We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight at the Waterstreet”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waterstreet Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Had a nice overnight stay at the Waterstreet Hotel early in January. Looked at the hotel website and printed a discount coupon for our room. Price, including tax, was $43.06. As it is the off-season, there were plenty of rooms available all over town, but I doubt any were this reasonable. The decor was fine by me, as I like old-fashioned but fun furnishings. Not stuffy, but comfortable. True, there are air drafts around the windows, but this is an 1889 building! I found the bathrooms clean and the stairs gave me some exercise. It wasn't noisy the night we stayed, on the 2nd floor. The lady at the front desk was very nice, and we enjoyed the hotel. Hubqueen.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hubqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2007

My brother & I needed a place to stay and the reviews here looked good, so we dropped in for a night. Unfortunately, we found out then that the only rooms with a view are called the Waterview Suites ($135 in Sept 07), but they were a little too high for our budget. The only other room with 2 beds had no view, which is one of the two things we wanted (2 beds & a view). We also found the front desk help to be a downright nasty woman. It wasn't busy at all, but she clearly was not interested in even answering our questions except with insults to my intelligence, as if my questions were stupid. There's no way I'll stay at a place that treats me badly cuz it's usually all downhill from there, so we moved on. It looked like street traffic could get a little noisy, as it's located at the confluence of two busy streets & just near a ferry dock.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank FreeWithPantsOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

If you like an atmospheric, historic hotel in the heart of an old downtown walking district filled with great galleries and restaurants, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are huge (our five year old loved having space to play) and have that early 1900s ambiance. We had a corner room with many windows that was delightful. While not highly decorated, it was very tasteful and relaxing. The beds were comfortable. We chose a room without a private bath (it was the only vacant room with two queen beds) but the bath was just outside our room and we never saw or heard anyone else using it. The room did have a sink. It was about half the price of rooms with private baths. There is no elevator and given the high ceilings, it is quite a climb up the stairs. The hotel is in a perfect location, with public parking behind the hotel, and it is right on the waterfront. We ate at the restaurant on the main floor which had great ambiance and good food and service. The hotel lobby has a small gallery of attractive Northwest Native American crafts. The owner is very personable. We were extremely satisfied with this hotel, but it's not for those that want a modern or recently refurbished hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2007

Stayed on 3rd floor in room with mutiple beds and kitchenette. Agree stairs were a bit 'daunting' as others have said. Especially after a few beers in the bar below. Noise was not a problem, even on Friday and Saturday night while band played below. Second floor might be a bit louder. Very clean bright rooms with wonderful views. Lack of phones in rooms was offset by free WiFi. All in all, we enjoyed our stay immensely and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pac_nw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2007

My boyfriend and I booked the third floor room with a view of the water. The view was amazing- we had a ‘private’ balcony that ran the width of the building and large windows on two sides of the large room. The highlight was sitting on the balcony in the swing and watching the boats, birds and ferry. The room also has a gas stove for heat which was also a big plus.

The furnishings were sadly on the shabbier side of shabby chic- it looks like garage sale leftovers supplied most of the pieces.

The noise complaints are valid and fall into two categories- Harley bikes revving their engines in the street by the inn and the patrons from the restaurant below.

The alarming thing that happened on our stay is that at about 2:00 in the morning, as we were sitting up in bed looking out onto our private balcony at enjoying the view of the water under moonlight (door was open since it was our ‘private’ balcony) a man crept by outside our door! He then came back into view of the door and actually stuck his head into the room, apparently not realizing that we were awake. My boyfriend yelled at him (while I was screaming in fear) to leave and that he shouldn’t be out there. The guy took off, but it really startled us and made us realize that he had likely been planning on robbing a couple of tourists. The balcony is posted ‘private’, but from what we could tell he managed to get up the fire escape or enter from the floor below us- really creepy.

Don’t stay here. The staff are very nice (we really liked the front desk lady), but you would be better off spending more money for something more upscale and safe.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JessicaInSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2006

My Husband and I stayed in one of the large suites on the 3rd floor of this Wonderful, old, hotel. We found the climb up 3 flights of stairs a bit daunting, but, worth it once we arrived in our VERY spacious room with a nice kitchen and the most extraordinary view!!

The king-sized bed we used (there were two extra beds) was very comfortable, the room was quiet, lots of sunshine and windows! Our private deck was HUGE! (Room 15) There was a porch swing where we had our morning coffee and could enjoy panoramic views of the harbor and all it's activities. Bring field glasses! One morning we saw a Mama Racoon with her babies feasting on Octopus!
The drawbacks, besides the stairs were the lack of parking and the small sink in the bathroom. Overall, the view and the charm of this lovely room more than made up for them. Everyone was friendly and helpful and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Liallia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2006

We stayed in the two room suite of this old hotel on January 30th, 2006. It did not bother us to walk three long flights of stairs to the generous sized rooms, but the rooms were unheated. You could fit a paperback in the gap between the window and the wall and the wind blew threw it all night. When we tried to locate someone to explane where the heat was going to come from, no one was available. We spent the night under every blanket we could find, with the burners on the stove going full blast. The next day the daughter in law of the owner, who was out of town, told us the thermostat in our room operated the heat in the adjoining room. She said she would bring in heaters for us that day. When we returned we found two heaters the size of small toasters. It was not the AAA aproved hotel we expected.

16  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterstreet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterstreet Hotel

Address: 635 Water St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5726
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing