front desk, which is why there was a delay in responding as she called the wrong extension.
The front desk clerk did try to explain to that the wedding would be over about 9 pm.
The Manresa Castle does host a lot of weddings, family events and Corporate events as we are the only Port Townsend hotel with a a restaurant and lounge and an elevator. We also have 2 acres of grounds around the building, all others are "pavement locked - right on the streets or surrounded by parking lot, which is another reason we are often chosen.
We do agree weddings are festive occasions, but we can not shut down a wedding as wedding memories last a life time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I had an outstanding stay in a tower suite. We enjoy historic B&B's and this one hit the spot. The owners have retained all the old antiques which is highly appreciated. The service in the lounge and the dinning room were superb. It is quiet and well appointed. The bed was softer than what we usually like. The facility and the history was fascinating.

We plan on a return trip.

Room Tip: Room 302 is highly recommended. It really takes you back in time.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verleen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
54 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
298 reviews
12.1 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
194 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: £71 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing