We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Quinault Lodge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Quinault Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Quinault Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manistique, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lake Quinault Lodge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

The rooms here were nice and a good size. The price wasn't too high as long as you stayed in the Main Lodge. The property is older, but very quaint and in a beautiful spot on the lake. I would recommend staying here, but find a different place to eat other than their restaurant. Too pricey.

Room Tip: Stay in the Main Lodge if your looking for a more reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank upgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    550
    165
    104
    54
See reviews for
425
919
49
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Overall this was a nice stay...location was beautiful but rooms were just OK. They were clean and newly redecorated but a little noisy. There was a wedding party on our floor and we could hear them walking up and down the halls at night. We booked a non-view room but were given a view room. We assumed it was because the other rooms were taken since nothing was said at check in. She just gave us the keys and room number. Well, upon check out they said the price was an additional $45 per night for the view. My husband complained and the manager removed the charge but it was a bit of a hassle. Otherwise everything was fine..but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are a little noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtimeminuteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is the original lodge visited by president FD Roosevelt before he signed bill to establish Olympic National Park. The Lodge has the old charm, updated furniture and few new buildings to accommodate visitors. The property grounds are very pretty. Most guest on our extended stay where mature people. It appears most people stayed just day or two. The accommodation seams to be very overpriced, but one has to remember it has been relatively isolated area and what you pay is for the view , property position and historical significance. We stayed in room with TV, large, light room, practical for its purpose. Staff was reasonably nice, food was good, maybe dinner was bit expensive. We did all the short hikes around the lake and have seen some of the large trees in there. The hike by lake was easy and enjoyable and also the Kestner trail was very pretty. If you decide to see the Quinault big cedar tree, it is kind of steep climb up to see it, yet worth it , it is an impressive tree.

Room Tip: I thought the new buildings had more privacy, . The 3rd floor was the best, no noise from above and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our recent weekend at the Lodge exceeded our expectations. The setting is awesome. The lounge with comfortable seating and dramatic fireplalce, is a great place to relax with a cocktail, read, or take advantage of the complimentary Wifi service (also available in rooms). Outdoor seating options range from unbrella-covered tables on the deck to wooden lounge chairs near the lakefront. A charming gazebo accents the lawn and was the site of a wedding during our visit.

The rainforest area is naturally spectacular and the location affords numerous convenient hiking trails. We enjoy learning about the areas we visit, so we chose both the late afternoon lake tour with guide Charlie in a pontoon boat, and the longer morning rainforest tour by van with Sandra, a non-stop, energetic, encyclopedia of information ranging from local history and legend to an advanced level of detail on the flora and fauna of the area. Both guides were outstanding and entertaining and we highly recommend the tours.

The restaurant was predictably on the pricy side but reasonable if one realizes the cost of providing quality food and services at a remote location. Almost all staff was well-trained and delightful. We enjoyed the food. The superb views from the restaurant enhanced the dining experience.

The only negative feature of the Lodge is the lack of noise insulation in the rooms. Our Lakeside room was spacious and well-appointed, with lovely, small outdoor veranda with lake view, but we could hear all sounds from neighboring rooms. This became rudely apparent when we were awakened at 6 am by the sound of young children screaming and running around in their room.

I should confess that we enjoyed the weekend at Groupon rates and doubt we'd have paid for two nights at retail level, so we enjoyed exceptional value and appreciate the Lodge's participation in the Groupon program. If we have the opportunity to return, I'd opt to go off-season and watch for rate specials. For travelers who can afford to stay, appreciate the environment and historical significance, we recommend the Lodge.

p.s. We were so busy enjoying perfect weather in the great outdoors that we never had time to use the large, heated indoor pool, sauna or game room. If there's a next time, we'll check out boat rentals for private, relaxing lake exploration and photography.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Highly recommend Lake Quinault Lodge. The lobby with its fireplace and comfortable sofas is a great place to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. Food in restaurant is great as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thucydides1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

First time and never ever!
We decided for Quinault Lodge as a well known ressort recommended as a place of peace and silence and good for relaxing and hiking.
Our expectation was not to have a first class hotel but what we got during our stay was more than poor. We reserved five nights in the main lodge with Lake view.
The room was scary with no closet and a basin in the room. The walls are thin like paper and you hear everything from left, right and above. No privacy is guranteed. In the third day we had no hot water. No phone in room to call to the front desk.
The room smells like an old nurse log in the woods. Room was not clean....even found two pills under the bed.They have been there when we left.

We asked for another room but the Lodge was fully booked.
When leaving we gave feedback to the front desk and the manager. Quote "yes, this are our problem rooms. Hopefully you give as another chance during your next visit".

It was disappointing and the staff was apologetic but did nothing to remedy the poor experience.

Overall not what we expect when paying 190+ per night.
The view from the backyard and the surrounding is fantastic but this is on the score of mother nature! The food could use lots of improvements as well or at least lower the prices. Instead this poor restaurant we highly recommend the Salmon House down the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This place is the real deal. Constructed as the National Parks were taking shape, visited by FDR (an original menu from his meal with the Lodge restaurant is framed on the wall), built on a beautiful lake, rain forest trailheads across the street from the lodge, etc., make this a great place to get away and relax. It is historic, and therefore does not have TV and cable, or large rooms (in the main lodge, there are large rooms in the annex), or huge picture windows. It does have a very cool Great Room, where readers and relaxers spend the day sitting and looking out at the lake, warmed by a fire built daily in the massive fireplace. There is WiFi, but it doesn't make it to each room, so I usually had to go to the Great Room to get it. The restaurant is no-frills, but good food, incomparable view of the Lake, and they do have good microbrews on tap. We go here all the time. I think they have some deals for return guests, that we began to recieve once we'd visited the first time.

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge, and be sure to ask for a lake view room, even if it costs a bit more. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
0.9 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
23.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Property: Lake Quinault Lodge
Address: 345 South Shore Road, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault
Lake Quinault Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing