We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Review of Lanza's Ristorante

Lanza's Ristorante
Ranked #19 of 98 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had supper here on a cold, windy weekday in April and the food and atmosphere warmed us immediately. The staff was friendly and helpful. Though it was a Thursday evening, the restaurant filled quickly. We were glad we got in without a reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bap2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    42
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
692 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Old style average”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The ambience at Lanzas is simple old fashioned Italian minus the plastic grapes and Chianti bottles with candles. There is a piano player and the service is good. The food, however is average in every way. I had spaghetti with meat balls. The tomato sauce was acidic and the meat balls were best described as meat by-product balls. The salad was underwhelming. All in all, the price seemed reasonable given the quality of the food.

Helpful?
3 Thank AngusDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend WA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lotsa pasta - not so much meat!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This family-owned restaurant's ambience is classic old-style Italian - walls painted red, lots of candlelight, family photos on the walls - so quite charming. There was even live piano music.

That said, the food left a lot to be desired. The salad - which is included with the entrée - was good with fresh crispy veggies and a nice dressing. However, my pasta main - which was described as penne with mushrooms, sausage and spinach - was about 98% pasta, with perhaps half a sausage link sliced into it, 2 cremini mushrooms, and a few spinach leaves When a restaurant skimps on the more expensive ingredients, to me it shows a lack of regard for its customers. I would rather be charged more and get an ample helping of ALL of the described ingredients. The best part of the meal was the spumoni ice cream dessert -the helping was substantial and there had been no skimping on the ingredients - it was rich and delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This Italian family does a great job with real Italian food. I love the feel of this place, and people frequent this place for all kinds of occasions. The pizzas are great for take-out too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PortTownsendtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Difficult to Review”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I find Lanza's difficult to review because there was a lot that we liked and a lot that we didn't. We arrived with 7:15 reservations and had to wait for 30 minutes to get our table. There was another couple who arrived after us and went through the same ordeal. However, the manager was very apologetic and friendly. He even brought us each a glass of very good wine and provided a comped appetizer which was on our table when we arrived. The service for the rest of the evening could not have been better. Even outstanding.

As for the ambiance, once again pluses and minuses. There was a piano player who provided beautiful background music. A real plus because the restaurant was very crowded and noisy with conversation. The place had a romantic touch but was decorated in a lot of eclectic decorations -- lamps, vases, nic-nacs for instance. There were little white Christmas lights (which I hate) strung everywhere. And little paper hearts (for Valentine's Day) hung all over the place. I'd have to describe the interior as eclectic-tacky-romantic. If that makes any sense.

Now for the food. We ordered the Chicken Marsala and the lasagna. They were nothing like either of us had ever seen. We both were very familiar with these dishes and the preparation of these was very unusual. Both dishes were swimming in a very heavy tomato creme sauce. The Marsala had no taste of Marsala at all. Just heavy tomato creme. The spaghetti in the chicken dish was practically hidden by the orange sauce. We both ate our entrees but agreed that we would not try them again. Really weird preparation. I think Lanza's would do well to go back to more traditional prep of these dishes. I have to assume that all the specialties are similar. We did have a very good bottle of wine at a reasonable price.

The tab was reasonable for the experience. Under $70 for the two of us including a bottle of wine.

I do not think we will return to Lanza's. However, some people must love the place because it was indeed packed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanza's Ristorante also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Lanza's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing