We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a destination!”
Review of Amber Lights B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amber Lights B & B
Ranked #5 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

In the middle of nowhere but not really...We loved the quiet and incredibly gorgeous
forest surrounding that Washington is so known for. The owners where friendly, engaging and very helpful in pointing us to the areas of interest in this sleepy town of Port Townsend. The breakfasts where presented with tons of flavor and pride from this terrific husband and wife team.
We plan on frequenting the area and our destination will be at The Amber Lights!

Room Tip: All rooms with kind size beds but , I believe, one room could be separated into two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

One component of a B&B experience is a positive interaction with your host and hostess. Bob and Nancy are there when you need them and good at sensing when you need some privacy. Easy access on one floor with plenty of room to feel at home. Much quieter than the places closer to town and yet still close enough to be relatively convenient. (You will need a car.) They took special care to provide a low carb breakfast to fit our needs. Their efforts shine through via the top notch cleanliness and quality of linens and amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WmLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I have been on an extended road trip, traveling along the coast from Southern California to Canada. Our stay with Bob and Nancy at the Amber Lights in Port Townsend was a pleasant and welcome relief from the traditional hotels along the way. Bob and Nancy are very personable and want their guests to feel very much at home. They have gone out of their way to provide comfortable and thoughtfully equipped rooms, and they are very helpful and accommodating. Breakfasts were prepared with care and consideration to any special needs. We enjoyed the time we spent with this delightful couple.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47Juicyfruitgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a great place for an overnight or extended stay visit. Amber Lights is spotless, well appointed, charming, quiet and relaxing. Bob and Nancy have made this haven a perfect destination. There careful attention to detail is evident. The décor is simple, comfortable and the living spaces quite spacious. The bedrooms are very private. Even though they open directly onto the common space, they have an 'extra' entry that gives the feeling of being away from the rest of the house. We were with another couple and we were able to pretty much have the space to ourselves which added the comfort of not being rushed to get on our way.They do not have a minimum night stay and that was convenient for this particular trip. We are not typically the bed and breakfast type as we are late sleepers when out of town; however it was easy to get up to enjoy the lovely homemade breakfast. We didn't have a chance to stop and enjoy the lovely deck, or the immense library beckoning us to linger; but do look forward to doing that next time. Bob and Nancy are very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and have an entire library of brochures and pamphlets available for guests. They are extremely accommodating from dietary needs and are great conversationalists. This little haven is quite comfortable, affordable and by the number of calls received while we were there, already in great demand!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karensue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I had a lovely three-night stay at Amber Lights. Nancy and Bob were charming hosts, and made sure we had everything that we needed for a relaxing getaway. Breakfast was absolutely delicious each morning, beautifully served, and Nancy cheerfully insisted that we let her take care of clearing the dishes away. We enjoyed sitting on the back deck to read in the sunshine one afternoon, and the comfortable bedroom and spotless bathroom were better than a hotel. Nancy and Bob were eager to give us tips about town, and were happy to learn from us about the Marine Science Center, which we loved visiting. Definitely a great place to stay, just a short drive outside Port Townsend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gold Room, which was just off the living/dining room, and had windows facing the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraS055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We needed a 1 night stay over on our way back to Vancouver,BC and Bob and Nancy were one of the only hosts in Port Townsend who welcomed us. Most were only interested in minimum 2 night stays. That was the beginning of a very enjoyable stay at their home where every thing you could think of to accommodate your guests has been provided. Comfortable king size beds are a must so 5 stars for that. Clean, beautifully furnished and quiet for a perfect nights sleep plus a breakfast that was delicious made this a 5 star stay for us! Bob and Nancy were the perfect hosts. Chatted and visited but also gave you privacy. We would not hesitate to go back when we are in the area again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent, each with their own bathroom. One was as nice as the other. We picked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B so we had no idea what to expect. Amber Lights is located less than 10 minutes outside of Port Townsend which I appreciated not being right in the middle of the town. The modern style building had a nice feel to it and sits back away from the highway in a clearing surrounded by tall trees. The sound of the occasional passing vehicle could be heard but it did not bother us at all. Inside the home had a nice up to date feel and is decorated with a flourish of nice touches. The living areas had lots of character form the Civil War themed chess set to the exquisite collection of eggs. The decent sized reading library would be great for anyone who wanted to just relax in one of the comfortable chairs, or to relax on the wood deck surrounded by trees and the sounds of birds.

We stayed in the Green room which is also ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) approved. The room was comfortably furnished with an extremely comfortable bed and a small but efficiently designed bathroom. We slept with the windows open and enjoy listening to the sound of wind through the trees and even the occasional owl hooting.

The breakfasts were delicious and the added convenience of a Keurig coffee maker with an ample selection of coffee brews made for a delightful morning. Breakfasts are normally server at 8:30, but the proprietors made an exception for us as we were going whale watching and needed to eat a little earlier. Nancy and Bob were super friendly and accommodating, often engaging with us and making us feel like we were visiting a relative rather than staying in a B&B.

For our first B&B, amber Lights set an extremely high bar and it will be difficult to stay at another &B without comparing it to this little gem outside of Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tratliff73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
4.8 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
366 reviews
3.2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
414 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
170 reviews
3.5 mi away
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
#9 of 16 in Port Townsend
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lights B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lights B & B

Address: 4042 Hastings Ave W, Port Townsend, WA 98368-9294
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: £96 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Lights B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Ebookers so you can book your Amber Lights B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing