We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, but bad sangria”
Review of Paella Bar

Paella Bar
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok food, but bad sangria”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The tapas were fairly good with some better than others. The clams were tiny. Several dishes came with rich broth that called for bread which was not provided. The only bread available had to be ordered extra. The sangria was terrible. Don't order it unless they make big changes. To call the Sangria Hawaiin Punch would be a disservice to Hawaiin Punch. There was no fruit in the Sangria which came in a small pitcher filled to the top with ice and small glasses also filled to the top with ice. It tasted like a mix of some kind. My sister had dined at this restaurant several years ago and said that the Sangria was very good at that time, very similar to what one would be served in Spain. She was dining with us and was very disappointed that the Sangria was such poor quality, because we ordered it on her recommendation. Service was ok, but the waiter did nothing when we complained about the Sangria except to say that he would pass it on.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always an experience!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I love the tapas menu at Paella Bar. They also make really good margarita's. Best for Happy Hour! Make sure you get the stuffed dates wrapped in bacon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leftovers4Lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“After a hot day in Kitsap!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Can anyone believe it can get hot in Poulsbo,,well, it can!!!
Anyway,,,went here after a good day at work in the heat. Kinda exhausted, but was able to relax and have some tasty dishes. We had the smoked trout, calamari dish, some baked eggplant, vendi salad and sautéed spinach. And oh,,yes,,,some copa bread.
Our favorites were the eggplant and bread!!!!! The spinach was pretty good as well. The salad needs an acquired taste, but we will be back to try some more dishes on the menu. Prices were bearable and the service was great!!! (sorry, I don't know the official names of these dishes) (the music was a little loud)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank max55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The owner committed the worst restaurant no, no ever!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

I was celebrating my girlfriends birthday with her and catching up after a two month holiday. Although the food and wine was fine, I was astonished when the owner, who we had already chatted with as I am also a local business owner approached our table and asked us how long we planned on staying as we had already paid our bill and he had customers waiting....mind you, we arrived when there was no one in the restaurant, stayed for about 3 hrs and spent $50.00 during happy hour. Either way, I worked in the restaurant industry for years and you would never DREAM of doing this! Needless to say, I will take my business elsewhere next time

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find in Poulsbo!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Went with friends and our 2 year old daughter.
Great atmosphere! The staff was friendly and I thought it did have a nice family feel which makes it easier when you have kids.
The food was amazing. The cod fritters were outstanding. Also the Paella was wonderful with the fresh seafood. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yazziemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paella Bar also viewed

 

Been to Paella Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing