We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance and Relaxation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Our 2nd visit was even more memorable than our first!

Gail and Jim are as charming as their B&B...Jim's sense of humor is nearly as wonderful as Gail's scones! We would recommend the Commanders Beach house and plan on returning in the Summer ourselves. You cannot find the same homey experience in any hotel stay...Thank you again for a lovely time...See you soon!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DonnaDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for The Commander's Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 331 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2007

Fortunately, my wife & I found this gem during high season. It really is as nice as their website makes it seem (waterfront, quaint, historic). Like others, we checked in, had a glass of wine (hot tea later), sat in the backyard grass in adirondack chairs enjoying the ocean and mountains beyond. We walked along the beach to a nice park down the way.

The room (we were in the schooner room) was small, but nice and had a nice stairway landing and bath area. The cool morning ocean through the windows was great!
The breakfast on the patio overlooking the water was outstanding, several nice plates offered (fruit, then others, etc).

The only minor weakness you'll have to overlook is that to get to the beach house, you have to go through a big waterfront RV camping spot. Weird at first, but just quirky and really not a big deal. Once you're at the house, you don't realize the big RVs next door.

It is also walkable to the Victorian downtown district. I'll try to post some pictures later.

Highly recommended for Port Townsend.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2007

My husband and I have stayed at Commander's Beach House twice now, and both times have had a wonderful time. We started with a walk on the beach with a complimentary glass of wine, and then were treated to comfy beds and surroundings with the waves lulling us to sleep. Breakfast in the morning was spectacular. We live locally and this is one of our favorite get aways.... you can't go wrong staying at the Commanders Beach house and you are guarenteed not to be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank CLARKBARTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

The Commander's Beach House is an absolutely charming B&B. We spent three nights there in March, off-season, a bit cloudy and cold, but the warmth at the Beach House more than compensated for the weather. The location is spectacular, right on the beach, with views of the Cascades when the clouds part. You're only a couple of short blocks from the beautifully restored Victorian downtown. The rooms are comfortable, spotless, and nicely decorated, but the hosts, Gail and Jim, are the real drawing card. Their warmth, hospitality and sense of humor made our stay there one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeagullInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comtega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
268 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Address: 400 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5632
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: £100 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing