We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Sluys Poulsbo Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Poulsbo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is my go-to place for the best pastry and cookies on the peninsula. My husband's favorite is the muffins. I like to take visitors from out of town to shop here for the experience. Atmosphere is quaint and smells amazing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rona136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    79
    30
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Usually great, but really lacking this trip”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Every time we visit the Kitsap Peninsula we go to Sluy's. The place is usually amazing and has the best variety of pastries and baked goods. Wanting to beat the rush on Sunday morning I went there early. I saw online that they open at 4:30, so I thought by getting there at 7:30 I would have my choice of all the delicious, fresh pastries, but I was WRONG. Our favorites are the Viking Cups, which I was told would be ready in 2 hours. Are you kidding me? Come back in 2 hours for the bakery's most popular items? I then ordered two of the apple/nut rolls with their famous cream cheese frosting and one of the pull apart breads on display in the window. I was pretty disappointed in both options, I would bet they were left over from the day before.
One thing that has always bothered me about Sluy's is that they don't have any of the bakery items priced. You have no idea how much something is unless you ask, and it sucks to have to ask.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDad_PTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing ”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Weekly trip from the Harbor to get these donuts! Kids love the Viking & gingerbread man donut! All the donuts were delicious!!! See you next week for more! Would love to see a chocolate peanut butter donut!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Partyof5ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silverdale,wa
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always fun place”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

By fun, I mean that it's always fun to go in there and smell the awesome smells of fresh baked foods and hear the excited voices of the folks around you as they try to make their choices. Oh, did I say the folks around you? 'Cuz I always have a problem making my 2nd and 3rd choices. My 1st is always a couple of crispies which are flat pastries baked with cinnamon sugar till it kinda makes a glaze and when I get home, I spread them with butter for a real taste treat. They also bake REALLY bear claws with fig filling like they'really s'posed too. We try to hit there once a month or so.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

One word...chovannah! (Sp?) seriously good donut, like a twist with mild peanut butter & cocoa instead of cinnamon. Grab a box and head over to the gazebo I'm waterfront park, very nice morning! Their Danish donut, maple bar (which also happens to come in doughboy size), pecan roll and custard filled are also delicious. And no, I didn't eat those all in one go, Sluys is an institution and we come here with every trip to the PNW. Oh and then there's the Viking donut, well clearly everything's not bigger in Texas.

Helpful?
Thank Seattleslew4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sluys Poulsbo Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Sluys Poulsbo Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing