We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“halloween pleasure”
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed 4 November 2010

My wife and I have never stayed here before and was quite surprised and pleased with our stay. We reserve the oceanview with dinner, wine,2 cocktails, and breakfast as a package ($260).The value for the meals were worth it just alone. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was perfect. All employees were dressed up in costumes and more the accomidating to satisfy our needs. Would recommend this treasure to anyone.The walls are thin and the building is old so if you are a light sleeper it can appear to be a little loud.But well worth the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2010

Trip with sisters and mom.... lovely room, the view was amazing!!! Lots of history in this building. Wonderful breakfast in the mornings...... loved our visit to your beautiful town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmsessions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The room was small and lacked character... a good concept but lacks detail to make it a pleasant experience. The closet reaked (very musty) so we did not use it.

The view is advertised as breathtaking. We paid extra for the ocean view and were disappointed to see a parking lot, overgrown grass and a lackluster view.

Some staff were knowledgeable. One staff in the lounge was particularly helpful and friendly. Others were quite unhelpful. Management is unresponsive.

There was a power outage in the morning so we awoke to no coffee or tea. We were told that there would be no breakfast and no arrangements for alternatives. There were no apologies made. We left early (and were offered packaged cereal, milk and a piece of fruit as we were leaving). Instead we drove into town for breakfast. We contacted the management about our experience but did not receive a reply.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonS181725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We came from San Francisco and toured the Olympic Peninsula- after going to Forks to see the home of Twilight - we went to Port Townsend. We stayed at the Manresa Castle, which we had seen on a TV show. The food is excellent and they have a large outdoor area which we liked. They have deer that live right outside and wander all around town, which we thought was really cool. The staff was nice and told us about some of the ghost sightings we had seen on TV. All in all it was a good trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samwill888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We went to Manresa castle for our 1 year anniversary. We drove there from Spokane, WA and were already exhausted. It was a total let down! They advertise as if its on the water....Its not! Try like a mile off or more! We were given a free drink and appetizer coupon by a very, very unenthusiastic clerk who looked like she was irritated that we were bothering her while she did whatever she was doing...We went to use the restaurant and were informed that we should have made a reservation because they had no tables for us and would not all night. We left and he followed us out continuing to nag at us. Our cocktails were good, our appetizer was alright....(We had to eat it in the bar) and then we come to our room. It was small, nothing special. Had a fake antique bed and a tiny bathroom. The view we paid extra 10 dollars for was pretty, but thats about the best of it. All the restraunts in town closed at like 8pm....or were not very romantic at all. The continental breakfast consisted of 1 dried out piece of toast, some oatmeal raisin breakfast cookies, and a few cold boiled eggs. The town was completely overpriced. My husband and I had an awful time. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

It had been many years since we last stayed here and my memory of it was positive. This time was with my 11-yr-old son and we also enjoyed the "castle". It has a delightfully worn elegance and a rich history. We took advantage of the mid-week special which is a very good deal. It included a free drink and appetizer in their excellent restaurant. A simple continental breakfast is incl and this morning there were home made coffee cake and cookies. Take your coffee upstairs to the beautiful library with the view of the Straight of Juan de Fuca - that's where I'm writing this now. Our room was simple and private bath was down the hall - I liked that reminder of how things used to be and appreciated the cozy robe to pad down there in. We thoroughly enjoyed out step back in time!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I assume you pay for the ambiance with all the antique furniture IF that is your style. The deer in the courtyard was amazing and the food was good. Other than that-This hotel had NO AC! and the rooms were equipped with little fans. This tiny room was overpriced as well as miserable. We were there on an unusually hot weekend however, the hotels must take this into consideration. The walls are paper thin and the floor creaks with every step. Plan on no sleep as you hear every thing that goes on around the hotel as well as roasting at night. There is no circulation in the rooms. I checked out the next day and went somewhere else. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank photofunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
1.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
301 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
8.7 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: £66 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing