We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong!”
Review of Burrata Bistro

Burrata Bistro
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I've now been twice and haven't been disappointed. Both of my dishes were a little on the rich side but I should have known better. The specials are always overwhelming and somewhat similar which would be my only complaint thus far. Great wine list.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leftovers4Lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    37
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Ludlow, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and intimate atmosphere with exceptional food and service”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This lovely little bistro is a perfect neighborhood spot that attracts the locals yet is a draw for those traveling on the Kitsap Peninsula. The menu is classic and creative with many specials available. Homemade pasta, fresh ingredients, nice wine selection and wonderful martinis. The servers are professional yet very friendly and accomodating. The owners are very present and will often treat the guests to port after a wonderful meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Must visit”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is an excellent restaurant! There is a great selection of food for everyone, including a gluten free menu. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable, and the service is second to none. I have allot of food sensitivities, and the waiters and cook were very helpful, understanding, and accommodating. Jon and Bethanee served me and were excellent. They made me feel comfortable (eating alone) and were very attentive.
Kim

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimssub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Absolutely fantastic - the food, the service, the fun. The server, Mark, was great and his attention to detail in serving us was equivelent to a five-star restaurant in the Big Cities of the world. Priced higher than some chains, but the food was superb.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Third Strike and You're OUT!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

On our first visit to the Burrata Bistro, right after it first opened, the food was excellent, but the noise level in the restaurant was so high that it interferred with our digestion. OK, I thought, so it was noisy because it was the new "hot spot" in a small town that is not noted for a plethora of fine dining establishments. The uniqueness should soon wear off. So, we waited for a few months for things to quiet down and tried it again. This time, the food was not nearly so good, but the noise level did not diminish by a decibal. Now we just had overpriced food that was degraded by horrendously noisy sound levels. We didn't dine there again for a couple of years.

Then, last Friday night we were invited there as part of a group of seven theater goers for a pre-play repast. Well, I thought the early booking (6 O'Clock) would at least ensure a more subdued atmosphere. Wrong! The place was about 3/4 full when we got there, and quickly filled nearly to capacity within a half an hour. The noise was so loud that you could not carry on a conversation with someone sitting more than one person away from you. The waiter (who was excellent, BTW) had to repeat his specials speal twice - once at each end of the table!

So, the noise levels were, if anything, louder than the first two times we were there! I think, aside from the lack of sound absorbing materials on the walls, the retangular shape and the particular dimensions of the room amplify the frequencies of the human voice. Whatever the root cause, the noise was agonizing, completely negating any attempts at conversation with members of the group, other than your immediate partners - where you are close enough to yell into their ear!

To boot, the food was mediocre. My Osso Bucco tasted like it had been prepared hours earlier and have been sitting in a warmer for hours. The tomato sauce was even dried out and practically tasteless, as was the polenta that was the foundation for the dish. My wife had the sea bass special (for $30) and the result was the same. The brown rice that formed the bed for her fish was soft and mushy and had no identifiable rice flavor or consistancy.

All in all, we were quite disappointed with our meal, as were 4 out of the 5 remaining guests in our party.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HansvilleHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burrata Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Burrata Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing