We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fountain Cafe

The Fountain Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Although this is a rather small restaurant in an area where there several other places close by, this one stands out for its outstanding service and cute decor. The menu is somewhat limited, however they will make modifications to entrees if you have dietary or personal issues that need to be addressed. We had an outstanding meal, my wife asking that they reduce the amount of garlic used in a seafood entree; I needed a soft, easy to chew entree due to some recent oral surgery. Both entrees were delicious. And the service was great. We will have to return next time we are in Port Townsend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    122
    40
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Fountain Cafe is a very small restaurant (more than a "cafe" in my mind) very conveniently located in the waterfront section of Port Townsend. We ate there on a night when the place was full and were very pleased with the quality if both the food and service. The pan fried oysters starter was excellent. The Cioppino had a very good selection if local seafood in a naively seasoned tomato base. The assortment of craft beer was small, but interesting. In summary, the Fountain is highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bicwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

While in Port Townsend for a couple of days my wife and I were trying local eateries looking for good dining experiences. The Fountain Café came through with flying colors. We were there for a late Monday dinner and we both opted for a New York steak listed on their Specials board. Both steaks were cooked perfectly and tasty as could be, complimented by wonderful sides of garlic mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. The restaurant itself is small and cozy, but comfortable and inviting. The service was attentive when needed, but allowing us the chance to enjoy the meal and the ambiance. I was pleased to see Port on the dessert menu, opting for that while my wife chose their gingerbread cake, which she shared with me and was delicious. The Fountain Café is a certain "Must Eat" on our next Port Townsend visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dab606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food to Die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have traveled all over this great nation and I have to say I have NEVER had a better fettuccine then I have had at the fountain. Such a quaint feeling in its small size, makes you feel at home. Great place to eat...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ELOY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been coming to The Fountain Cafe for years and it continues to be our favorite place. Really great fresh food and not too pricey. We can walk there from A Bungalow, so don't have to deal with parking. Go early though, as there are only a few tables!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NWfunfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing