We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Things Done Right!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, WA
1 review
“The Little Things Done Right!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It is not clear to first-time travelers in Port Townsend that "uptown" and "downtown" are separated by a steep bluff. As most of the action happens near the waterfront in the form of the museum, the library, and the plethora of shops and restaurants, this B&B is perfectly located within a five minute easy walk to downtown, but without the hectic rush of traffic, parking issues and crowds.

The historic building itself is eclectic and warm with antique furnishings, relevant art pieces and useful gadgets to help enhance the shoreline experience. The owner immediately gave us the choice to upgrade to the Master Suite and entrusted us to a walk on the beach with the house dog "Captain". The room was clean and comfortable with hardwood floors and highlighted by a waterfront sunset. After dark, we lounged in the downstairs living room sipping wine on a comfy couch by the warm hearth and listening to the tide retreat.

Pro's-
Location
The owners and dog
Comfort
The natural garden
Wireless internet

Con's-
The Puget Sound April Weather

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediaconsultant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    26
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
204
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We arrived to the warmest welcome by Gail (owner). The house is full of charm and a treasure chest of nick naks, paintings, beautiful and comforable furniture. Our room and bathroom where done in the style of the house back in the day. Sweet comforter on the bed. Very comfortable mattress. Just enough space to move around the room and run into each other to exchange a hug or two. The breakfast was perfect. Not too much food. The tables were spaced so that if you wanted to be alone you could be, but of course talking with the rest of the guests is all part of the experience of a B & B. We are going to go back and will recommend it to everyone we see
Anne Marie and Carlos

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Went to Port Townsend for a much-needed girl’s get-away weekend and to celebrate one of our birthdays. What a fabulous surprise to walk into the charming Commander's Beach House. Jim and Gail (owners) are wonderful hosts. We couldn’t have asked for anything more. They truly were a sincerely gracious couple that we immediately loved – and what a treat to meet Capt Cutter. It is in such a great location on the beach and close to town, great atmosphere, and clean/lovely home. An enjoyable weekend with good friends, cozy/loving/relaxing environment, and great food…..it was bliss. Thanks so much! Highly recommend your stay (well…unless it conflicts with any of our return plans). Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaSilverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have been coming to the town of Port Townsend,WA since I was a kid and know some of it's charm and small town appeal. But the one night my wife and I spent in The Commanders Beach house was truly memorable. Neither of us had ever stayed in a bed and breakfast before so we weren't totally sure how this would go. The house is in a perfect location set directly on the waters edge, beautiful views...would have been even more spectacular in the summer time. Jim and Gale are very welcoming and friendly, very knowledgeable about goings on within Port Townsend. My wife and I easily made the short walk downtown to catch a movie at the Rose theater (awesome). Went underground Port Townsend for a drink and then the short walk back to "our" beach house. The room was super cozy and warm...using oldtime steam registers for heat it was far too warm with the windows closed. So we opened the window on the beach side (under advisement from Jim & Gale) and the room was more than comfortable...even inthe dead of winter!! Plus, with the window open...we got the ambiance of the ocean noises...birds, waves crashing, the breeze...it was very calming and somewhat therapeutic!! I would recommend this little house on the beach to anyone, like a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Island view room, two windows with awesome views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I over-nighted at the Commander's Beach House in January, 2012 and found the accommodations to be great. The room was bright, clean and toasty-warm. The breakfast was yummy and the owners most congenial. I'd stay there again. It's right on the waterfront and very close to the downtown area.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I will for sure return to this wonderful get-a-way! Very homey vibe. Jim & Gale are wonderful hosts. The place was clean, warm and in a beautiful setting. You can hear the sound of waves from anywhere in the house...which I loved!

Room Tip: I loved the Island View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Very cozy; welcoming hosts; within easy walking distance of town and excellent views. Loved "Captain Cutter". Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staylor3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#9 of 11 in Port Townsend
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Property: The Commander's Beach House
Address: 400 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5632
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing