We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it, seriously don't!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Townsend Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port Townsend Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it, seriously don't!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

They close the pool in the mornings so don't plan on your kids swimming before you checkout!!!

The front desk service is as bad as it's rooms! We had been taking our kids to this hotels for a few years and suffered through the moldy, unsanitary and smelly rooms so that kids could swim at the pool. We've decided it's no longer safe to sleep in the rooms with our kids for health reasons and encourage parents to not bring children to this hotel as mold is worse than ever.

If that's not enough to keep you away, you should be warned about the front desk representatives. First they put our family of 4 in room with 1 queen and 1 twin bed. Asked for a cot or something but said they couldn't help...well my son fell off the bed and got hurt that night. Then the next morning I witnessed the front desk person discriminating against an elderly handicap man. He said all the rooms were booked so he had to leave...there were plenty of open rooms on the main floor that night. The final morning we got the kids ready to go swimming but they had locked the door for "cleaning" but nobody was cleaning it. Again the front desk topped themselves by yelling with profanity at my wife and 4 & 6 year old for trying to get in during open swim hours.

If checkout is at 12 and check in is at 4...a normal motel would clean the pool during those 4 hours. The only reason we suffered that extra night was for the pool but that didn't happen.

We love Port Townsend but this place is the worst and not worth the risk for just a pool that they close down whenever they feel like it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    31
    22
    32
See reviews for
34
41
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I love the historical hotels of PT, but for my kids they offer little entertainment. The Port Townsend Inn has a wonderful indoor pool and hot tub, with a sun bathing deck and green space. The hotel is also located walking distance to town. The rooms are pretty bare bones, in serious need of updates, but they aren't horrible. For the price, in PT,this hotel is a pretty good deal. For us, it is worth the price to get off the boat for the night and enjoy the pool! From the 2nd floor there are good water views. Rooms have mini fridge, coffee maker,microwave and WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Room was reasonably nice. The internet was pretty useless. Woke up at 2:30am and thought I was in a septic tank. At first I thought the sewer system had backed up and flooded the bathroom. After walking outside expecting to get a breath of fresh air I discovered that it was severely worse outside. The wind was blowing from the previously unknown to me paper mill. If you've never been down wind of a paper mill, trust me, you never ever want to be down wind of a paper mill. At 2:30 am I didn't have much to work with to attempt to overpower the stench. A book of matches burned and the smoke wafted around the room covered it up sufficiently that I could go back to sleep after about an hour. I can't imagine why anybody would live in a place where the stench of a paper mill (also known as pulp mill) comes around several times a month. I think there should be a warning on all lodging establishments in Port Townsend. Can you imagine trying to eat in a restaurant that smells like a leaking sewer system?

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere in Port Townsend. You've been warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Townsend hotels

Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
287 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Okay,
I stayed at the Port Townsend Inn in June 2014, the bedroom was pretty clean. The bathroom was reasonably clean. But the story starts when you turn on the shower and little black beetle like bugs pop out of the black holes around shower, room 22. I go in to shower come out and there are 18 black beetles running around. Pretty funny. We made a game how many beetles would come out of the black area around the shower, funny. Got over that. I am now home and have athletes foot, thanks Port Townsend Inn!

Room Tip: Don't stay at room 22!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderer0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Port Townsend Inn had the best price for my budget. It isn't far from town but not within walking distance for me. The bay is right across the street and the view from the 2nd floor was lovely. There is an indoor pool and hot tub but I didn't have time to enjoy them, unfortunately.
The room was clean and functional. But...they really could use better locks on the door. A push button on the knob was the only way to lock the door. Although the hardware was there for a chain lock, part of it was missing: the chain. Again, the management were very friendly and pleasant. I would go back again, and ask for a room with a better lock (although PT is a safe town).

Room Tip: Upper deck rooms have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivianSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The basics: Two floors, no elevator, outside access, Likely 1960's or 1970's construction. Stairs to upper floor are long, straight and uncovered.

Check-in was courteous and efficient. Keys were provided for the room and the pool house. Pool towels are available at the desk.

We stayed in a lower floor King room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but everything else about the room was dated, worn or shaky. The furniture is old and well-used. The chair is ready for a yard sale.

The bedding was clean, though our bedspread had old cigarette burns in it (currently a non-smoking motel).

Closet space is minimal. No iron or ironing board.

There is a refrigerator and microwave.

The bathroom is SMALL. The shower, toilet and small vanity sink are in the same small room that can handle one person only. Toiletries are on a shelf above the toilet. The towels are quite small and thin. The vent fan was quite noisy.

The TV is an older box model but had an excellent, though confusing, choice of channels.

The room was quite chilly, Heating is through a wall mounted resistance heater. It warms the room quickly, but you do have to fiddle with it to get a maintainable room temperature.

Although the facility appeared to be fully booked on the Saturday we were there, it was quiet.

While we were in need to get on the road early in the morning to catch a ferry and did not use the free breakfast, it appeared to be limited to pastries, juice and coffee only. McDonalds is just up the street.

As a less expensive choice in the area, this is fine. It may be different during tourist season, but it suited our immediate needs just fine.

Room Tip: For those with limited mobility, ask for a ground floor room. The long, uncovered stairs could be ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I82X73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Considering the price of accommodation in port Townsend this place is priced ok. The rooms are dated but comfortable, it's a short walk to town for dinner or breakfast ( skip the crappy free breakfast and go to sweet Laurent instead).

If you're not feeling fancy this place will do

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Toofones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
0.3 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sequim Bay Lodge
Sequim Bay Lodge
#8 of 9 in Sequim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aladdin Motor Inn
Aladdin Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Townsend Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Townsend Inn

Property: Port Townsend Inn
Address: 2020 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-6907
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Townsend Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Townsend Inn offers an indoor swimming pool and hot tub (the only one in Port Townsend!), free Wi-Fi, free Continental Breakfast, free parking, and wonderful views of the Olympic Mountains and Puget Sound. All rooms come fully equipped with a refrigerator, microwave oven, cable TV and telephone (free local calls!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Port Townsend Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Townsend Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing