We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falls Short” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of That's A Some Italian Ristorante

That's A Some Italian Ristorante
Ranked #19 of 89 Restaurants in Poulsbo
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
238 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Falls Short”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

First the disclaimer - let me say we cook and eat Italian, we've eaten Italian in Chicago, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Italy. For most this is a good value and a good meal.
Pro's = the house (red) wine was much better than one would expect. the salad was fresh and delicious, the bread was a bit bland but good. Olive oil and balsamic is on the table. Serving sizes are generous. Service was good, staff was friendly. Prices reasonable. Good views of water across from parking. Definitely has an old style Italian charm to it.
Con's = The Chicken Parmesan was disappointing. The chicken was tough, as though it was frozen and not thawed properly before cooking therefore making the meat much tougher than it should have been. The pasta with Bolognese was heavy on wine, tasting burnt. Not sure of the meat that was used but there was no flavor of beef, pork perhaps because of the overpowering burnt wine taste. No taste of sage, or fresh crushed tomato. Now recipes can vary (southern vs. northern) but this was disappointing. I will add I have a very strong sense of smell and taste therefore much more sensitive to flavors than others.
If you have picky eaters and go with something basic it may be a good choice. Looks like the reviews they post upon entering are a bit old, this place can have great potential if they hit the rest of the marks, entrees fall short but we only had two and can not speak to the remainder of the menu. I will add we decided to forego dessert in anticipation it would be disappointing based on the entrees.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food; decent $; friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Lots of food choices, and it's delicious! Decent prices and friendly staff. Wonderful decor I won't describe here because you just need to go see it and experience it yourself. Great job, folks!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AviJennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainier, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Filling lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

After touring around Poulsbo, WA we went for a late lunch to this restaurant. We were politely greeted and seated immediately. For late afternoon, the place was fairly busy. It is located looking towards the water and the park. We had a great view from our table to enjoy the sunshine coming in, I was shocked at the size of my meatball sandwich served with some interesting pickled vegetables. There was no way I would be able to eat all of the dish. My husband had the Philly sandwich which was just as loaded. Great value and excellent flavor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doubleb342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Guess I made a bad choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had the Caramalized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza. I thought the combination sounded great. But it was so sweet ... not good. When leaving, I asked and found out that there is a lot of honey in the carmalized onions. That's not the way I would do it, and honey was not listed in the ingredients. So, while I might try a proper carmalized onion and gorgonzola pizza at home - not here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eaglekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everyone has a favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have been coming here for years, and love the familiar feel, warm greeting, good service, good food and good wine. I will say that we aren't really fair to the menu, because we each have favorites that we want to order every time -- roasted garlic appetizer, veal piccatta, spinach pesto pizza, linguine marinara, Anaheim chili penne, always a Caesar salad, spumoni ice cream if we aren't too full already. Every once in a while, we'll go to another place in Poulsbo, but always return to That's a Some Italian because it is the best. If you are looking for tiny portions, loud music, "artistic" food towers and pretentious presentation, don't come here. This is more like eating at grandma's, if your grandma was a good Italian cook and was happy to feed you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelh2o2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That's A Some Italian Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to That's A Some Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing