We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“commanders beach house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Commander's Beach House
Ranked #2 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We reserved two rooms at the Commanders Beach House 2 months in advance and were excited to have two days exploring the Olympic rain forest. On arrival we discovered that the beautiful beach house was adjacent to an RV park set on a dirt parking lot. The owners Jim and Gayle we cordial and helped us settle in, even making a reservation for that nights dinner at Fins (food was average and overpriced) The view from the back porch was beautiful, the smell of cresote was very strong. The breakfasts were average at best, no juice and sporadic coffee. We did enjoy how close the B&B was to downtown, but the area was unsightly, not the B&B's fault. We had a shared bathroom, done the hall. This is one amenity that anyone considering the Beach House should consider, it was very small with no counter space. Having stayed at numerous B&B's over the years, Commanders Beach House would be on the "B" list, not one we would return to, but enjoyed the Olympic Peninsula very much. Hurricane Ridge is a "must see" for everyone!

Room Tip: do not get the Sunflower room. It has no view and shares a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

You will receive wonderful care and a wonderful breakfast during your stay in a well maintained and Historical house. The location is perfect with a commanding view of the entrance to Puget Sound. The Beach House is located within walking distance of the center of the Port Townsend historical district.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Commander's Beach House more than at any other B&B; our hosts were relaxed, helpful and engaging. The view was one I will always treasure and carry with me. An overall great value and experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Thanks to Gail & Jim and Captain Cutter (arf, arf) we had an enjoyable stay in Port Townsend, Washington. The Lighthouse Suite was bright, homey with quilts and airy, and our 9 yr. old had his own room. Jason had a great time on the beach - checking out the birds, shells, and walks toward the lighthouse. And the gourmet breakfasts! You outdid yourselves with the streusel french toast! Thanks for the great stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Beautiful room, comfortable bed, great location, and friendly and helpful hosts. The rooms and the common areas were very clean and nicely decorated. the breakfast was delicious and just right. Our stay with Jim and Gail was memorable. They were very accommodating to our arrival and departure times and treated us like extra special guests on our anniversary stay. Thanks again - Steve and Joy

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at commanders beach house for an entire week...... Gail and jim were wonderful hosts. I was relaxed, enjoyed a gourmet breakfast, coffee was great, the beach was amazing and right out the door!! It was so beautiful I plan going back next month...thanks Gail and jim
Mindylou P

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paresimindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was our second time to stay at this wonderful B&B - very welcoming hosts - comfortable room with nice bathroom, and incredibly amazing breakfasts. The location is right on the beach with great views and easy access to walk the beach or into town. We will certainly choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
269 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander's Beach House

Address: 400 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5632
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: £102 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander's Beach House is the only bed and breakfast that is located right on the water in downtown Port Townsend. You can walk on the beach to Fort Worden or easily stroll three blocks along the water front to all of the downtown shops and restaurants. Three of our rooms face the water and have private baths. Our fourth room faces the garden and has a shared bath located inside of the room. You can enjoy views of Admiralty Inlet, Mt. Baker, Whidbey Island, all of the boats and ships that go into Seattle, as well as vintage wooden schooners and yawls. Eagles, herons, otters and seals are frequently seen by our guests. A full sit down gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables or on our veranda, weather permitting. Come fall asleep lulled by the sounds of the sea and "relax and solve nothing"! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing