We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Great Service, Comfortable!”
Review of Amber Lights B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Lights B & B
Ranked #5 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here while visiting Port Townsend, Sequim, and Port Angeles and will definitely stay again. The bedrooms were very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the hosts were gracious and helpful. A real plus is how quiet and peaceful it is. We enjoyed our first morning cup of coffee observing a nice wooded area and meadow from the backyard deck. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we visit the area again, and will recommend it highly to our friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We returned for 2 nights at this lovely B & B. When we first stayed there last year, it had just opened and was already very comfortable and ready for guests. Now it feels even more homey. Bob and Nancy have attended to every detail and the breakfasts are fabulous! Any time we come back to the Port Townsend area, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: There are 3 equally lovely rooms. One is specially outfitted for persons with disabilities. All ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Amber Lights is located about 10 minutes outside of Port Townsend, nestled in a thick forest and surrounded during the day with hummingbirds and other local avian creatures. If you like to be away from the thick of things, this is a good option. Also, if I were the nice and accommodating proprietors, Nancy and Bob, I'd be touting their B&B anywhere I might catch the attention of anyone looking for accessibility. While most B&Bs I've stayed in have been older, multi-story structures, Amber Lights is a brand-new, one-story building with one ADA-compliant room. There is no strain to move about the rooms, living areas and adjoining outdoor areas.

My wife and I stayed two nights and breakfast both mornings was tasty and plentiful. Nancy and Bob seem careful to allow their guests their space, but are fun to talk to when engaged.

I've knocked some points off for a couple reasons: If you are a stickler for quiet and privacy or, let's say, a honeymooning couple, this may be a bit of a gamble for you. The one thing a multi-story B&B offers is pretty good isolation from other guests. At Amber Lights, the bedrooms are somewhat close together and directly adjoin a common living area that is outfitted with a huge flat-screen TV and Blu-Ray system. If you were staying with socially indifferent people (we were alone one night and were with great people the next), it could make for an uncomfortable situation. This, coupled with the fact that Nancy and Bob live on the other side of the house, gives the vibe of being someone's house guests, which of course is not an entirely negative thing. Just something to consider. I've stayed in single-story B&Bs in which the rooms were separated by hallways or intervening rooms (eg., kitchen, dining), or had their own "living areas."

Also, on the rare occasion that one might try sleeping in and skipping breakfast, it might be difficult here because kitchen sounds are fairly prominent in the morning.

The other quibble was that a water pump sat right outside our room, the Blue Room. So when a decent volume of water was being used by anyone on site (for, say, a shower), the pump kicks into service. Bob pointed this out when we checked in, but I for one didn't imagine it would be as disruptive as it was. Even my wife, who is a more sound sleeper than I, was jarred awake when the pump kicked on.

Hopefully, the last couple paragraphs don't come off as "deal-breaking" warnings. Trip Advisor only is as helpful as its users are honest and thorough (and not agenda-advancing). Overall, I had a positive stay at Amber Lights -- Nancy and Bob were great hosts; it just wasn't perfect.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, or adverse to noise, ask for a room away from the water pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Amber lights while taking a class at the Port Townsend woodworking school. Bob and Nancy were excellent hosts and tailored their outstanding breakfasts to fit my class schedule. The B&B is conveniently located < 10 min from the school and downtown Port Townsend, and it is much quieter and more serene than places in town. Everything at this modern B&B is very clean, pleasant and comfortable. The rooms all have king size beds (soooo comfortable!) and their own TV's and bathrooms. It is a wonderful place to relax while on vacation or after a full day of woodworking. I'm sure I'll be staying at Amber Lights again..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We really enjoyed the stay. Bed in the blue room is AMAZINGLY comfortable, House Very clean, and Bob & Nancy are wonderful hosts. If you are looking for a great place to relax this is it. Bathrooms are a little small...but overall a great place. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Bob & Nancy, your B&B was a great experience. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danniezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here last-minute after returning stateside from a weekend in Victoria and finding every lodging in Port Angeles booked up. By chance, we got in touch with a 3rd party booking agency that booked us at Amber Lights in Port Townshend for that night, and it was already 10pm! Port Townshend is an hour away from Port Angeles, so we called ahead to let them know we were coming, and they were incredibly gracious with our last-minute booking and late arrival. The place was sweet and clean and incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. The bed was amazing and huge - my husband and I could hardly find each other in the king-sized bed. If we ever find ourselves up there again, we'd be happy to stay at Amber Lights.

Room Tip: That same wonderful bed is in every room, so no need to fight over it. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaBean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We wrapped up our west coast holiday at this wonderful B & B...a great place to stay. Outside of (but not too far) the hustle and bustle of Port Townsend, this is a quiet retreat with amenities lacking in many hotels. First class and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cea49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
4.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
366 reviews
3.2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
413 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
#9 of 16 in Port Townsend
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lights B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lights B & B

Address: 4042 Hastings Ave W, Port Townsend, WA 98368-9294
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: £96 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Lights B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Lights B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing