We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet outside, elegant but noisy inside”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ann Starrett Mansion Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Reviewed 2 May 2013

In a tranquil neighborhood, beautifully landscaped and elegantly appointed, this old house is beautiful to look at, if a little down at the heel, and the rates are quiet reasonable. The walls are sadly thin, and we were barraged by conversations in two of the adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: "Garden view" are the least expensive and quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KayRynerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and were disappointed. I guess you get what you pay for. The hotel was really in need of a make over. The property is up for sale and it seemed that the owners didn't want to put any more money into it prior to a sale. The furniture was in need of reupholstering, rather dirty. Also, it is an old home with small bathrooms, beds and poor lighting. Also, there were no tv's in the rooms, but they do advertise that. Hopefully new owners will put some money into it, update it and add some lively charm to an eclectic old home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in the gables room #10 on July 14 & 15, 2012. Having seen many of the reviews on this site, we were concerned about what we might find in this Mansion. We planned our trip a little close to our departing date and this location was one of the few available.
When we arrived it was a very pleasant surprise to be greeted by the kind and gracious manager. He was eager to help in any questions or concerns we had. He showed us up to our room which was very lovely and quite large, complete with two beds. For taller folks, the ceilings were a bit low around the master bed area and in stumbling to the bathroom in the middle of the night you can catch your head right on the sloping ceiling. In the bathroom there was a removable shower head but the ceiling once again proves to be difficult. You cannot stand but have to crouch or sit in the tub. This isn't too bad really, you're on vacation, you should relax and take it easy with a bath.
The cons that are mentioned above are very minimal but I mention them to be thorough.

This was a great place and feel its general low scores are undeserved. Great host, great room, and so close to downtown Port Townsend. You can't go wrong with this location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Ann Starrett Mansion in Port Townsend, Washington is a marvelous example of Victorian architecture from the turn of the century. The history behind the house is equal to its magnificent interior which features a spiral staircase honed by local shipbuilders of that era. Our room was nicely appointed and clean. There are views of the sound. Bathtub was in a corner of the room with a small screen for privacy. Toilet is in a miniscule closet so it's a tad challenging to maneuver in there no matter what you're doing. The Manager is a walking talking encyclopedia of information, so take advantage of his expertise.
One drawback. They give you a coffee pot....but it has three prongs and due to the age of the building there are no outlets useable. EXCEPT for the one above the tiny sink so coffee must be made in the sink. I suspect they'll correct this in the near future once it's brought to their attention. The A.S. Mansion is no longer a full fledged B and B so there is no breakfast in the morning. No TV, which is a good thing.

We'll stay at the Ann Starrett Mansion again. We highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55ReenieAnne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed in the Garden room on July 8 and 9. We made a last minute reservation and were able to get a room. The Garden room is on the ground floor, was nicely decorated, quiet and clean. Although we had a car, you could walk to downtown if you wanted. The night manager was very nice and helpful with dinner reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

LOVED IT. We did not at all have an experience similar to those who have written negative reviews. In fact, we were prepared for the worst after reading some of the reviews...and were completely confused by them after our stay. We stayed in the Gables Suite and had a lovely time. We felt welcome, the mansion was clean and orderly, and the price was well under what we thought they could have charged us. If you need to be pampered and waited on, I can see how this place wouldn't meet your needs...but if you are a traveler who appreciates unique and interesting places, comfort, and affordable prices, this is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nevjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I chose the Ann Starrett because I have a love of Victorian houses.....and it definitely fits the bill....the architecture is breathtaking......Ann must have been quite a lady to have a home like this as a gift......however to stay in it now leaves many things to be desired. The Innkeeper was very nice on the phone and even had to stay late as our ferry did not come in until late, however after greeting us and filling us in on details we never saw him again.....I was so hopeful there would be someone to give us further information and a tour of this beautiful home......The home itself needs much love and care......so much beauty is there but so sad to see the lack of carry through with the furnishings, etc.....even the plants wanted to depart if given the chance.......we were in Ann's room which is decorated with an assortment.....Can hardly believe Ann would have wanted those ugly fabrics.....again so sad since so many possibilities......obviously just not enough money and love to keep this old beauty going......I realize in Ann's day bathrooms were probably not there....however I think they installed it in a really small closet and you certainly couldn't turn around in there.....plus the flushing on the toilet was a mystery......the innkeeper told us to hold the handle down until it started to work....well that certainly brought fits of laughter all night ......I thought for sure we would be running to the closest gas station or needing waders in the morning.
This definitely is a historic home but not one I would recommend for overnight .....as someone else said, "the For Sale Sign should have been the give away"......pray that someone buys this beauty and restores her to what she deserves!

Room Tip: Balcony is old but good view from Ann's Room....would love to have viewed some of the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Umatillapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
302 reviews
1 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann Starrett Mansion Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Starrett Mansion Boutique Hotel

Address: 744 Clay St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5808
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range: £72 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing