We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic lodge on the lake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Quinault Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Scenic lodge on the lake!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a renovated lakeside room! 3rd floor ( top). Room was beautifully done, did have a tv unlike most National Park lodges, no phone. There is free wifi and cell service was good ( Verizon). One of the more expensive options of rooms. The overall lodge and grounds are beautiful, lots of birds with feeders outside of the dining room. We enjoyed an evening fire lakeside on the beach, and also enjoyed wine & cheese from our own balcony overlooking the lake. We had very good meals and service from the dining room contrary to some of the other reviews. Keep in mind, this is in a more laid back area of the country ( as opposed to some major cities and the north east!) so everything should not be expected in the snap of a finger ;-)
We did do some hiking on the rainforest trail directly from the lodge, highly recommend! And also did the rainforest tour through the lodge, which I highly suggest as well! We very much enjoyed the tour, educational, interesting and a good way to see this undeveloped area of Olympic National Park!

Room Tip: If you want quiet and comfort, stay on upper floor in renovated lakeside room. There are luggage car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooshele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    560
    167
    104
    54
See reviews for
430
932
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have stayed here several times, usually in the winter when the rates are lower or there is a special deal. The lodge is a lovely old building and we prefer the main lodge rooms for their historic character even though they are smaller, noisier, and have fewer amenities than the newer wings. We usually end up turning off the heat in the bedroom and are still warm. We don't spend much time in the room so we don't need more than the basics. In the winter, it is generally quieter and we also prefer the forest experience in the winter. Friends who stayed in one of the newly renovated Lakeside rooms, which had a king bed, mini-fridge, tv, and fireplace, loved it. They were on the second floor and so only had a short, covered walk into the main lodge, which is convenient in the rain.

We have always found the staff to be friendly, cheerful and helpful, especially the dining room staff. The food is expensive, not atypical in a National Park Lodge, but can be quite good and portions are generous. The seasonal fruit offered with breakfast was rock hard strawberries and melon, but the rest of the breakfast was very good and the waitress offered to replace the fruit with the potato option. During our most recent stay we tried most of the mains on the dinner menu and they were very good. There is also at least one other restaurant near the lodge, which I've never tried. In the summer, the mercantile cafe (across the street) is also a less expensive breakfast or lunch option.

They have some books, games, and puzzles if it's too cold or wet for a walk in the forest. There is nothing quiet like sitting in front of that massive fireplace on a rainy winter day or evening, chatting with other guests. It's wonderful to go out for a long walk on one of the many hikes near the lodge and come back to a drink by that big fire.

Room Tip: For historic ambiance, choose the main lodge. Rooms on the second floor are quieter and 201 is prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank old_lady_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We went with our extended family right before Christmas and decided it was the perfect time to go. We didn't have to deal with the crowds that we've heard/read about that are there in the summer. With the paper thin walls, I'm not sure how people can get sleep in the summer with so many people. It's not that guests were noisy, but as mentioned in other reviews, the building is so old that it certain isn't soundproof. Just people quietly walking down the halls could be heard by the squeaking floorboards. I was glad I brought earplugs. The beds were very comfortable, but for some reason our room was extremely hot. We had even turned down the heat completely, but it still came through the old pipes. Our second night there we had to sleep with the windows open (and it snowed the day before we arrived).

Our kids loved the heated indoor swimming pool and game room. We also went on the 4-hr tour that the lodge provides (I believe it was $30/person). It was well worth it and we saw a ton of elk and about a dozen or so bald eagles on the tour. There was plenty to do with hiking, walking, swimming, and just relaxing in the lodge. We enjoyed reading by the fireplace and playing board games that are available.

We didn't eat at the lodge, but drove to the Salmon House one night and drove over to Amanda Park the next time for Pizza. The lodge and the grounds were beautiful. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back next winter.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor (but not above the restaurant) for noise minimization.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

To start with the positives, the location is beautiful, located right on one of the top trails in the park, and the lodge building is charming and with history.

But ... unfortunately the place is ruined by poor management and a lack on investment. Our room felt like a sad run-down motel, with cheap and uninspired furnishings that have not been upgraded probably since the 70's or 80's. Everything in the rooms was simply appalling. I am all for rustic simplicity, but this was not the case here.

Second, the food was terrible, and the waiters didn't seem to lack even the most basic training. The breakfast was at least half acceptable, at least on the first day, but both my wife and I found lunch and dinner to be a nauseating pile of fried and greasy food that spend a good amount of time in a freezer. I would have been perfectly happy with some plain, decent food, but that was not an option. This was made worse by the fact that there are no good restaurant or grocery options nearby.

My advice is to stay at the Lake Crescent Lodge instead. It's under the same management company, but the rooms, food, and service are all of much better quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpatifara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblemount, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This lodge is as close to perfect as an old-time national park lodge gets. It has been lovingly taken care of - many of the original parts of the building are still in place, but in great condition. The room was small and, as others have mentioned, the steam heater is loud but this is the essence of an old lodge. The grounds are immaculate. The restaurant is superb. The staff could not be friendlier. Short, easy hiking trails right across the street. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marblemount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimanalo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just spent three lovely, sunny, cold days at the Lodge. Having stopped by numerous times in the past summers, we could never afford to stay. But with affordable senior rates at this time of year, we were able to enjoy this gorgeous place. Everything was perfect and we even got an upgrade. We love the fact that the Lodge has managed to retain its charm throughout the years.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It's all about your expectations, isn't it? First, the negatives. The walls are thin. If the rooms next to you are booked, you will hear your neighbors. The steam radiator will clang during the night (during the winter) if you stay in the main lodge. The lodge rooms are spartan, the sink basin is the same room as the bed. I can see how some would experience the boat house rooms as 'funky'. None of the rooms are luxurious. The food is mediocre and high priced.

Now the positives: This is a historic, public works lodge built in the 20's set at the edge of the Olympic Forest- a World Heritage Site. Visiting the rain forest is an experience like no other. The lodge is beautiful, situated on a postcard beautiful lake, surrounded by craggy peaks. Visitors are greeted by giant stone fireplace with a crackling fire, leather couches and chairs, chess tables. There are amazing, historic photographs throughout the lodge, many of Quinault tribal members. Our kids (7 and 11) head straight for the pool which is kept warm enough that I don't mind joining (after a peaceful stint in the cedar sauna). After a (forced for my kids) hike, we enjoy playing pool and ping pong in the game room as a family before dinner. My husband and I greatly enjoy cocktails by the fire while kids play board games. Overall, we spend little time in our room so perhaps that is why the spartan aspect of the actual rooms bother me less. The vibe is relaxed, absolutely down to earth. We've met cool families and older visitors back from long hikes or mushroom forays. Occasionally, you can even luck out and have a decent dinner. My salmon was actually quite good- tender, very fresh and flavorful.

Also balancing our experience is cost. I can imagine perhaps being disappointed if I paid over $200 per night to stay. However, we have stayed at the lodge four times and only once did I pay full price. Room rate is based on occupancy so if you are flexible on dates, you can almost always (non peak demand times) score a deal. They also have a great rate for repeat visitors. Thus, I find the lodge a great value and about as far the other end of the spectrum from a Mariott Courtyard you can imagine.

Final note- we have never stayed in the summer, only fall and winter. I'm not sure how different the experience would be during the months. Overall, I highly recommend the lodge.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms are the nicest.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinault
23.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Rain Forest Resort Village
23.8 mi away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#3 of 3 in Moclips
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Quinault Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Quinault Lodge

Property: Lake Quinault Lodge
Address: 345 S Shore Rd, P.O. Box 7, Quinault, WA 98575-9700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Quinault
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quinault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Quinault Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are some places so blissfully disconnected from the modern world that they seem to stand suspended in time. Lake Quinault Lodge is one such place - a grand and rustic lodge built in 1926 that welcomes guests with warmth, hospitality and a sincere feeling of home-away-from-home comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Quinault Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Quinault Hotel Quinault
Lake Lodge Quinault
Lake Quinault Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing