We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for a writing retreat!”
Review of Manresa Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manresa Castle
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Olympia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for a writing retreat!”
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Manresa Castle is full of character and charm. The staff is excellent - extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed two nights, along with members from my local writing group, and the entire experience could not have been better. The restaurant was also terrific - great food! I can't wait to go back, we're planning to make it an annual event.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chassily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    92
    56
    37
    36
See reviews for
55
147
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Steilacoom, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I was part of a retreat planned by my writers group to get away to recharge and re-energize our writing and Manresa was the perfect location for that. The rooms were clean, comfortable and unique. As a writer I loved the ghost stories, and the possibility that the rooms were "haunted". I didn't see or hear a ghost but the stories added to the ambiance. The staff was kind and friendly and attentive to our needs as individuals and a group. There was space enough for us to spread out and several comfortable locations for us to enjoy cozy conversation. Manresa was the perfect location for our retreat.

Nicole

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This was a 5 star experience. We had a suite and it was charming, and comfortable. The staff were wonderful. Prices were great. We access to larger meeting rooms.

Food is really good. Great service in the bar and restaurant.

We are planning to back to sight see. A personal trip this time with my husband and another couple.

If you want something a little different than a hotel or motel. This is a must do.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I went to Manresa Castle as part of a writer's retreat and found it a very charming place to visit. We were greeted by friendly personnel, check-in was quick and easy 9as was check-out), and our suite was absolutely lovely. We really did not want for anything. They even have a lounge and a restaurant on site. I selected the wienerschinitzel (which I haven't had since my last trip to Germany) and it was quite good. Sitting in the parlor to write made me wish I wrote historical stories. I wanted to feel the swish of my skirts as I walked. As well, we had a good view of the water and were close enough to town that it only took a short drive and we were able to check out some very eclectic stores. I highly recommend the experience of a stay at Manresa Castle.
Laurie Ryan
[-]

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rianthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I'm a professional author and recently had a retreat at Manresa. I have to say I absolutely adored the castle. The ambiance. The company. The staff. Everything was perfect. This quaint little castle/inn definitely lived up to the photos I've seen. The elevator was a REAL iron gated Otis (not too many of those around anymore). The drinks were great. The food divine. I've stayed at plenty of hotels and have to place Manresa at the top of my list.

I plan to stay at Manresa again and will HIGHLY recommend it to all my friends/fans.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliekadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Beer Fest was in town the last weekend of January (which wasn't what I was there for), and Manresa Castle lived up to the reviews here. I slept like a baby (but didn't see any ghosts). I was in room 316. The hotel has a lift with the original accordion-style gate that closes you in. It must be operated by a staff member, but especially if you have kids, this is a must-do activity. Quite fun! Most of the time, though, I used the stairs. I had good wi-fi access by the window in my room, though not all rooms were as well situated. If you have an air card, you might want to bring it. Staff was very helpful, the food was good, and the dining room was hopping Friday night with live jazz. Had an awesome time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSDunford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed for the weekend, as part of a group of writers holding a retreat at the hotel. Staff was helpful, friendly and highly accommodating. The room was lovely - comfortable, clean and charming, with a view of the water. Food was wonderful and the bar has great drinks - including a very tasty "Creamsicle" with the juice of fresh squeezed oranges. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway in a place that's cozy, upscale unusual and historic all at once - this is it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.8 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
190 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
542 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manresa Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manresa Castle

Property: Manresa Castle
Address: 651 Cleveland St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-2940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manresa Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Manresa Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manresa Castle Port Townsend
Manresa Castle Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing