We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing & Expen$ive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing & Expen$ive”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel is a former Holiday Inn Express that has recently been converted to a GuestHouse Inn. My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012. Although the property and room were clean, the whole place could use some updating, including some soundproofing. We were located in a king-bed room with jacuzzi tub on the ground floor. We had a difficult time sleeping due to the sounds coming from the rooms above us. We could hear every step anyone made, the sounds of their tv, air conditioner, tub filling with water, shower running, toilets flushing ... we may as well been in the room with them.The jacuzzi tub we had was very dated and noisy. The bed was soft and the carpets worn. We also found no where to sit when waiting outside for our ride. No bench to be found anywhere. The free breakfast was okay, but they frequently ran out of food items. We found the price to stay here was way too high for the amenities provided, so we will NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, stay on the top floor to avoid hearing noises from those above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicahKim, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
I'm so sorry you had a dissapointing stay. I appreciate all comments by guests, good or bad.... Reviews from guests are a true gauge for an excellent hotel service we are striving for everyday! Again, sorry you had lots of noise issues as hotel was very busy during your visit with multiple groups in house and unfortunately the jetted tubs do make noise when its on. However, we do have restictions on them as guests are not allowed to use the jetted tubs past 10pm so hopefully that wasn't the case.
Rates in Summer does increase quite a bit, especially the weekends in Summer, due to multiple events in the area so please try us again in the offseason for a great value at our hotel!
As far as any seating areas outside, our hotel does have a bench outside by the entrance, as well as many seating areas in our quaint courtyard. It's possible that some guests might not locate any seating area but we do in fact have a bench near the main entrance, but is just around the corner from the main lobby. Thank you for your input and we hope you can try us out again if you're in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    59
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
54
63
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Smash mouth was staying at the hotel when I was there. Very cool! Really excited to see some of the band members hanging out in the lobby at the same time... hotel was nicely updated and had great service from all staff members, will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feniereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed here last Wednesday and Thursday for Smash mouth concert but I had stayed here before for business. It was a Holiday Inn Express before but changed to Guest House Inn. They still provide the same good services and rooms are still clean but prices are lower. I would definitely stay here again next time.

Room Tip: just request the room type you want in advance. They were willing to work with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaH60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Hotel was a solid three star, not luxurious but worth the price. Room was nice but had two double beds, prefer queen size or larger. Room was nicely furnished, only minor complaint room not sound proof, could hear the person in the next room snoring. Breakfast was better than expected, only comment is prefer more fruit as only bananas were available. But again the hotel is worth the price paid. Took City bus to ferry from near hotel, worked out well, less than 5 minute walk to bus stop. (cheaper to take bus than to park at ferry terminal even for two of us)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alolewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Nice, updated, and clean hotel and room for reasonable price. Great, friendly service. Convenient location. Great cookies! Comfortable bed. Only thing that would make this room better is a more comfortable sitting chair - only chairs available were dinette chairs with no arms, and a desk chair.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachwatcher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I would definitely stay here again. I like to stay in rooms where you enter from inside the hotel and not outside, which this is. The staff at the front desk are so friendly and helpful. They always had fresh baked cookies and they offered a little stuffed toy to my 1 year old son. The room I booked was very small, but was all that was available as it was pretty packed when I went due to weddings and graduation events. Although it was small it fit me, my husband and our son. We had previously requested a crib and I wasn’t sure if they would have one, but they did. They even asked whether we had a boy or a girl so that when the crib arrived the sheets and blankets were blue. I thought that was special. The only problem I had in our room was the shower. You had to turn it opposite of what it says and the shower head sprayed a little funny so the pressure wasn’t the greatest. Not a big deal at all. The location is great. Not very far from the main street. They are close to a couple fast food joints and a nice restaurant across the street called Taprock Grill, which I really enjoyed. The FREE breakfast was wonderful. They had hot water for oatmeal, coffee, juices, bananas, yogurt, fresh hot cinnamon rolls, bagels, bread, muffins, croissants, pastries and English muffins. We stayed two nights and the first morning they had bacon and scrambled eggs, the second morning they had sausage patties and cheese omelets. The food was always refilled so you never had to wait long. In fact, the second day we were there the place was packed and some people were even taking trays of food up to their rooms. I thought there wouldn’t be much food left, but the staff kept it filled the whole time. I had no problems at all. I never heard any doors slamming, the only thing I heard was the icemaker, but that was because our room was right by it. Other than that, no problems. I would highly recommend staying at Guesthouse International.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank disue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here last weekend while driving up to Canada. I was initially looking for Holiday Inn as I didnt realize there have been a change. It's located in a convenient location, close to small shops and restaurant. We were greeted with very friendly front desk. Room was nice and clean, Parking was abundant and spacious. I did not expect to see a flat screen TV and free WiFi but it was definitely a luxury that I fully took advantage of. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jake1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulsbo
0.7 mi away
Poulsbo Inn
Poulsbo Inn
#2 of 2 in Poulsbo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Silverdale Beach Hotel
6.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Silverdale
Oxford Suites Silverdale
#1 of 6 in Silverdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bainbridge Island Suites
Best Western Plus Bainbridge Isl...
#1 of 5 in Bainbridge Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
12.1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 8 in Bremerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
11.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bremerton WA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo
Address: 19801 7th Ave NE, Poulsbo, WA 98370-6542 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Poulsbo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Poulsbo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulsbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in scenic downtown Poulsbo conveniently located from all dining, entertainment, and the marina. Minutes from Naval Base Kitsap/Bangor/Keyport, and the Pudget Sound Naval Shipyard. Within 10 minutes from Kingston, Silverdale, and Bainbridge Island. Enjoy our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast served daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn And Suites Poulsbo
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Poulsbo Hotel Poulsbo
Holiday Inn Poulsbo
Poulsbo Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing