We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy, dirty and a waste of money”
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dingy, dirty and a waste of money”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We spent one night. There really never was a greeting by the nearly hostile, ungroomed and sweatshirt (TORN) wearing receptionist and no cheer to her or the place. The rooms were tiny, dusty and moldy above the shower. It had been years since the light fixtures were dusted. The "continental breakfast" was shameful in a dark basement room with zero charm and was stuff that might have been made when Eisenhower was president. The best recommendation would be to fire everyone, tear down the building and put up a parking lot. There is no evidence of anyone giving one bit of care for the guests. The receptionist on checkout was equally indifferent if not hostile. If I owned this place I would be embarrassed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aginglawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    87
    51
    34
    32
See reviews for
50
139
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

My boyfriend and I visited the Manresa Castle for his birthday. The staff was rude while I was making a reservation and while checking in (she didn't even bother to give us directions to our room). I paid lots of extra money for the Jacuzzi room. When we got to our room it was very spacious and very well decorated. However our sheets and blanket were covered in hair of all sorts. The bathroom floor had used toilet paper on it. The Jazucci was so dirty that we didn't dare step foot it in. The Jazz music was so loud and we could hear everything in the rooms surrounding us. The front desk girl wasn't very happy to hear that we wanted our room cleaned since she was alone. She never even touch the Jazucci so it was still just as dirty when we got back into our room. There is no elevator so you have to walk up the stairs.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

seattle and north
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

It's nice to say we stayed in a "castle", and I hope the owners/managers do more with that idea.
The room was a little on the small side, but not tiny. The bathroom was clean and cute and not crowded, but nothing fancy. Everything was clean.
We had a view of a shopping center! Too bad, but I bet other rooms have a gorgeous view of the sound, cascades, etc. However, we weren't there for the view. And the shopping center was very convenient!
The restaurant was very nice, and the food was very good. We had a package that included dinner and chocolates and it was a very good deal that way.

  • Liked — The Package Price
  • Disliked — No Jacuzzi
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank toriadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

That is why we went to begin with. If you want a 5 star Red Lion Inn experience, go to Red Lion Inn. This place with its unique history, is the reason we chose to stay there. Sure, some of the rooms are small, but get real, it was set up for the Jesuit priests, and they obviously needed very little in the way of extravagant amenities, and large rooms. It was a boarding house for them so to speak. Our room was clean, the bed not too bad, the bathroom clean and the staff very friendly to us. We had an excellent view of Port Townsend and the bay. We got the New years package and really enjoyed our stay. The food, raises a question. The prime rib was excellent I heard. I had the crab stuffed prawns which left a lot to be desired. The risotto was way to saffron heavy, and the prawns, come on, I know frozen shrimp when I taste them. If the chef was to taste everything before he sent it out, it may have been different. The Ice wine was excellent. The entertainment was a bit less than expected. The jazz group was a bit too underwhelming, as a lot of people did not stick around till midnight. Should have had someone more upbeat, with music you could dance to. Could not help but yawn before the new year even rolled around. Not saying the music was bad, just not right for those who wanted to hoot and holler and bring in the new year. Call it excellent dinner music. The owner was very polite and helped his staff in the dining room, and things went rather smoothly. I would give it an easy 3 1/2 to 4 stars. Just need to get the food stepped up a bit. The owner should have Gordon Ramsey of Hells Kitchen fame come in an tool with the menu if the food was better we would make it a yearly stop for sure. We will go back again.

  • Liked — The castle itself. Real cool old house.
  • Disliked — food was a bit lacking in the dining room.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodburning1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My husband, two kids and I just returned from a 2 night stay at Manresa Castle, room #319. The staff was very friendly and offered personalized service throughout our stay. Our room had a king sized bed, a sleeper sofa and an additional sitting area. It was a corner room on the top floor with a partial view of the sound. We had other family in room 314 that had a direct view of the sound and the room was smaller and more hotel like. Our bathroom was updated and the room was very clean....clean enough that I felt comfortable having my baby crawl around the carpet. Their material stated that they went through a renovation in 2005. There are no fridges in the room or hair dryer. We brought our own little cooler and used their ice machine to keep small items cold. Manresa offers a free continental breakfast daily that is equipped with oatmeal, toast, hard boiled eggs and pastries. They also have milk, coffee, water and juice. The only negative to the stay were the paper thin walls. If your neigbor is loud, you will be able to hear them. But, this is a 100+ year old building. One night we had neighbors and we were unhappy. The second night, there was no one next to us and it was a completely different experience. Both of our rooms were on the 3rd floor. And, even though they had an elevator, it was an old Otis that employees must manually operate so we ended up walking up the stairs. It was no big deal though, and our older child loved the climb. We saw lots of dear near the grounds and the hotel is located next to the hospital and a grocery store. The grounds were maintained but they could have probably done a better job on the landscaping. It is a 5 minute drive to Downtown. Overall, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Updated rooms and personalized service
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aloha_from_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Ok, so there were initially a few hiccups. When we checked in our room was freezing. The heat was not on and the windows were opened. The front desk staff was frosty at best despite the fact she was chain-smoking in front of the entrance. When we had dinner at the Castle Key the food was so-so and the service sooo-slooow. We ended up standing beside our table just to get the attention of the staff to request our bill!

But it was the "paranormal investigators" that really stole the show. We booked two nights at the castle; the first being uneventful. However, the second night we had ghost hunters check into the room next to us. Our room, 304, was between 302 (where the monk is alleged to have hung himself in the turret) and 306 (where the young lady is alleged to have thrown herself out of the window upon learning of the death of her fiance at sea). When we returned to our room after dinner at about 9 p.m. we found a man duck taping wires to the carpet floor outside of our room running up the staircase beside our wall to the turret. They had the door to 302 open and you could see all sorts of equipment and a couple of really loud women. One came to the door, introduced herself as a "paranormal investigator" and began asking me questions about the ghosts. Did I know about them? Yes. Did they bother me? No. But I was concerned about being disturbed by their nocturnal activities. Would they be disruptive in the night?They said they wouldn't be a problem. Yeah, right.

By 11pm they had still not finished their "set up" and I called down to the front desk to ask them to give our neighbors a call and request that they quiet down. Which thankfully they did. But that was the only sleep we were going to get. At 2:20 a.m. one of their monitors began beeping and for the next hour and half we were forced to listen to them open and shut their very loud, squeaky door; engage in conversations in the doorway and trapes up and down the staircase to the turret to tromp around on the ceiling. By 4 a.m., we were discussing checking out to drive home to get some sleep. But didn't want to end what was to be our romantic weekend away together on such an unhappy note; so we decided to stick it out. Wrong decision.

The ultimate irony was that we ran into our ghost hunter neighbors at the breakfast buffet (such as it was) where we were forced to listen to them complain about the loudness of a room down the hall! I couldn't look at her, as I was sleep deprived, without making a scene so we went back to our room to pack and check out at 9:30 a.m.

Upon check out we asked to speak with the manager who was not available, so we left our name and number and asked him to please call us. When we arrived home at 1:30 we had thought to have had a message but we didn't so we called the castle but he was not available and we left another message; and then again at 4:30 we called to find that he had left for the day. In effect, the manager, Preston Massey, simply blew us off and we have yet to hear from him! When I tried to explain my frustration to the front desk staff they were completely unsympathetic and rude.

Why would they authorize that kind of activity on a weekend and WHY would they put people in rooms right next door when you have to know that there is going to be activity in the night. I mean that's when ghosts do their haunting isn't it?

No wonder they charge you for the room upon your arrival. They grab your cash while they can and then duck and dodge when you have a concern as a guest.

We will NEVER stay there again and of course NEVER recommend it to anyone. And IF the manager ever decides to return our call I'll tell him the same thing!

  • Disliked — Poor customer service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smrtdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We stayed for an anniversary treat. It was so disappointing!
The website shows this gorgeous Castle, when in reality, the rooms are terrible, uncomfortable because you have to walk up a step to go into the tiny bathroom, and there is a constant light on in the hallway that shines through the creepy office like door- windows of the room all night long!
It is hardly a comfortable room (we had a courtyard "view")-- especially if you visit in the summer. It is hot, stuffy, and the windows are too high to even get a view of the courtyard from the sitting. The courtyard looks dreary and hardly the bright colorful spectacle they advertise on their website. Don't believe the hype... If you want a romantic getaway, stay at the James House B&B instead!!!!

  • Liked — The lounge area is nice. It's interesting to be in a haunted castle I guess.
  • Disliked — The room was uncomfortable and the staff were not friendly... front desk couldn't be bothered to help us with bags up 3 flights of stairs.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Property: Manresa Castle
Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing